Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm convinced
This book seems to make a pretty strong case for the use of checklists. Of course we are exposed to more and less effective uses of checklists through the course of this book, and Gawande's experience limits us primarily to the realm of surgery, although he does get us out of the operating where he can.

The key to the believability of what he proposes here is...
Published on May 7 2010 by Rodge

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars just living from stories of other
This book is meant to make money only. It feeds with unneccesary information from the lives and examples of others. And contents more a life biography rather than good tips. The entire book could be made to 2-3 chapters of useful information instead of wasting our time with consuming other peoples life. Not much to do with check lists.
Published 6 months ago by Muhammad Saleem Pervez


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm convinced, May 7 2010
By 
Rodge (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right (Hardcover)
This book seems to make a pretty strong case for the use of checklists. Of course we are exposed to more and less effective uses of checklists through the course of this book, and Gawande's experience limits us primarily to the realm of surgery, although he does get us out of the operating where he can.

The key to the believability of what he proposes here is a communication checklist and also a warning not to use checklists to do our jobs for us (i.e. don't put everything on the checklist, just key tasks that mustn't be missed or that are more frequently missed).

Of course, the challenge is in the implementation, which takes more work than making the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Checklist Manifesto, April 6 2010
By 
Colin Redfern (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right (Hardcover)
An excellent read and opens ones eyes to how the simplest of mistakes cause the greatest problems and how easily they can be avoided:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Applicable to every job ever, Feb. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right (Hardcover)
This is one of those books that everyone who has a job should read. Loved the examples and am still using it in my life a year after I read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Getting the Steps Right is Hard", Feb. 23 2013
By 
John M. Ford "johnDC" (near DC, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Atul Gawande is a physician interested in improving surgical practice. He reviews surgical cases with disastrous outcomes that could have been prevented and cites research claiming that nearly half of deaths that occur in surgery are in fact preventable. We read a detailed analysis of a drowning accident in which the young victim's life was saved against all odds. Why? Because the hospital staff had discussed and practiced the procedures to treat cold-water drowning ahead of time. They used no new knowledge; they just coordinated and communicated more effectively.

Gawande examines how human beings do things. There are two reasons we fail at complex tasks. The first is ignorance. We correct it by conducting research and building schools to increase our knowledge. The second and more common reason for failure is ineptitude--the right knowledge is available, but we do not apply it correctly. People continually forget, are distracted, or skip steps because they seem unimportant. This problem lurks below the radar; we don't recognize it, let alone try to solve it. Instead we send people off for more training to increase their knowledge.

What is needed instead is a simple way to remind people of what they know at the right time to make a difference. We have an answer, we just aren't using it. "Checklists seem to provide protection against such failures. They remind us of the minimum necessary steps and make them explicit. They not only offer the possibility of verification, but also instill a kind of discipline of higher performance."

The author examines checklists used by airline pilots, building contractors, investors and other physicians. In these professions work has become too complex for even a talented individual to perform alone. Teams of skilled experts must manage both communication and complexity to succeed. They do both with checklists. These checklists make people stop and think at "pause points" to ensure that the right things have been done. They get coworkers to bond as a team by requiring them to talk to each other. As a result, people become comfortable enough to speak up when they see a potential problem.

Chapter Six, The Checklist Factory is the instructional meat of the book, with recommendations that help us develop good checklists. There are direct guidelines about brevity and clarity. There are also process guidelines about identifying common mistakes and fine-tuning a checklist with field testing. He distinguishes between READ-DO checklists, which march novices through the tightly specified steps of rote tasks, and DO-CONFIRM checklists, which provide checkpoints for experienced professionals solving complex problems in coordinated groups. Both have their place, but DO-CONFIRM checklists have the most potential to make a difference.

There are barriers to checklist use. They have a serious user acceptance problem. Many accomplished professionals consider themselves virtuosos who don't need help from other people at all, let alone somebody else's checklist. To many others checklists seem too mundane to make a difference. The author works hard to persuade us. His own research on checklists in operating rooms finds significant drops in death rates, post-operative infections, and other outcome measures. He highlights successes at prominent hospitals to encourage wider acceptance, asks administrators to impose requirements, and calls on nurses to help change the culture of the operating room. The idea is slowly catching on.

Gawande wishes we would move more quickly. "In the money business everyone looks for an edge. If someone is doing well, people pounce like starved hyenas to find out how. Almost every idea for making even slightly more money ... gets sucked up by the giant maw almost instantly. Every idea, that is except one: checklists."

I learned some things from this book and highly recommend it. Give it at least a quick look, starting with Chapter 6. It has the potential to make you even better at what you do best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read!, Feb. 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
everyone in every field, should read this book. A great way to ensure things get done properly so that future disasters can be avoided if not eliminated..............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whatever field you operate in, this book will make a difference in how you view the importance of checklists, April 4 2013
Just read if, you'll see. There is a great lesson in there. Checklists will make significant difference in the results of whatever endeavour, not matter how simple nor complex, you undertake. If you value results, you will appreciate this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book. The whole point is to tell us ..., Aug. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nice book. The whole point is to tell us about his highly read NEJM publication. It's awesome when so many problems can be avoided by a single and simple idea.
Great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, Oct. 28 2011
Good book. A great example of how lists can reduce human error. A great insight into the medical and aviation worlds as well! Worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Persuasive and thought provoking, Sept. 19 2011
This review is from: The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right (Hardcover)
The book has an out-of-the-box-thinking vibe that does an excellent job convincing the reader of the benefits of using checklists in all walks of life and especially in the medical field. It is written by a curious and imaginative doctor whose observations of other professional domains - and introspective questions about inefficiencies in his field - lead him to challenge the status quo in medicine and champion the cause of a rigorous approach to the multitude of situations faced by MDs.

Given the rigor, routine, and repetitiveness associated with checklists, I expected the book to be boring and essentially read it because of nice reviews in the press, but Dr. Gawande does an excellent job, through real life examples, at emphasizing the advantages and 'coolness' of his cause. On rare occasions, the book becomes redundant with too many examples and statements aimed to hammer the point of the author, but by and large it was a pleasant read and one that got me seriously thinking about the future of humans and technology.

Recommended for anyone who believes in progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, Sept. 9 2011
on time delivery and nice book. Before i bought the book, i actually got a chance to hear about this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right
The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right by Atul Gawande (Hardcover - Dec 22 2009)
CDN$ 31.00 CDN$ 19.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews