Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great translation of a venerable classic
Translations of Japanese and Chinese classics are often hampered by the archaic language used in the originals. This was not the case here and the translator has achieved a balanced fusion of great story-telling and accurate presentation of the text. This is no small achievement since the Heike tale is populated by many diverse characters some of whom are only mentioned...
Published on Aug. 17 2001 by Hong A. Ooi

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Confused
I had to read this book for a course I took in Japanese civilization and culture. I found it very hard to follow even with some background. There are so many differnt names in just one paragraph that it is impossible to keep track of them all, let alone try to figure out what is going on.
Published on March 28 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great translation of a venerable classic, Aug. 17 2001
By 
Hong A. Ooi (Loveland, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tale of the Heike (Paperback)
Translations of Japanese and Chinese classics are often hampered by the archaic language used in the originals. This was not the case here and the translator has achieved a balanced fusion of great story-telling and accurate presentation of the text. This is no small achievement since the Heike tale is populated by many diverse characters some of whom are only mentioned once whereas others have great influence on the plot despite their brief appearances.
I have found that the best way to read the book is to treat oneself to the episodic nature of the chapters. This reflects the original format of the story; that it was expressed in minstrel style story-telling by the "biwa-hoshi" in nightly recitals. As such each segment of the story can be treated like individual pearls in a string, each complete and entertaining by its own merit but strung together to form the whole epic saga of the Heike. Attempts to read the book in the style of a conventional Western novel with its continuous narrative will result in frustration since the story seem to take many didactic excursions and side plots. This may also have been the rootcause to the earlier frustration of another reviewer who encountered too many characters to comprehend at one single reading. A similar experience can be found if a first time reader tries to read the Bible continuously from Genesis to Revelation.
The other great challenge in this translation is in its reference to the characters of the story. The long titles accorded to each individual felt cumbersome and unnecessary at first but as I continued reading I began to appreciate that the original narrators of the tale were relating to the traditional Japanese audience, not the modern reader. As such the titles and honorifics were not only essential but required for reasons of protocol. Many listeners in feudal Japan were related or held similar positions to those described in the story. This realization helps the reader to savour the vintage of this work.
The book also helps to lift a veil over 12th Century interaction between Japan and China. The narrators often recited characters from ancient China as part of the shared heritage of Japanese perceptions of honor and duty. The exchange of ideas and cultural practices between the two empires comes across as very vital and alive at that period as expressed by the presence of a Chinese physician during Taira no Shigemori's death. My initial fascination about the extermination of the Taira (from reading the story of Earless Hoichi from Kwaidan by L. Hearns) have been greatly enriched by the full account of the Gempei Wars found here in the Tale of the Heike. The sense of karmic justice where the terrible fate that befell the Taira clan was a direct result of the evil deeds of Kiyomori was all but pervasive in this book. Great reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Japan before the Shogun, May 27 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tale of the Heike (Paperback)
As one of Japan's most important pieces of historical literature, the Tale of the Heike provides a glimpse into the last days of the courtly Heian period, just as it was replaced by the Kamakura Shogunate at the end of the Twelfth Century. Those readers accustomed to stories of Sixteenth-Century samurai will find this an interesting change of pace. The sensibilities revealed in the narrative provide an interesting insight into the thought processes of the people of medieval Japan.
McCullough's translation is very good; her prose is compact, but maintains the poetic quality of the original texts with a minimum of distracting footnotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Fiction., July 11 2001
By 
Meursault (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tale of the Heike (Paperback)
Admittedly, the book is a bit rough for the average reader. It is, nonetheless, the root of oh so many modern stereotypes of Japan, and, interestingly enough, Western popular mythologies (Star Wars anyone?). If you read, keep in mind that the book is based on historical facts - facts translated through the mouths of blind traveling bards - performances then immortalized in various text/versions - and then, centuries later, translated into English. Ms. McCullough had a daunting task and has done an amazing job. It takes effort to read this text, but it is well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost what I expected, Sept. 8 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tale of the Heike (Paperback)
But Helen McCullough left me feeling like not all the translations made it through with all their meanings intact. I realize such a minor point should not keep me from rating her a 5, but the poetry of Japan has so much expression (and double meaning; see Genji) that I felt left out of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent scholarly work., May 31 2014
By 
I. G. Howe "Apolloin" (Calgary, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tale of the Heike (Paperback)
The late Helen McCullough was a scholar of the first water and possessed the talent for writing both intelligently and interestingly. Everything I have read of hers has been well worth the price of admission and 'The Tale of the Heike' is widely regarded as her finest work.

I cannot recommend this enough for those interested in the Gempei wars, as it contains a masterful blend of both interpretation and translation of the source material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Confused, March 28 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tale of the Heike (Paperback)
I had to read this book for a course I took in Japanese civilization and culture. I found it very hard to follow even with some background. There are so many differnt names in just one paragraph that it is impossible to keep track of them all, let alone try to figure out what is going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am proud, July 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tale of the Heike (Paperback)
i read the book and thought it was very very good sometimes it was hard to follow the plot.translating this book must have been very hard to do for i should now because Helen C. Mccullough was my wonderfull Grandmother.She taped herself and i used to watch her on tape as she translated the book to english. even if she was not my grandmother i still would have thought the book was good it gave me a new love for Japense lituire. did i spell that right? oh while i recommend this book to any one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tale of the Heike
The Tale of the Heike by Helen McCullough (Paperback - March 1 1990)
CDN$ 32.14 CDN$ 19.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews