Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great History Lesson
Phyllis Tickle's new book "The Great Emgergence: How Christianity is Change and Why" is a great history lesson that articulates why there is such a dynamic shift in belief and practice among Christians of all denominations and backgrounds. The book is well written and doesn't overload the reader with superfluous information any one particular subject but gently moves the...
Published on May 21 2009 by Jordan Majeau

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interetsting observations
perhaps the most interesting material in this book is on Tickle's obervations on technology and how it is having an impact on Christianity today.
Published 15 months ago by Ginny Schleihauf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great History Lesson, May 21 2009
By 
Jordan Majeau (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Great Emergence, The: How Christianity Is Changing and Why (Hardcover)
Phyllis Tickle's new book "The Great Emgergence: How Christianity is Change and Why" is a great history lesson that articulates why there is such a dynamic shift in belief and practice among Christians of all denominations and backgrounds. The book is well written and doesn't overload the reader with superfluous information any one particular subject but gently moves the reader on to the next subject. This approach really makes the read enjoyable and proves it's point well in under 170 pages. This book will help people who are wondering "why do I believe this way?" and also help those who want to understand why "Christians that I've known all my life are changing their belief's, why?". Great conversations will ensue...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Study book, Dec 23 2011
This review is from: Great Emergence, The: How Christianity Is Changing and Why (Hardcover)
Fantastic book - great study book. New thinking and a clear understanding to the many questions I have been asking. What is happening to my religion, my church, my God. Explains why we are who we are and why we are asking these questions. Definitely restores enthusiasm for spirit lead faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Religion and Social Change, June 24 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Great Emergence, The: How Christianity Is Changing and Why (Hardcover)
I'm finding Phyllis Tickle's book, "The Great Emergence," difficult to put down and yet one that I want to have last as an experience. A difficult bind, especially given the fact that this is a relatively short and easily read book.

"The Great Emergence" views Christianity as a part of our culture that undergoes cyclical change about every five hundred years. She discusses the precursors of Christianity, earlier times of change, possible precipitants of a current and coming change, and likely outcomes. A fascinating point of view that leads to intellectually provocative conclusions.

I'll certainly recommend it to many people---including you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read!, March 8 2010
By 
H. Friesen "prairie reader" (Regina, Sask. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Emergence, The: How Christianity Is Changing and Why (Hardcover)
This is a very interesting book in terms of its scope & perspective. While there may be criticisms about some of the factors that are changing the face of Christianity, there is no doubt Tickle has identified a number of key ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interetsting observations, June 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
perhaps the most interesting material in this book is on Tickle's obervations on technology and how it is having an impact on Christianity today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Emergence, The: How Christianity Is Changing and Why
Great Emergence, The: How Christianity Is Changing and Why by Phyllis Tickle (Hardcover - Oct. 1 2008)
CDN$ 20.50 CDN$ 14.97
Usually ships in 1 to 3 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews