Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great little scale reference and cheap too!, June 11 2003
By 
SilverFlash (Covington, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ultimate Scale Book (Paperback)
This is a great scale book for guitarist and one that I refer to often. I still haven't found the ONE perfect scale book (hence only four stars), but this one comes close. It is one of three scale books that I use, and because of its compact size, it is usually the one that I have handy when I need it. Troy does a great job of explaining the scales and giving some exercises for practice. What I like best about this book is that it shows the scales in all positions across 22 frets with the root notes highlighted. Also, many scale books only show fretboard diagrams of the scales in one key, usually C or E and then explain how to move them around. This book includes diagrams of several keys (including G and A, which are favorites of mine). The only other thing I wish about this book is that it was spiral bound so it would lay flat when open, but I would rather have this book than any of the other gig bag sized ones that are spiral bound. All in all a great little scale reference and cheap too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It will make you the scale professional (you should KNOW what scales are for before you get ANY scale book), Aug. 17 2014
By 
Thess - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Scale Book (Paperback)
Owned now for awhile and im still on the first scale.
It teaches ALL the scales, in every form on each spot on the neck;
then it gives you where that scale would be good, how to learn and use it, where they have the common notes and roots. etc

EG:

Starts on Minor pentatonic, with the common tone E.
explains its use in blues, rock, pop, funk
teaches the 5 boxes, then shows the entire neck and how the 5 link, then shows it in TAB and STAFF form
to do drills then,
teaches then the anchor points.
Then goes on to teach the diagonal shapes of that same scale, then a few other Min Pent scales for reference, G, A and C
then gives sequence practice to finish you off....

then goes on to
Blue scale, Major pentatonic, minor blues, major blues, the natural scale,
natural minor, basic major, creating modes,

then

Dorian, Phrygian, lydian, mixolydian, locrian

then

Harmonic minor Phygian dominant
jazz melodic minor
modes of jazz minor

Chromatic (lol) whole tone scale reading

it even covers ethnic and exotic scales.

This book can last you a lifetime, nothing missing, as far as i can tell.

and the book shape as shown is exacting, and will fit in your guitar case in the skinny pocket on the heck.

in my opinion ... GG, no more books on the topic needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the ultimate scale book, Jan. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Scale Book (Paperback)
this has helped me but not inthe way I expected the scales are not as easy as I thought but still helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small Cheap and full of information, Aug. 20 2003
By 
Matthew Faulkerson "Guitarist and PC Geek" (Cuyahoga Falls, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Scale Book (Paperback)
By far it contains a wide diverse set of scales, fingerings, and even a few exotic scales at the end. It is small enough to fit in any gig bag or guitar case, making it very conveninet. Unlike other scale/method books that present one scale and make a few variaitions on it, this one uses entirely different scales in different keys.....another great book by Troy Stetina
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference, May 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Scale Book (Paperback)
Good reference tool for remembering scale positions. Can easily see the difference from major to minor from minor harmonic to minor scales and so on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it, Dec 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Scale Book (Paperback)
This is a great little book to have on hand!!! Would definitely recommend this to a friend as it is so hand as a reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Scale Book a Good Step Up, Feb. 12 2009
By 
Jersey Joe "JJ" (Montreal, QC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ultimate Scale Book (Paperback)
Most people who pick up a guitar start with the basic chords, learn to strum a few songs and move on from there. This is the book to have when one wants to make the move from the basic chords to notes and some leads. It uses the TAB style notation to make doing and practicing the scales easier. It is organized in a logical consistent pattern, each chapter presents a new set of scales first running along the entire neck, then in different keys, and then with some useful finger drills.

One can spend $15-$25 on weekly guitar lessons for two years or the less than $10 in total for this book and have one's weekly guitar lessons for those two years and still have the book for review and practice forever.

This is a very well done guitar learning aid. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Scale Book (Paperback)
competitive pricing, fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little refference book!, May 18 2011
This review is from: The Ultimate Scale Book (Paperback)
This is a great little refference book that is small enough to fit in any guitar case so you'll never be lost when it comes to scales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Scale Book
The Ultimate Scale Book by Troy Stetina (Paperback - Aug. 1 1999)
CDN$ 6.43 CDN$ 6.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews