Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and Passionate!
The novel. Lord of Ice is a classic example of a true regency romance the way a true regency romance fan wants it told. The charcaters are deep and inspirational with just the right touch of bravado and whimsy to keep a reader engaged and amused. Ms. Foley has created the type of book that leaves the reader satisfied and yet wanting more. This book along with its...
Published on June 16 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It was good...
Not bad, not excellent either. It had its moments. I guess there were just some parts that seemed unrealistic to me. Like the un-natural way Damian and Miranda would caress each other in the beginning of the book after only knowing each other a few days. Their initial meeting though is very electric, you'll enjoy reading it. It's a fun read and a page turner, it has...
Published on Nov. 25 2003 by romanticnic


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and Passionate!, June 16 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lord of Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
The novel. Lord of Ice is a classic example of a true regency romance the way a true regency romance fan wants it told. The charcaters are deep and inspirational with just the right touch of bravado and whimsy to keep a reader engaged and amused. Ms. Foley has created the type of book that leaves the reader satisfied and yet wanting more. This book along with its companion novel,Lord of Fire now both belong in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was good..., Nov. 25 2003
This review is from: Lord of Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
Not bad, not excellent either. It had its moments. I guess there were just some parts that seemed unrealistic to me. Like the un-natural way Damian and Miranda would caress each other in the beginning of the book after only knowing each other a few days. Their initial meeting though is very electric, you'll enjoy reading it. It's a fun read and a page turner, it has a lot of action too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Melting ice?, Oct. 29 2003
This review is from: Lord of Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
More like melting hearts cos thats what this dashing young man will do! My favourite type of hero: a dark dashing stranger with a dark past. I adored the way Miranda tried to get into her ruthlessly cold guardians heart. THe way she coaxed him to trust her, to give into her: its utterly breath-taking and heart-soaring. And in the end I love the way he gives into and sets his spirit free - dazzling! He's a trully amazing character who made me feel so sorry for him. He was going through hell and yet stayed so honourable. Gaelen Foley really showed what he was feeling to such a great effect and Miranda was such a strong character for such a young person.
I especially adore the way Miranda releases him from his agony - sneaky Miranda! But seriously the characters are so genuine and serous in there feelign towards each other that you feel you might just weep with the unfairness in this real world! This is my favourite from all four of Foley's Knight Miscellany series. It's a satisfyingly charming read and is definitely recommended! A keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I should have read this sooner, Aug. 17 2003
By 
Jen. M. "murrayj51" (Baton Rouge, LA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lord of Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
I purchased this book almost a year ago, and after reading 'Lord of Fire' I decided to take a break from Ms. Foley's 'Knight Miscellany' because I found 'Lord of Fire' to be a bit tedious. Well, I shouldn't have waited because 'Lord of Ice' was very good.
Damien is a great hero, complex, tortured and reluctant to fall in love. Suffering from post-traumatic stress syndrome from his military exploits, he's withdrawn from society to live a quiet life. Until his friend dies, making Damien legal guarding of Miranda Fitshubert. While Damien isn't overjoyed at the prospect of taking on a young girl, he's totally unprepared when he finds Miranda to be an attractive, and very lovely young woman. Miranda turns out to be just what Damien needs, in addition to being independent, smart, and resourceful. To say more about the plot would give away some of the best parts of the book. These characters have great chemistry, and I am not eager to read Ms. Foley's next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Really 3.5 stars, July 15 2003
By 
"vt1752" (Sacramento, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lord of Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
Sorry, but,... I just did not like this book as much as Lord of Fire. LOF's hero, Lucien, was so much more multi-dimensional and complex. To explain why he is the way he is, Foley spent an appropriate amount of time on his background, particularly how Lucien had always felt inferior to his "older" twin brother Damien. Also, so much was made of Lucien's admiration for Damien. so I expected Damien to have admirable qualities, which he really didn't. He was obviously tormented by his war experience, but this was the only aspect of his character Foley covered. So Damien wound up being one-dimensional and boring. Also, the way his post traumatic stress syndrome was portrayed was almost silly. Although he agonizes constantly about bugging out in front of people, he only has one public episode, and that's when a champagne cork pops, triggering his war memories. I couldn't help giggling. Also, the way Miranda apparently "cures" him with one session of oral sex was silly as well. I felt like Foley raised a worthwhile topic (survivor's guilt and PTSD) but then dealt with them in a very shallow way.
Equally shallow has been Foley's portrayal of Lucien and Damien's relationship as twins. Perhaps it's a cliche that twins are emotionally close, but Lucien and Damien almost treated each other like strangers. In LOF, they avoided each other until the very end of the book, and in LOI, Lucien actually spent more time talking to Miranda than to Damien. I didn't expect the twins to have mental telepathy, but I did expect the fact that they were twins to have some impact on the stories, which it did not. It's almost as if she made them twins for no reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All is fair in Love and War^^, June 18 2003
By 
Me Ka Ying Clara "Shinigami Clara" (Sha Tin, NT Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lord of Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
Lord Damien Knight of Winterley, known as Demon in the war. the war hero that came home unscratched....or is it really? Damien was unscratched in the outside, but the war left him a broken man in the inside, the horror in the war has left Damien living in nightmares. in fear of hurting those around him, Damien lives in the outskirts of civilization untill his comrade in battle died unexpectedly. In his death he leaves his ward in Damien's care, now, whether he likes it or not, Damien is forced to come out and meet society's call again. But is he really ready? Is he going to follow Miranda back into the light? Will she heal him with her love, or leave him never to trust again? can he rescue Miranda from harm when it finally comes knocking at her door?
Strong-willed, cheerfull and unearthly beautiful Miranda FitzHubert, the ward of Damien Knight, she suffered though the loss of her parents and her uncle, now she is the ward of the notorious war hero, Lord Winterley. what happens when she attracts to him as none other? Miranda sees the torment in Damien's soul, she knows that she is the only one who can save him from his own darkness the only one that can give him the love that he starves for. But will she be pushed away like others that tried? will Damien lock her out of his life? Will she be able to battle the demons of his dreams and rescue her knight in shining armor as he had rescued her?
A wonderful novel, another great piece of work by Gaelen Foley, this is the sequel to The Duke and Lord of Fire. i was captured again by the intruge and suspence that Mrs Foley has set out, sometimes i want to just slap Damien for his stupidity, can't he see Miranda's love for him and his love fo her? but great work once again, this was as wonderful as the other 2 books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Action, action, and more action!!!!, March 2 2003
By 
Tiffany Lloyd (Phoenix, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lord of Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
Miss Miranda Fitzhubert has just been named ward of the incredibly honorable, brave, war hero Damien Knight, the ear of Winterley. From the very first moment the two see each other sparks fly. But not is all as it seems. both of these two people have dark secrets that must be brought out by the other and conquered. Damien is forever being haunted by his past from the war. He is afraid that if he stays around people he might hurt them during one of his episodes. But the sweet Miranda's touch seems to be able to keep his demons at bay. But how can he keep her close when he might hurt her?? And then there's that small little matter of someone is trying to kill her, that they must solve...
This book is wonderful! It is filled with nonstop action. There is no way any reader can get bored with this book!! The characters are perfect for each other, and you really find yourself feeling what the characters are feeling. So yes, I give this book 5 stars! It's funny and filled with action!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Action, action, and more action!!!!, March 2 2003
By 
Tiffany Lloyd (Phoenix, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lord of Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
Miss Miranda Fitzhubert has just been named ward of the incredibly honorable, brave, war hero Damien Knight, the ear of Winterley. From the very first moment the two see each other sparks fly. But not is all as it seems. both of these two people have dark secrets that must be brought out by the other and conquered. Damien is forever being haunted by his past from the war. He is afraid that if he stays around people he might hurt them during one of his episodes. But the sweet Miranda's touch seems to be able to keep his demons at bay. But how can he keep her close when he might hurt her?? And then there's that small little matter of someone is trying to kill her, that they must solve...
This book is wonderful! It is filled with nonstop action. There is no way any reader can get bored with this book!! The characters are perfect for each other, and you really find yourself feeling what the characters are feeling. So yes, I give this book 5 stars! It's funny and filled with action!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Wonderful Knight!!!, Feb. 21 2003
By 
Kristi Ahlers (Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lord of Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
I can't say enough about this series! This is the story of Damien the other Knight twin. Damien is a troubled soul and feels that he is going slowly insane as a result of his military career. He finds out that a fellow officer and friend has been killed and has "willed" his niece to Damian. Damien does not have any idea what to do with a ward. What does he know about children? What he does not know is that Miranda is far from being a child she is a young woman of 19.
Miranda feels that she has been forgotten and no one wants her. She has been left and forgotten in a horrid boarding school where she has experienced unspeakable things. She escapes to the stage but still has to return to her miserable existance at the school. Then a dark and handsome stranger comes and takes her away from all of her troubles. What follows next is a story of the heart.
This was a wonderful, emotional read and I feel that is so far the best of the three stories that have been written about the Knight Brothers. Damien is a true Knight is every way possible and you can't help but fall in love with this tortured soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but . . ., Jan. 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Lord of Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
Really nice writing in a maturely handled story, but there were two glaring mistakes on details that showed the author was not doing research on things she didn't know about. First off the Christmas carol "Silent Night" was referred to as an "old carol" when in fact it wasn't even written yet in the year the events in this book takes place (1814-15). It was written in Germany and wasn't performed until 1818, and would have taken longer to reach England and get into general circulation there. Secondly, horses have a gestation period of 340 days. They don't "breed in the fall to foal in the spring". In a book written about a time period where the horse was the major fast transportation on land, this is a bad mistake. In themselves, these errors don't kill the book, but the main problem with these kind of mistakes is the reader never knows if ANY of the little facts that are sprinkled through the author's writing is correct. It really takes some of the fun out of reading the book. The sad part of it is, these facts could have been checked with Google in about five minutes.
A good read, but don't take anything written in the book for gospel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1adc54c)

This product

Lord of Ice
Lord of Ice by Gaelen Foley (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 29 2002)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews