Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Last Action Hero [2010] [Blu-ray] [UK Release]
Last Action Hero [2010] [Blu-ray] [UK Release] Action-adventure superstar Arnold Schwarzenegger bursts through the screen as a larger-than-life movie hero in this nonstop adventure from acclaimed director John McTiernan [Predator and Die Hard].

Cast: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Austin O'Brien, Charles Dance, Robert Prosky, Tom Noonan, Frank McRae, Anthony Quinn,...
Published 1 month ago by Andrew C. Miller

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "I'm the famous comedian Arnold Braunschweiger."
After MUCH deliberation, this was deemed an appropriate DVD to watch - after turning down all my other suggestions. And it turned out to be quite good!
This was filmed before Austin O'Brien became truly cringeworthy, with a god-awful haircut in My Girl 2. He's exactly the same here, and there were times I wanted to take a pair of scissors to his hair! (I've just seen...
Published on June 29 2004 by Meesha


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Last Action Hero [2010] [Blu-ray] [UK Release], July 28 2014
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Last Action Hero [2010] [Blu-ray] [UK Release] Action-adventure superstar Arnold Schwarzenegger bursts through the screen as a larger-than-life movie hero in this nonstop adventure from acclaimed director John McTiernan [Predator and Die Hard].

Cast: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Austin O'Brien, Charles Dance, Robert Prosky, Tom Noonan, Frank McRae, Anthony Quinn, Bridgette Wilson, F. Murray Abraham, Mercedes Ruehl, Art Carney, Charles Kalani Jr., Ryan Todd, Franco Columbu (cameo), Tina Turner (cameo), Sir Ian McKellen (cameo) and Danny DeVito (cameo)

Director: John McTiernan

Producers: John McTiernan and Arnold Schwarzenegger

Screenplay: David Arnott, Shane Black and William Goldman (uncredited)

Composer: Michael Kamen

Cinematography: Dean Semler

Resolution; 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1

Audio: English: 5. 1 DTS-HD Master Audio, French: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, Portuguese: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio and Spanish: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English, English SDH, French, Spanish and Portuguese

Running Time: 2.40:1

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment

Andrew's Blu-ray Review - Fun fact: In the summer of 1993, 'Last Action Hero' opened one week after 'Jurassic Park.' Studio bosses at Columbia Pictures were convinced that Arnold Schwarzenegger would clobber the dinosaurs, and played up this battle of the box office behemoths in their promotion for the movie. They were gravely mistaken. Arnold got stomped like Bambi under Godzilla's foot. I can recall going to a big multiplex with Steven Spielberg's film on five screens. Even in its second week, lines to see it went through the theatre lobby and out the door. In comparison, 'Last Action Hero' opened there on just a single screen with a half-empty auditorium. After a string of mega-hits including 'Total Recall' and 'Terminator 2', the actor had his first outright flop. As a potential contender for the big summer blockbuster of the year, 'Last Action Hero' was simply not to be.

In hindsight, there was simply no way that any picture in its position could have ever succeeded. Not even the biggest movie star in the world (which Schwarzenegger was at the time) could face off against the defining cultural moment for a generation of moviegoers and survive unscathed. However, bad timing was certainly not the film's only problem. Even if not for its box office competition, the movie's poor screenplay, inconsistent tone, and the irritating performance from one of its lead stars would have likely done it in anyway.

Somewhere during its development, 'Last Action Hero' started off as a [supposedly] clever idea, even metaphysical, high-concept pitch. The story works as a sort of reverse spin on Woody Allen's 'The Purple Rose of Cairo.' Life in the big city slums of New York hasn't been easy for young Danny Madigan [Austin O'Brien]. In between home invasions and muggings, the boy's only form of entertainment is to watch movies at the run-down old theatre where he's befriended the doddering projectionist. It's his own personal `Cinema Paradiso.' Like most 12 year-olds, he has an enthusiasm for movies but hasn't yet developed taste in them. His favourites are the mindless shoot-'em-ups starring Arnold Schwarzenegger (yes, the actor name-checks himself) as loose cannon cop Jack Slater. After one particularly bad day, his projectionist friend offers Danny a special advance screening of 'Jack Slater IV', all by himself at midnight. The boy jumps at the chance. When he arrives, he's also given a magic ticket said to be passed down from Harry Houdini. Danny is in hog heaven as he settles down to watch Slater take revenge on the Mafioso who killed his second-cousin.

Well, it turns out that the magic ticket really is magical. At a key moment, Danny is sucked into the theatre screen and passes right through into the world of the movie itself. Against his disbelief, he's living in his favourite movie, paired up as Jack Slater's newest partner. His attempts to explain the predicament to anyone and everyone in earshot are met with indifference. Now, Danny must find a way to get back to the real world. In the process, he'll have to help Slater foil the Mob's latest scheme to take over Los Angeles.

It's [supposedly] a neat idea, and 'Last Action Hero' has a handful of funny scenes to support it. Early on, bored at school, Danny fantasizes about Arnold Schwarzenegger taking over for Laurence Olivier in 'Hamlet' and blowing the hell out of Denmark. In Slater's crazy celluloid universe, the LAPD is populated by all sorts of wacko cops in outlandish uniforms. Blink-and-you'll-miss-'em celebrity cameos pop up all over (Sharon Stone as Catherine Trammel, Robert Patrick as the T-1000, Danny DeVito as the voice of an animated cat detective). The film takes pot-shots at action movie clichés like the crusty police captain, the hero's bad puns, the overly-talky killer, the cop killed with only two days to retirement, a chase through the oft-used L.A. River, and many ridiculous stunts and explosions. Schwarzenegger is plenty game to send-up his own persona and career. And the meta-filmic twists go into overdrive when the main villain (Charles Dance] who is delightfully creepy, escapes into the real world with a plot to disrupt the 'Jack Slater IV' premiere and kill the true Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Unfortunately, these things take up maybe 15-20 minutes of screen time in a 131-minute movie. Whatever good ideas the original script may have held were eventually watered down through countless rewrites, studio interference, test screening feedback, and last-minute reshoots. Danny is an incredibly whiny and annoying lead character that engenders no audience sympathy at all. (I can't blame poor Austin O'Brien too much; I'm sure the kid did exactly what everyone asked of him.) The hiring of John McTiernan ('Predator' and 'Die Hard') also turned out to be a much bigger mistake than anyone realized. The director may be deft with the action stuff, but has no sense of comedy whatsoever. Far too many of the gags in the film are thudding unfunny. For long stretches of the film, everyone seems to forget that they're making a spoof of dumb action movies, and instead just proceeds to make a dumb action film.

'Last Action Hero' is overlong, and not nearly as funny, smart, or entertaining as it thinks it is. Sadly, everyone realized it. At $85 million, the film was quite expensive for its day (it cost more than 'Jurassic Park' did), and yet grossed a paltry $50 million domestically. It did better overseas, and I'm sure turned a profit eventually. But the vanity project is still remembered as a black mark in its star's career. On the other hand, 'Last Action Hero' is not quite the worthless disaster that it was made out to be at the time either. If you can go into it with low expectations, the picture is just moderately clever enough to be watchable. Just barely, though and set those expectations really low.

Blu-ray Video Quality - Considering its history on the very inferior DVD, 'Last Action Hero' looks surprisingly respectable on Blu-ray. The 1080p transfer is presented in the movie's correct 2.40:1 theatrical aspect ratio. The image is at least reasonably sharp enough that the small engraving on Arnold's belt buckle is legible. Black levels are solid and the contrast range appears to be properly rendered without artificial boosting. Colours are well saturated and sometimes striking.

In another pleasant surprise, I didn't spot any edge enhancement artefacts. My initial expectation was that Sony would merely recycle their DVD master from 2001, and the studio's DVDs of the era were almost all plagued with edge ringing problems. Countering that, however, is some moderate but noticeable Digital Noise Reduction filtering that does give the transfer a dated appearance. This causes occasional smearing during motion, and frozen grain patterns.

Grain representation in general is a problem with the disc. The movie's photography is fairly grainy in spots, especially during special effects shots. The high-definition transfer doesn't handle the grain well. It looks very noisy and even blocky at times, which suggests either poor digitization during the telecine transfer or poor compression during the disc encoding.

Blu-ray Audio Quality - In similar respects, the Blu-ray's 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack is decent all around, but not quite exceptional. 'Last Action Hero' had the distinction of being the first movie released theatrically in the SDDS 7.1 audio format, Sony's competition for Dolby Digital and DTS. The latter debuted a week earlier with 'Jurassic Park' and stole most of Sony's thunder. Many of the theatres equipped with SDDS experienced technical problems; for several years, and the format was referred to as a complete failure. In order to show off their 7.1 channels, the film's mixers loaded up the soundtrack with lots of zinging directional and surround activity. Bullets whiz all through the soundstage repeatedly. Even as mixed down to 5.1 channels here, the track is still very aggressive. It also matrixes well into 7.1 configuration with Dolby ProLogic IIx processing.

Overall fidelity is pretty good. The rockin' score and songs on the soundtrack are satisfyingly broad across the front channels. Sound effects such as knives are quite sharp and piercing. Gun fire has a nice kick. Dynamic range is a little on the shallow side. The movie has plenty of explosions, but few of them dig particularly deep. In baseball terms, this would be a solid double.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Just like earlier DVD editions of this film, the Blu-ray has no bonus features. Unless you count a bunch of trailers that are not very relevant, a complete waste of a Blu-ray disc.

Finally, film for film and despite a couple of misfires in an otherwise exemplary resumé, there was at one point nobody better in the Action movie business than John McTiernan, and after a string of cranking out three of the most successful Action films of all time, the Director proved himself abundantly capable of delivering what was -- and still arguably is -- the quintessential Action movie spoof in Last Action Hero. Starring history's biggest Action hero and delivering a fun and magical plot that perfectly intermixes general parody of the Action movie business, Last Action Hero makes for an infinitely re-watchable picture for Action and Arnold fans alike. Sony's Blu-ray release, however, is rather tepid, featuring decent 1080p picture quality, a booming lossless soundtrack, and next to no extras. Recommended for diehard fans of the film, but for more casual viewers should wait for, hopefully a special edition at some point in the future will be released, I hope so. Despite it being slightly a disappointing film, that should have been better, I am still glad I have got this in my Blu-ray Collection, as I am really keen to build up an extensive Arnold Schwarzenegger Blu-ray Collection.

Andrew C. Miller - Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan.
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great under-appreciated movie, but gets a little too absurd., July 19 2004
By 
P. Krug (portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Action Hero (Bilingual) (DVD)
You've probably read this film's plot description already, but let me sumerize it briefly just to comment on it: Austin O'Brian is a huge Swartzenagger fan. Arnie's latest films (acording to this film,) are the Jack Slater movies, which (presumably) came out right after Terminator 2. Danny idolizes the character Jack Slater, a fictional L.A. cop, in the same way that so many of us idolized Han Solo. Then one day Danny's personal friend Mick, an elderly theater projectionist, gives him a magic ticket that was given to him by Houdini, just before Danny gets to watch the latest Slater film all by himself, before anyone eles does. (Jack Slater 4). Danny watches as the film introduces the two bad guys, who've kidnapped Slaters cousin Frank. The scene shifts to two nameless cops (who of course are sure-fire dead meat) who come to Frank's house after getting a false call about a drug deal. Slater arrives and wonders why they're here, he goes in and finds Frank tied to a chair, Frank gives Slater one last message before dying, Slater sees a note that turns out to be a count down and gets out just before the house blows up, the two red shirt cops...well, need I even say? A car full of dynomite-weilding bad guys drive up, Slater gets in his car and the chase is on! Then something strange happens. A stick of dynomite comes out of the screen and lands in the theater! It blows up, and Danny finds himself in Slater's car, now a character in the film!
I couldn't understand why so many critics and audiences hated this. Naturally I was upset when it bombed in the theatre. It was the most origonal film to come along in quite some time. I mean, really, who hasn't fantasized about being able to actually go into the world of their favorite movie or T.V. show and interact with the characters? Thankfully I see most people on Amazon have given this between four and five stars, so I'm not alone. I loved the action, the humor, (which is basically making fun of typical action films and just how absurd they are, even the ones that are meant to be taken seriously) and the one-liners.
O.K., here's one thing I _didn't_ like: the animated cat. I mean, what the @#&%?! The film works when it spoofs typical action films and ridiculous they are, but not when it goes all the way into the realm of farce and becomes something like Airplane! or Who Framed Roger Rabbit? Everything eles was fine, but the cartoon cat...well, when's the last time you saw a conventional action film with living cartoon characters? Really, what were they thinking?
Also, there was the bit where (POSSIBLE SPOILER WARNING) we learn about half way through the film that Slater's son Andy was killed. This presumably happened at the end of Jack Slater 3. So Jack Slater 3, it would seem, ends with Slater shooting the Ripper (the bad guy from the last moive), and then the Ripper pulls Andy over with him. Would a typical Hollywood light-hearted action escapest film really have such a dark ending? Well, then again, I guess Lethal Weapon 2 had a simular ending.
Anyway, don't listen to anyone who's told you not to see this. This is not another dumb action movie, this is a film pokeing fun at dumb action films (including some of the ones Swartzenagger's made). Check it out for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "I'm the famous comedian Arnold Braunschweiger.", June 29 2004
This review is from: Last Action Hero (Bilingual) (DVD)
After MUCH deliberation, this was deemed an appropriate DVD to watch - after turning down all my other suggestions. And it turned out to be quite good!
This was filmed before Austin O'Brien became truly cringeworthy, with a god-awful haircut in My Girl 2. He's exactly the same here, and there were times I wanted to take a pair of scissors to his hair! (I've just seen a more recent photo, and he looks totally different!)
Last Action Hero has an almost Willy Wonka quality to it. There was a golden ticket that Charlie Bucket had to find and Danny Mannigan also had to find one - or actually got handed it. I was so waiting for Oompa Loompa's to come out! Now that would have been cool.
The whole story climaxes in Arnie being brought out of the movie, and getting to see the 'real' world, which is a very interesting concept, as it could be seen as we're not the ones in control. (I totally believe that) So his whole life was one big lie, and controlled by someone else - not the big man upstairs, but a film director. Arnie basically takes the p*ss out of his whole on screen persona in this, including lots of his trademark sayings, including: "I'll be back!", "Trust me" and "Do it". There's also a very funny scene where Jack Slater meets Arnold Schwarzeneggar - make sense of that!
Also look out for a whole host of cameos in this movie - ones which are easy, to spot, some which aren't! Some of these include: Chevy Chase, MC Hammer, Sharon Stone, Little Richard, Maria Shriver, Robert Patrick, and Jean-Claude Van Damme!
There are some great lines in this. Some of these are:
Danny Madigan: You think you are funny, don't you?
Jack Slater: I know I am. I'm the famous comedian Arnold Braunschweiger.
Danny Madigan: Schwarzenegger!
Jack Slater: Gesundheit.
Jack Slater: Kid! Who does the doctor treat?
Danny Madigan: Patients?
Jack Slater: Look at the elbow of my jacket. What is it doing?
Danny Madigan: Wearing thin?
Jack Slater: Bingo!
Benedict: Gentlemen. Since you are about to die anyway, I may as well tell you the entire plot. Think of villains Jack. You want Dracula? Dra-cool-la? Hang on
[takes out the ticket]
Benedict: , I'll fetch him. Dracula? Huh. I can get King Kong! We'll have a nightmare with Freddy Krueger, have a surprize party for Adolf Hitler, Hannibal Lecter can do the catering, and then we'll have christening for Rosemary's Baby! All I have to do is snap my fingers and they'll be here. They're lining up to get here, and do you know why Jack? Should I tell you why? Hmm? Because here, in this world, the bad guys can win!
So if you're not keen on Austin O'Brien, see how many celebrities you can spot, and how much Arnie acts up in this movie! It's so funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Movie of 1993, March 2 2004
By 
This review is from: Last Action Hero (Bilingual) (DVD)
Last Action Hero is a movie about a pre-teen who is given a magic ticket from an old man that own's a theatre. Basicly, since the viewer of the film does not see the kid's father, the old man is a father figure for the kid. While the kid watches the movie, of his favorite action hereo, Jack Slater, the ticket that he was given transports him literaly into the movie. The kid then finds himself in the car of Jack Slater (Swarzeneager), while they are being persuited of the bad guys. Through the Film, the kid and Slater go through all sorts of amazing stunts and explosions. However, before the kid gets back to the real world, the villian named Bennedict has the ticket and gets there first. There, Slater finds out that bullets kill and that people can get hurt. During this time in the movie, Slater and the kid try despertly to find Bennedict. Aside from that, the film is an excelent score in Swarzeneager's films. Last Action Hero is a film pacted with explosions and amazing stunts. Here is a list of highlights in the movie:
*in the LAPD: MOVIE STYLE scene, Robert Patrick (Terminater 2, Judement Day, Rogue Force) is scene walking out of the LAPD police Station when Slater and the kid go into the station
*in the FIRST ACTION HERO scene, Arnold is Hamlet, with some excelent results
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Schwarzenegger romp, Dec 5 2003
By 
N. Durham "Big Evil" (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Action Hero (Bilingual) (DVD)
After his monumental success with Terminator 2, Arnold Schwarzenegger re-united with his Predator director John McTiernan for this action/fantasy farce. The storyline concerns a young boy (Austin O'Brien) who comes across a magic movie ticket which allows Jack Slater (Schwarzenegger), a movie character who is played by Arnie, to leave his film world and come to the real world. Get all that? Good. Schwarzenegger (who also served as executive producer) is great as he pokes fun at his action roles, his career, and himself. The cast is sharp (including Charles Dance, Mercedes Ruehl, Tom Noonan, Bridgette Wilson, and Ian McKellan) with plenty of cameos (including Jean Claude Van Damme, Sharon Stone, Tina Turner, Robert Patrick, and Arnie's wife Maria Shriver) and the action is nicely directed, but Last Action Hero comes close to wearing out it's welcome thanks to it's overly long running time and anti-climatic ending. Last Action Hero wasn't too well received by critics upon it's release, but it still stands as a fun Arnie romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Watch and NOT be disappointed!!!, Nov. 11 2003
By 
M. Garland "mgarland16" (AL, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Action Hero (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is one of those movies that a lot of people that haven't seen it say, "That movie wasn't really that good, was it?" but those that have seen it, say, "Why wasn't this movie more popular?" Maybe it was bad timing, or as some others suggested, just not correctly billed to the public.
Last Action Hero is hard to describe. It's funny, it's witty, with lots of those one-liners that Arnold became so popular with, and I loved the way he constantly poked fun at his fictional character as well as his "real" self. Some of my favorite dialogue in the movie is when the kid is trying to convince "character Arnold (aka: Jack Slater)" that he's actually just a character in a movie. The kid starts asking about phone numbers and how can they possibly all start with 555- in a city with several million phone numbers, when Jack Slater exasperatedly says, "That's why we have Area Codes..." Priceless. The movie is full of fun stuff like that, and I highly recommend this movie to anyone who is even remotely a Schwarzenegger fan, or who just like campy, yet intelligent, movies. The parody within a parody, and movie within a movie actually worked well in this one.
I thought the movie had a lot of great character performances, and clever scripting, and I think this movie got a bum rap. It's really a great movie, I'm glad I bought the DVD. The transfer is a little sloppy in places on the one I bought, but since it's a "Special Anniversary Edition", I have a feeling that had something to do with it. There's only a fullscreen version on my DVD, no widescreen, and the camera pans are really noticeable in a few places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's A Floor Wax AND A Dessert Topping!, June 30 2003
This review is from: Last Action Hero (Bilingual) (DVD)
LAH is a lot of fun if you're willing to keep two mindsets at hand and switch between them on demand -- because LAH suffers from having multiple screenwriters with wildly divergent attitudes toward the concept: fluffy parody (seen mainly in Slater's world) and fairly dark satire (in "ours"). It's two halves of two good films edited together, and they don't blend _at all_. In one half, the comedy sidekick bounces across housetops on his bicycle with no harm done and all the bullets miss our heroes; in the other, the hero, angst-ridden since the death (debatably, murder) of his son, ends up in a traffic-stuck ambulance dying graphically in blood and agony.
Oil and water would look positively emulsified by comparison.
But it's an _interesting_ film, especially for the type of people who like to argue over issues like creators' moral responsibility toward their characters. ("...I don't really like you. You've brought me nothing but pain." -- J Slater to A Schwarzenegger)
I grant that the animated cat does not belong in the picture at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Super fun action/fantasy..., May 2 2003
By 
L. Varnau "nerff20" (Indy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Action Hero (Bilingual) (DVD)
If there was ever any movie that celebrated Arnold Schwarzenegger movies it's "Last Action Hero." Actually, this film celebrates action movies in general. Directed by action legend John McTiernan (Hunt for Red October, Die Hard), this fantasy film about a kid named Danny who goes inside a Schwarzenegger film is loaded with nonstop action, some good laughs, and tons of cameo appearences, including: Ian McKellan, Robert Patrick, Tina Turner, Chevy Chase, Jim Belushi, Jean-Claude Van Damme, Little Richard, and Danny DeVito as an animated cat! This film brings in loads of fun, and the casting of Charles Dance as the villain is genius. Sure, this film isn't perfect, but if you're an Arnold fan it's plenty fun. Sometimes, the movie even works as a spoof of action, like in the car chase scene where literally every single car explodes. This film really isn't as bad as people make it out to be. It's actually one of my favorite Arnold films. I'd recommend this film to the child-at-heart; to the people who never really grew up. It's fun for the kid in all of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best action hero, Aug. 11 2002
This review is from: Last Action Hero (Bilingual) (DVD)
this movie is a fun adventure of a kid who daydreams about movies because his regular life is boring, so he's always at the theatre watching "jack slater" films.he knows the plot line and guesses as to what happens next all through the film. eventually by magic(or a dream) he goes into the movie becomes a character with jack slater and then gets to go in the 'real' world where 'slater' finds out he's not real!
this is a fun movie with cliche's upon cliche's. puns and more puns like 'i bet you didn't know i was going to say, rubber baby buggy bumpers! ha!
if you like fantasy movies this is it. with the idea you can be in the movies and change the events like in 'hamlet' or 'the seventh seal'
in fact Arnold makes fun of his own movies-witness Stallone as the Terminator, then when jack is in the realworld he says he hates Arnold. talk about making a movie about yourself and then insulting at the same time!
with art carney,anthony quinn,f.murray abraham, and many cameo's and spoofs of other movies , this is fun to watch over and over, and most of it takes place in the movie theatre with the projectionist intertwined in the story. (p.s. i used to operate that type of projection equipment when i worked at a theatre.)
the writers did an excellent script with last action hero.
only thing left out is there aren't any 'extras' on the dvd just the movie in widescreen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars TRULY ONE OF THE WORST FILMS EVER., July 31 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Last Action Hero (VHS Tape)
I saw this film for the first time some weeks ago. I expected a hard- hitting action thriller, with reasonable acting to boot. Instead I got, what I can only describe as the worst film with Arnie (and this includes the "Conan" series!!, yes this film really is that bad).
With a storyline more irrational than a dog on heat, Arnie leads a cast which capitulates under some truly awful script- writing. The very thought that a boy, (who also annoyed me with increasing severity as the film trudged on), could pick up a magic ticket, which transports him into different places of compromising situations, is absurd.
The villains are more wooden than the "Mary Rose" and just when you thought the film could not get less feasible, the ending comes along, and you are left to sit on your seat, flabberghasted that you've really watched the entirity of what is a really very poor movie.
Verdict: If you're a fan of nonsensical storylines and below par (more like ten below par!!), then this is the film for you. To all others who actually want to see a decent film, watch "The Usulal Suspects"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last Action Hero (Bilingual)
Last Action Hero (Bilingual) by John McTiernan (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 29.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews