Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality Content - For MARRIED Men
The title should be changed to "MARRIED Men's Edition."

I bought the book hoping it would be more specific to all men (and sans the sissy purple cover!) than the original version.

This book is 100% a marriage counselling book. I am not married.
Don't buy this book if you're single, and looking for generic advice on love languages of all those...
Published on Oct. 10 2010 by Berek Droughton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too long, too wordy
The author invented two fancy terms, "love language" and "love tank", and uses them in almost every sentence... After you read them for the 50th time, they simply annoy you. The book would've benefited if cut by half. The author makes a point and goes into a lengthy story, most likely a made-up one: some couple came to him for counselling and he solved all their problems...
Published 11 months ago by David


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality Content - For MARRIED Men, Oct. 10 2010
This review is from: The 5 Love Languages Men's Edition: The Secret to Love That Lasts (Paperback)
The title should be changed to "MARRIED Men's Edition."

I bought the book hoping it would be more specific to all men (and sans the sissy purple cover!) than the original version.

This book is 100% a marriage counselling book. I am not married.
Don't buy this book if you're single, and looking for generic advice on love languages of all those around you. It's only about YOU and YOUR WIFE.

With that said:

-The content of this book is really excellent. It makes one think hard about how he treats (and is treated by) his significant other.

-Clearly, there is an agenda to the book, as every new chapter lists the five love languages again, and every few pages, Chapman reminds the reader that everyone needs to discover his own and his wife's love language.

-This is a book written for the average Joe. It's not heavy with high-brow wordage or university-level concepts of psychology, philosophy, or theology. It is simply and plainly written, and is at times redundant. Chapman likely does this on purpose, to drive home points to thick-headed readers, or those reading it while falling asleep :)

I highly recommend this to all married men. I do think it has prepared me for marriage in some neat ways, but it is certainly not hitting me exactly where I'm at at this moment. Perhaps the 'singles edition' is better-suited, and not as vacuous as its description originally sounded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too long, too wordy, Jan. 9 2014
By 
David (Montreal, QC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 5 Love Languages Men's Edition: The Secret to Love That Lasts (Paperback)
The author invented two fancy terms, "love language" and "love tank", and uses them in almost every sentence... After you read them for the 50th time, they simply annoy you. The book would've benefited if cut by half. The author makes a point and goes into a lengthy story, most likely a made-up one: some couple came to him for counselling and he solved all their problems in five minutes.
Don't be mislead by the title "Men's Edition"; there is nothing especially "manly" about this book; "Men's edition" is just a marketing gimmick. The author took his previous book, changed the title and that's it.
Overall, it's a somewhat good book, but I'm sure that there are better books out there. Keep browsing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars both men and women should read this, Jan. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 5 Love Languages Men's Edition: The Secret to Love That Lasts (Paperback)
While this book is written for men, after reading the women's edition I read this and found it insightful. We all show love differently and this helps us to see what the other person needs to feel loved. I recommend this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, Dec 31 2013
Excellent book. Helped with how I perceive myself and marriage. teaches you important information that will help save your marriage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He's actually reading it!!!, July 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 5 Love Languages Men's Edition: The Secret to Love That Lasts (Paperback)
we're still working on things and things are getting better. I give this s 5 star rating cause he's actually reading it, which is HUGE in the world of men actually reading a self-help book that their wives want them to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read as a complement to the original version, Jan. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 5 Love Languages Men's Edition: The Secret to Love That Lasts (Paperback)
My cousin told me this book would be a good read for my boyfriend, while I was reading the original version. We both really found them helpful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Self Help book, July 27 2012
By 
twiggy - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 5 Love Languages Men's Edition: The Secret to Love That Lasts (Paperback)
This book is really good if they really do not understand women, and what women really want. My husband found it very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Nov. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 5 Love Languages Men's Edition: The Secret to Love That Lasts (Paperback)
Written in real language and uses anecdotes to illustrate situations that may be occurring in your relationship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Appreciation and request, June 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 5 Love Languages Men's Edition: The Secret to Love That Lasts (Paperback)
The book is fine and offers the kind of help that can be useful. A book like this can be given away and that is what I like to do.
Is it possible for me to order a book for some one else and I pay for the book and shipping and what ever else and that you
would send the book to a different address different than mine?

William H Warkentin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, April 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 5 Love Languages Men's Edition: The Secret to Love That Lasts (Paperback)
This book is so true about life & marriage. Can relate to so many things in this book. Every husband should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 5 Love Languages Men's Edition: The Secret to Love That Lasts
The 5 Love Languages Men's Edition: The Secret to Love That Lasts by Gary D Chapman (Paperback - Dec 30 2009)
CDN$ 17.25 CDN$ 12.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews