Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punkrock time capsule
If you love punk rock music or if you simply wished you'd gone to CBGBs in the 70s, or that you'd been alive at that time, you must read this book. It does much to demystify the drug culture at that time--as you see slowly destroy the lives of those who participate in it, but it also glorifies it. The glimpses it provides of those artists who went on to survive that...
Published 5 months ago by onlygoodbooksplease

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the Most Disgusting Books I've ever read!
We all know that American rock music hasn't exactly matured from punk/new wave ever since it got in the mainstream. Because of punk we've got expensive Hot Topic stores where anyone from preteen kids to suburban moms buy certain risque fashions that were all the rage in 1979 or later, and were often an inventive technique of poor urban kids to make themselves look less...
Published on March 27 2003 by Zoey, Uber Pupp


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punkrock time capsule, Jan. 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Please Kill Me: The Uncensored Oral History of Punk (Paperback)
If you love punk rock music or if you simply wished you'd gone to CBGBs in the 70s, or that you'd been alive at that time, you must read this book. It does much to demystify the drug culture at that time--as you see slowly destroy the lives of those who participate in it, but it also glorifies it. The glimpses it provides of those artists who went on to survive that time--Iggy Pop, Debbie Harry, Lou Reed, Patti Smith--are fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great surprise, Oct. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Please Kill Me: The Uncensored Oral History of Punk (Paperback)
I read Legs in the Punk Magazine collection and bought this one based on the content of the magazine. This is amazing stuff. Very enjoyable, I highly recommend if you are into NYC punk history and all the characters that go with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better to burn out than fade away, May 17 2004
By 
M. Casarino (Wilmington, DE United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Please Kill Me (Paperback)
"Please Kill Me" is a beautifully arranged oral history of punk music in America. Legs McNeil and Gillian McCain are heroes for clipping together hundreds of interviews and making it not only coherant (it reads like everyone is in the same room together), but visceral - when Stiv Bators gets in a knife fight on the street or the Ramones pee into Johnny Rotten's soda, you're right there with them. It's a great read, and totally entertaining.
And something else, too. McNeil and McCain have the benefit of hindsight - they didn't arrange this book until long after punk was no more. The writing during the glory years have a wonderful, kinetic urgency to them - but as the music started to get co-opted, and people started to die as a result of hard living, the book becomes genuinely moving and heartfelt. And the fact that so much time is spent on "forgotten" artists is totally heartwarming - and completely in the spirit of the music, and the movement.
You can skip around "Please Kill Me," but it's a much better read from cover to cover. Read it, and emit a deep, mournful sigh at the next Blink 182 song you hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read., May 7 2004
By 
jason gilmour (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Please Kill Me (Paperback)
Please Kill Me is a fantastic and highly entertaining exploration of the early American punk rock'n'roll scene. This is the REAL history of punk baby! Killer interviews with the true heroes of punk about the crazy exploits and wild times in mid to late 70's New York. Please Kill Me features lots of interviews with members of The New York Dolls, Heartbreakers,Ramones, The Dictators, the founders of Punk magazine and many, many more people that were part of the CBGBs scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wildly entertaining, March 4 2004
By 
D. Roche (Pelham, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Please Kill Me (Paperback)
A rollicking great read of the road from late 60's bands like the Velvets and the MC 5 to the original glam band, the NY Dolls, to NY punk and beyond as told by those who were there. Centered in decadant and decaying NYC of the time, the stories of drugs, music, artistic inspiration, sexual liasons, and classic "I was there" stories about performances (from the first Ramones show, Iggy's glass act, and the NY Dolls at the Mercer) this book is a snapshot of time gone by. At the same time, given the way pop culture works, so many of today's bands owe their existence to these pioneers, many/most of whom never made much money at their craft.
With the passing of Dee Dee and Joey Ramone in recent years, and icons like Johnny Thunders and Nico before them, this book's snapshot of the late 60's and early 70's takes on something of a bittersweet edge. A wonderful book you may be tempted to read again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Punk=short and to the point, Feb. 21 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Please Kill Me (Paperback)
I loved this book because it tells you what happened straight from the horses' mouth. Legs and Gillian use these people's memories and stories to paint a picture of New York City and punk rock in the seventies. A must have for any punk: young and old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Total must-read, perfect for the punk-obsessed. (Read: me.), Feb. 6 2004
By 
Chelsea Johnson (Gilbert, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Please Kill Me (Paperback)
I loved this book, it's a total gem. I first bought it because my music history textbook is incomplete and inaccurate when it comes to punk music.(It actually spelled Siouxie Sioux's name as 'Susie Sue'.) It is completely fun... (I didn't ever compare two of my favorite songs- "Pretty Vacant" to "Blank Generation", but it makes sense now. And reading about Lou Reed is quite entertaining.) I only give this four stars because I personally find Bebe Buell the most irritating woman alive, not counting Madonna, of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars About as close to the truth as you'll get, Feb. 4 2004
By 
jj bruno "jbrunodog" (morris, CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Please Kill Me (Paperback)
Most books on subjects such as this (the history of the punk rock scene) are fluff, or some lame writer's opinion. Here we have the major players talking (Lou Reed, Nico, Wayne Kramer, Iggy Pop, David Johanssen, Johnny Thunders, Patti Smith, Joey Ramone, Dee Dee Ramone, Tom Verlaine, Stiv Bators, John Lydon, Debbie Harry, etc etc.) Plus all their hangers-on and groupies and girlfriends and record suits (i.e. Danny Fields.) So this is about as close to the truth as you'll get about how it all evolved, and moved from Detroit to New York City to London. Iggy has a major role in it all, and I found him to be his usual truthful self. Iggy speaks of listening to the first Velvet Underground album in 1967 and not liking it at first (very honest there.) He also speaks of seeing Jim Morrison perform with the Doors in 1967 at some college concert, and being fascinated by the Lizard King's crazy stage performance. He formed the Stooges less than 6 months later, and Iggy ends up influencing his Detroit peers the MC5, and later hanging with the NY Dolls and then the Ramones in New York. The Ramones and to a lesser extent, Johnny Thunders from the Dolls travel to England and end up influencing the growing scene there, including John Lydon (who turns into Johnny Rotten of the Sex Pistols.) All in all, good behind the scene stories are included. I only wish the early heavy metal players could be as honest in a book like this, instead of protecting their own egos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for punk rock enthusiasts, Jan. 28 2004
This review is from: Please Kill Me (Paperback)
I love how this book is written by 1st person point of view. Every passage is quoted from the actual person/persons that were there when an event happened. The beginning of the book really focuses on the Detroit sound of the MC5, Stooges..etc. It is a indepth look at the whole start of the punk rock genre of the late 60s early 70s and continues up through the late 80s and early 90s. Each decade is broken down into nice sections. This book is tops for books about the early punk scene. This book also includes various pictures which is nice and an index of all the characters in the the book and how they are associated with the punk scene.I have followed punk rock for over 15years and I have to say that this is the best money I have ever spent on a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good look at the punk movement by people who were there, Jan. 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Please Kill Me (Paperback)
Please kill me is a very good book. I thought that it was very well put together. Also, there were many different perspectives from many different people who were in the punk scene in the seventies. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in knowing about the roots of punk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Please Kill Me: The Uncensored Oral History of Punk
Please Kill Me: The Uncensored Oral History of Punk by Gillian McCain (Paperback - April 13 2006)
CDN$ 20.95 CDN$ 15.12
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews