Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource for patient and family
As a registered nurse and mother of an adult son newly diagnosed with bipolar disorder, I feel fortunate to have found this book quickly. The information is comprehensive and well organized. The book contains appropriately detailed sections dealing with symptoms/syndromes/diagnosis, treatment, variations/causes/connections, and living with the disorder or with one who...
Published on Feb. 23 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good resource but to much medical jargon
Buying this book should depend on what you are looking for. This book has a lot of medical stuff like how each medication works in the body. It has pages of info on the synapse of a nerve. I really just wanted some basic info on what this disorder is and how to treat it. I skiped tons of pages because knowing how every drug works wasn't my main objecitve and the...
Published on April 22 2004 by Angela Troester


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Good resource but to much medical jargon, April 22 2004
By 
Angela Troester "Moma to 4 boys" (strawberry point, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Buying this book should depend on what you are looking for. This book has a lot of medical stuff like how each medication works in the body. It has pages of info on the synapse of a nerve. I really just wanted some basic info on what this disorder is and how to treat it. I skiped tons of pages because knowing how every drug works wasn't my main objecitve and the doctor decideds what to use on my son anyway. I guess it was to in depth for me and I would have liked more help with "how to handle the manic times with my 8 year old than the synapse of a nerve" I needed symptoms of the disease so I could feel more confidant about the doctors diagnosis. I think this book was ok but it didn't make me convinced of my sons diagnosis. I wanted info on how to help my loved ones deal with my son running around the house in 80 degree weather and a snow suit. When your child is manic and wild at times it seems to others that you are just not strict enough on them but in reality your very hard on the child and it seems that they are out of control and you just have to let the mania run its course. I found that hot baths has helped my son when he is in a fit of rage but this book never told me that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good intro for those who don't know much about Bipolar, Jan. 20 2001
By A Customer
This book is an easy read and offers a comprehensive overview of some crucial information that newly diagnosed BPs and their families need to understand. However, aside from a brief mention of transcranial magnetic therapies, the book's coverage of new and alternative therapies does not go much beyond standard drug therapies, and some psychotherapies. It is also a little out of date on some of the newer anticonvulsants.
For those who have treatment-resistant forms of BP or who do not tolerate the standard drug armamentarium due to side effects, I would definitely recommend checking into the growing literature on orthomolecular psychiatry, environmental medicine, food and brain allergies, enzyme therapy and the like. Some excellent beginning resources are:
"Brain Allergies" by W. H. Philpott, M.D. and D.K. Kalita, M.D.
"Depression: Cured at Last!" by Sherry Rogers, M.D.
"Optimal Digestion: New Strategies for Achieving Digestive Health" Edited by T. W. Nichols, M.D. and Nancy Faass, MSW, MPH (brain allergies and degenerative brain syndromes have been linked to poor digestion and malabsorption of essential brain nutrients)
Various books by Abram Hofer, M.D., Doris Rapp, M.D., and other environmental medicine authors.
Read these books and talk them over with your psychiatrist. If he or she won't listen, find a wholistic medical practioner who will! (But hang on to your psychiatrist, too--trying to go off your meds cold turkey or even attempting to phase them out on your own can be an extremely dangerous and even deadly business.)
These books and others like them are eye openers and offer real hope for those who are determined to heal from this devastating illness rather than trying to control the hydra-headed symptoms of BP with synthetic, side-effect-generating drugs for the rest of their lives.
Caution: As mentioned above, drugs definitely have their place and should not be stopped without physician supervision. Healing via *individualized* diet, nutritional support and detox regimens can be a lengthy process. Drugs can be helpful, and sometimes indispensable, crutches along the way until the body and brain are detoxed, healed, and nourished well enough to function without them.
Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good intro for those who don't know much about Bipolar, Jan. 20 2001
By A Customer
This book is an easy read and offers a comprehensive overview of the crucial information that newly diagnosed BPs and their families need to understand. However, aside from a brief mention of transcranial magnetic therapies, it's coverage of new and alternative therapies does not go much beyond standard drug therapies, and some psychotherapies. It is also a little out of date on some of the newer anticonvulsants.
For those who have treatment resistant forms of BP or who do not tolerate the standard drug armamentarium due to side effects, I would definitely recommend checking into the growing literature on orthomolecular psychiatry, environmental medicine, food and brain allergies, enzyme therapy and the like. Some excellent beginning resources are:
"Brain Allergies" by W. H. Philpott, M.D. and D.K. Kalita, M.D.
"Depression: Cured at Last!" by Sherry Rogers, M.D.
"Optimal Digestion: New Strategies for Achieving Digestive Health" Edited by T. W. Nichols, M.D. and Nancy Faass, MSW, MPH (brain allergies have been linked to poor digestion)
Various books by Abram Hofer, M.D., Doris Rapp, M.D., and other environmental medicine authors.
Read these books and talk them over with your psychiatrist. If he or she won't listen, find a wholistic medical practioner who will! (But hang on to your psychiatrist, too--trying to go off your meds cold turkey or even attempting to phase them out on your own can be an extremely dangerous and even deadly business.) Some of these books provide information on holistic health organizations that provide referrals to local physicians who specialize in orthomolecular medicine, environmental medicine (or whatever other names you want to use for it).
These books and others like them are eye openers and offer real hope for those who are determined to heal from this devastating illness rather than trying to control hydra-headed symptoms with synthetic, side-effect-generating drugs for the rest of their lives.
Nota bene: As mentioned above, drugs definitely have their place and should not be stopped without physician supervision. Healing via *individualized* diet, nutritional support and detox regimens can be a lengthy process. Drugs can be helpful, and sometimes indispensable, crutches along the way until the body and brain are detoxed, healed, and nourished well enough to function without them.
Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource for patient and family, Feb. 23 2000
By A Customer
As a registered nurse and mother of an adult son newly diagnosed with bipolar disorder, I feel fortunate to have found this book quickly. The information is comprehensive and well organized. The book contains appropriately detailed sections dealing with symptoms/syndromes/diagnosis, treatment, variations/causes/connections, and living with the disorder or with one who has the disorder. As a professional, I found the content sufficiently technical while still appropriate for someone with no medical background. Dr. Mondimore has also provided many other resources including suggested reading, support and advocacy organizations and appropriate Internet sites. The chapter notes will lead you to even more information from periodicals, textbooks and other publications. An index is also included for quick reference within the book.
The chapters on preparation for emergencies and on the role of the family has been especially helpful to my daughter-in-law and me. Unfortunately, my son made a serious suicide attempt several weeks ago. Thankfully, he was not successful and has been in intensive therapy since that time. He is improving with medication adjustment and daily therapy. The whole family is learning about bipolar disorder, previously unrecognized signs and symptoms, and the link to alcohol abuse, unipolar depression and AD(H)D that is present in other family members. As we learn to deal with the diagnosis and it's impact on my son, his wife and children and the rest of us, I plan to buy more copies of this book to share with the family. I have always believed that knowledge is power and this book has assisted me in my quest to learn about bipolar disorder. Thank you Dr. Mondimore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you have "mood swings" or "edgy moments"..., April 2 2001
By A Customer
I was recently diagnosed with a mood disorder and this book has been INVALUABLE to me. As other reviewers have mentioned it is well written, empathetic, comprehensive etc. However, from my perspective, the book's BEST feature is that it describes in detail the differences between Bi-polar I, Bi-polar II, "soft bi-polar" and other variations on the illness.
If you (like me) suspect you are suffering from a mood disorder, but do not relate to the typical mainstream media descriptions of individuals who are "bi-polar" or "manic depressive" (i.e. addictions, out of control spending, extreme mania and extreme depression (suicidal thoughts)) this book can really help define the (very significant) distinctions among diagnoses... and help you to feel better and more hopeful about managing your situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical guide to living with bipolar disorder, July 10 1999
By A Customer
Dr. Mondimore has provided a practical, easy-to-read guide for understanding and coping with bipolar disorder. Through the use of case studies, the suthor outlines the types of bipolar disorder, and what symptoms are related to each one. He describes the treatments and lifestyle habits that will help prevent relapse, allowing a person with bipolar disorder to lead a normal life. For the technically oriented reader, Dr. Mondimore also discusses the biological basis of moods, and what is biologically known about the disorder. This is by far the most comprehensive and helpful book I have read on the subject. Dr. Mondimore's writing style is conversational and familiar, and as a result, the information may be readily accepted and applied in the treatment of bipolar disorder by patients and family members alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Without a doubt the most informative, March 1 2001
By A Customer
I read this book for the fist time in July of 1999. Since that time I must have bought atleast 6 copies to give to my friends and family. It was one of the best ways to communicate to those who do not understand what I go through what it is like.Dr. Mondimore covers everything and leaves no stone unturned. He is so in tune with how one with Bipolar disorder feels it is amazing! The information is provided in a very easy to read format.The patient,family and family and friends benefit greatly. I strongly urge ANYONE who wants to understand about this illness to pick it up. For those of us who are afflicted with this type of illness, it means so much for you to try to understand as much as possible. By reading this book,it will surely show you care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bipolar Disorder Book Review, March 28 2000
Dr. Mondimore is to be congratulated for his well-researched, thoughtful masterpiece on Bipolar Disorder. In his book, he clearly describes the vast range of emotions and activities that make up an individual with Bipolar disease. He clearly defines the difference between Bipolar I and Bipolar II, as well as how to cope with a person with this disease. I would highly recommend this book be read at least twice because it is medical (technical) and at the same time, easy to comprehend by anyone without a medical degree. This difficult topic is covered very thoroughly and tastefully. I recommend it to anyone with Bipolar disease or their family members who want to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book about the illness, March 10 2003
By 
Avery Z. Conner (West Lafayette, IN) - See all my reviews
Mondimore has assembled an impressive book- pretty well-written, well-organized, generally easy to read, and filled with useful information. Much of the information is practical, though I don't believe it is as practical as Miklowitz's "Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide". It is quite comprehensive though, and in this regard is similar to Torrey's "Surviving Manic Depression". Overall, this is important reading material for the afflicted and their family and friends. I recommend that those who want to develop a fundamental understanding of the illness read all three of these books. Avery Z. Conner, author of "Fevers of the Mind".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely comprehensive information!, June 11 2001
By 
"intentaccess" (Boca Raton, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
This really was a very informative, practical, easy flowing guide for understanding and coping with Bipolar. Dr. Mondimore describes the lifestyle habits and treatments that will help you prevent relapse, allowing anybody with bipolar disorder to lead a happy, normal life. This was excellent for any family member with somebody who does have this disorder. It really is explained to why they do what it is we do. He covers Moods, medications, alcoholism and drug abuse. Treatment, where to go for help. Getting better and staying well. Also the role the family has and this really was by far the most comprehensive book I have read yet on this matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bipolar Disorder: A Guide for Patients and Families
Bipolar Disorder: A Guide for Patients and Families by Francis Mark Mondimore MD (Paperback - Feb. 9 2006)
CDN$ 22.95 CDN$ 18.41
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews