Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, the origin of every matrix computation
My course was suffering before I bought this book. I found it contains every algorithm, and why we use it,but also how we store the data. A great author,a great book
Published 16 months ago by ZAck

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Still state of the art?
It is now 6 years ago when the last version of this once
superb book was released. Meanwhile, bunches of books
aiming a similiar audience were published. Some of them,
in particular G.W. Stewarts, are nowadays more seasonable.
Notably, the "iterative" sections ask for light
refreshments. The lack of references to appropriate...
Published on March 26 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, the origin of every matrix computation, Nov. 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Matrix Computations (Paperback)
My course was suffering before I bought this book. I found it contains every algorithm, and why we use it,but also how we store the data. A great author,a great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on the subject, Aug. 4 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Matrix Computations (Paperback)
This is the book I turn to first when I have to deal with a problem in numerical linear algebra, it's clearly written and has extensive references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Got Matrices?, Aug. 1 2003
By 
James Arvo (Pasadena, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Matrix Computations (Paperback)
This is one of the definitive texts on computational linear algebra, or more specifically, on matrix computations. The term "matrix computations" is actually the more apt name because the book focuses on computational issues involving matrices,the currency of linear algebra, rather than on linear algebra in the abstract. As an example of this distinction, the authors develop both "saxpy" (scalar "a" times vector "x" plus vector "y") based algorithms and "gaxpy" (generalized saxpy, where "a" is a matrix) based algorithms, which are organized to exploit very efficient low-level matrix computations. This is an important organizing concept that can lead to more efficient matrix algorithms.
For each important algorithm discussed, the authors provide a concise and rigorous mathematical development followed by crystal clear pseudo-code. The pseudo-code has a Pascal-like syntax, but with embedded Matlab abbreviations that make common low-level matrix operations extremely easy to express. The authors also use indentation rather than tedious BEGIN-END notation, another convention that makes the pseudo-code crisp and easy to understand. I have found it quite easy to code up various algorithms from the pseudo-code descriptions given in this book. The authors cover most of the traditional topics such as Gaussian elimination, matrix factorizations (LU, QR, and SVD), eigenvalue problems (symmetric and unsymmetric), iterative methods, Lanczos method, othogonalization and least squares (both constrained and unconstrained), as well as basic linear algebra and error analysis.
I've use this book extensively during the past ten years. It's an invaluable resource for teaching numerical analysis (which invariably includes matrix computations), and for virtually any research that involves computational linear algebra. If you've got matrices, chances are you will appreciate having this book around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars from theory to practice., Aug. 8 2002
By 
Patrick Van Esch (Grenoble, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Matrix Computations (Paperback)
A few years ago this book permitted me to go reliably from
theoretical linear algebra to practical large-scale numerical
computations, using also LAPACK. I think this is its place:
from the university course level to the practical side.
On the other hand, one cannot really say it is as readable
as, say, Numerical Recipes: it has a quite terse style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Still state of the art?, March 26 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Matrix Computations (Paperback)
It is now 6 years ago when the last version of this once
superb book was released. Meanwhile, bunches of books
aiming a similiar audience were published. Some of them,
in particular G.W. Stewarts, are nowadays more seasonable.
Notably, the "iterative" sections ask for light
refreshments. The lack of references to appropriate
software routines in these parts is another disadvantage
which could be easily overcome in a new edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not an introductory text!, Aug. 23 2001
By 
Brian J Hurt (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Matrix Computations (Paperback)
Once you have a grounding in matrix analysis and linear algebra this book makes a good reference. His explanations tend to be terse (even exceptionally so)- more suited for reminding someone who already knows how the algorithm works or was derived and simply can't remember the details. It lost a star as I've found some annoying typos (for example, in the pseudocode for the GMRES algorithm).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Mathematical Text, June 21 2001
By 
James Sullivan (Chicago IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Matrix Computations (Paperback)
This book should be placed alongside "Principles of Mathematical Analysis" by Walter Rudin and "Finite Dimensional Vector Spaces" by Paul Halmos as a classic text, one which students/professionals of mathematics will use for years to come. A solid book covering computational matrix theory. I myself used it as a tool to bridge the gap between my formal training in Mathematics and my serious interest in computers. Reader should have some knowledge of basic linear algebra(ie understanding of vector spaces, L2 norms, etc..) before attempting this book. Excercises could be better. A good purchase for those with a more than passing interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Reference Text I've Seen on the Subject, Nov. 24 1999
This review is from: Matrix Computations (Paperback)
When I need to solve a large system of linear equations or better understand an algorithm I am using, this book has proven to be the best place to go. It is broad in scope and the writing is clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Simple things explained in a too formal way, Nov. 2 1999
By 
This review is from: Matrix Computations (Paperback)
The book is good, but it could have more useful examples and a less complicated text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Bible of Numerical Linear Algebra, Oct. 26 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Matrix Computations (Paperback)
Presents an extremely thorough and clear study of one of the most important branches of Applied Mathematics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbe496480)

This product

Matrix Computations
Matrix Computations by Charles F. Van Loan (Paperback - Oct. 15 1996)
CDN$ 57.50
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews