Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking examination of the death of Kurt Cobain
When the rock icon of a generation dies, media attention isinevitable. In April 1994, the death of Kurt Cobain created a tidalwave of attention. Thousands of fans mourned Cobain, the lead singer of the band Nirvana, a group often credited with pioneering the Seattle grunge scene.
More than 65 young people eventually followed their hero into death, committing...
Published on April 11 1998 by joyce.macphee@sympatico.ca

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Biased book that reads like "The National Enquirer"
I wouldn't reccomend this book to ANYONE. It made my blood boil. Only a few pages are dedicated to Kurt Cobain, and the rest is boring Courtney-bashing. The authors admit they have never met Courtney Love NOR Kurt Cobain, and their information is based on what they read in tabloid magazines, such as "Globe" and "Vanity Fair", and Hank Harrison's...
Published on Feb. 11 2000


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking examination of the death of Kurt Cobain, April 11 1998
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain (Hardcover)
When the rock icon of a generation dies, media attention isinevitable. In April 1994, the death of Kurt Cobain created a tidalwave of attention. Thousands of fans mourned Cobain, the lead singer of the band Nirvana, a group often credited with pioneering the Seattle grunge scene.
More than 65 young people eventually followed their hero into death, committing "copycat" suicides.
Cobain's death was a sensational and strange tale that inspired passionate debates about suicide, the emptiness of the 90s generation, and the responsibilities of pop culture heroes.
Cobain, who died at the age of 27, was a brilliant and creative man who led an emotionally troubled life. He was a heroin user who reportedly committed suicide, leaving a young daughter and wife behind. Days before he died he had disappeared from an L.A. drug treatment center.
The book "Who Killed Kurt Cobain? The Mysterious Death of an Icon" does not answer the question posed by its title. But it does provide compelling reasons why the investigation into his death should be reopened.
The book relates biographical information about Kurt Cobain and his wife Courtney Love; the events leading up to his death; information and insights gleaned from friends, relatives and people who had been in contact with the couple; and professional opinions from experts in various fields, including pathology and graphology.
Many people who knew Cobain do not believe that he killed himself. Either does Tom Grant, a private investigator hired by Courtney Love to find Cobain after he left the drug treatment center. Grant does not accept the verdict of suicide and has done everything in his power to convince the authorities to reopen the investigation into Cobain's death. Grant's involvement in the case and his crusade are explained in great detail. The address for Grant's Internet website, which receives up to one million hits a year, is listed.
Compelling arguments are presented to disprove the suicide verdict, which was arrived at very quickly after Cobain's death. The medical examiner at the scene, coincidentally, was a friend of Courtney Love's. According to the expert cited in the book, Cobain could not have shot himself with a shotgun given the amount of heroin found in his body: he would have passed out immediately after receiving that amount of the drug.
A musician who passed a lie detector test stating that Courtney Love had offered him several thousand dollars to kill Cobain was found dead under strange circumstances only weeks later.
There were no fingerprints found on the shotgun that inflicted a wound on Cobain, and what about the so-called suicide note? For starters it does not sound like a suicide note, but rather a note declaring his intention to quit the music business. And then there are the two apparently distinct sets of handwriting on this note, which is reproduced in a photograph.
The book focuses a great deal of suspicion on Courtney Love and her sometimes bizarre behavior before and after Cobain's death. In fact, Love's father is on record stating that he believes his daughter murdered her husband. Shockingly, Grant implicates Love in both the death of her husband as well as her bandmate in the group Hole, Kristen Pfaff.
"Who Killed Kurt Cobain?" was written by two Canadian investigative journalists, Ian Halperin and Max Wallace. Halperin and Wallaces were cowinners of the "Rolling Stone" magazine Award for Investigative Journalism. No concrete proof of the murder theory is contained within the book, although the information is well presented.
"Who Killed Kurt Cobain?" will definitely be of interest to Nirvana fans, and to those who like to ponder real-life mysteries. Because the death of Kurt Cobain was as tragic as it was mysterious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Decide for yourself, April 9 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain (Hardcover)
This book is interesting, informative, and written with a lucidity that is hard to find in the nonfiction genre. If you are reading it for entertainment or as a fan of Kurt and Nirvana, it definitely holds up to the good reviews.
Regardless of the bias you may already have before reading the book - be a filter, not a sponge (as Stephen Chobosky tells us).
Read the good and bad customer feedback, but bear in mind that some of the negitive feedback is hardly intelligible (such as glaring spelling mistakes) and more difficult to read through.
As a highly literate college student and a bookstore employee - I rate this book five bright stars out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Want the TRUTH? read Kurts Journals!, June 22 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper (Paperback)
i believe the authors of any "murder theory" books are trying to make some money while raping Kurt in the process. Kurt felt like he was being raped by the media since Nevermind broke out, and now 10 years later, its still happening. I think the authors need to read Kurts Journals. There's even a time where he says "I bought a gun today and was going to kill myself, but I have a baby coming soon, so I got some herion instead". Read the journals for the truth. Its the truth from Kurt, not the guys who are raping him. You will also see his handwriting in the journals. The SAME handwriting that the authors say wasnt his (in the sucide note). You can tell when Kurt is on drugs by the difference of things he writes about and his handwriting. In Utero was originally titled "I hate myself and want to die", that sounds pretty straight forward to me. Kurt busted out of rehab and killed himself the next week. Why was Courtney calling Tom Grant? Because her husband busted out of rehab and he's mentally unstable. It makes sense. If Tom Grant had all this evidence with cassett tapes, why didnt se give them to the police? Why is it taken 10 years for this information to come out? For me, that doesnt add up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Truest book I have ever read, April 30 2004
By 
Taylor Miller (Temple City, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper (Paperback)
This is by far one of the truest books I have ever read in my life. Kurt Cobain is my hero and he has changed my life in so many ways that you*will never understand. He was uaken from life way too soon and he will always be remembered. Courtney Love may have been able to get away with his murder for now but one day, she will be brought to justice and all of the TRUE Nirvana fans will be waiting for that day to come. I believe that even though Kurt is no longer physically with us, and Courtney may have been able to take him away, he will always be in our hearts and you can never take that from us! I strongly believe that Kurt Cobain was murdered and I strongley believe that Courtney Love had 100% to do with it all. It wouldn't take any idiot to know that. All you have to do is read the book and see all of the compelling evidence that has been found and brought up to convict her. The only problem is that no one has enough guts to stand up against her but I have a feeling that one day we will be heard and that one day she will be brought down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Murder?? Oh please, April 18 2004
By 
Jacquie (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper (Paperback)
Okay, so there is evidence showing that the crime scene was swept, but befor police arrived there were private investigators,friends and family sent to the Cobain residence to search for him, NOT to mention the Courtney had called the police days befor Kurt had actually died, I find it hard to believe that Courtney who was in Los Angeles at the time of the "Suicide" had commited this alleged crime. I mean if anyone knew anything about Kurts life they would have known that Kurt didnt want Divorce, he said flat out numerous times " I would rather die then go through another divorce", Courtney organized interventions numerous times and was trying to stay clean. Kurt Cobain who was an amazing Musician,Father,Poet and friend to most.. did have major issues within himself, suicide?? uhh only mentioned in every interview the last 3 years of his life.
I mean its always fun to have speculation and listen to silly rumours about people knocking each other off but realisticly this book is nothing but that "Speculation".
Courtney Love is well lets say not the most loved woman in Rock and Roll, and to think just because she is famous the police would over look things is obsurd, if anything they would want to try harder to get her locked up.
This book is not worth reading unless you have a thrill for rumor.
I give this book a 0/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Puzzle for Generation X, Jan. 11 2004
By 
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper (Paperback)
The creative ideal seems to call upon many, though few respond. Among the few who do respond, fewer still seem to realize much of their creative potential. Those, like Kurt Cobain, who manage to reach the summit of their dreams, seem to face an even greater challenge of keeping that creative fire burning. When Nirvana splashed down into the musical scene of the early 90's, they sounded noisy and obnoxious to me. My son, who was ten years old at the time, said that lots of his friends were "into Nirvana." I decided to try and listen to the band and see if I could discern what all the fuss was about. This is when I heard "Heart Shaped Box." I was impressed. Shortly thereafter, I remember being up late one night with my wife, the TV on, and we just happened to catch the Nirvana Unplugged show. The acoustic presentation of their music brought out the melody and poetry behind the songs. Stripped of its electric armoring, one could glimpse the creative genius at work. At the same time, I found myself experiencing a sense of foreboding. How was this band going to survive the critical forces at work? I'd watched the Beatles come and go, finding themselves isolated because of Lennon's perceived slight of Jesus; then, toward the late 60's the passing of Brian Jones, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Jim Morrison....Like the "lone nut" theory that ended the life of JFK, these pop icons are supposed to have died because of the excesses of a rock and roll life style. When I heard that Kurt Cobain was now being added to the list of musicians dead at the age of 27, I found myself a bit cynical about the explanation being given for his death. That's one reason why I was drawn to read this book, "Who Killed Kurt Cobain?" At the very least, the authors have raised an interesting question. They may not have succeeded in answering it, but at least we have on record a fascinating inquest into an alternative, perhaps truer image of what happened to this very talented human being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read the book FIRST! ... Then watch the movie!, Oct. 21 2002
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper (Paperback)
... On page 197, the authors write: "After the show, viewers and listeners are traditionally asked to call a 900 number and register their votes for and against whatever question is asked on a particular show. At the end of our hour-long debate, the question was posed: "Should the case of Kurt Cobain's death be reopened by the police?" Thousands of people called to vote. The final result was 91 percent of the callers believed the case should indeed be reopened, with only 9 percent dissenting." ...
... You don't even have to read this whole book! ... Just read what is written in 4 places: pages 136 and 137, page 144, page 202, and the Epilogue. ... After doing so, you, too, may come to suspect that, like that other famously talented, blonde-haired, Pisces musician and band-founder - Brian Jones of The Rolling Stones - who also died in very suspicious circumstances, Kurt Cobain's death and alleged suicide may not have been a suicide at all! ... That's all I'm going to say. ... YOWZA! - The Aeolian Kid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting........, Sept. 25 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper (Paperback)
Some things which need pointing out before you read this book...
Kurt Cobain had 3 times the lethal dose of heroin (225 mgs) in his blood system. There were NO fingerprints on the shotgun, on the pen found with the "suicide" note, or the box of shotgun shells found beside Kurt. This indicates the crime scene was "swept" clean before the body was discovered. Eldon Hoke, singer of a band called the Mentors, claimed he was offered $50,000 by Courtney to kill Kurt in December 1993. On March 6, 1996, Hoke was administered a polygraph test by Dr. Edward Gelb, who is one of the country's leading polygraph experts and teaches the advanced polygraph course for the FBI. Hoke passed a lie detector test with 99.7% certainty that he was telling the truth. There is evidence that circumstances were manipulated to prevent Kurt from using his own car and gaining access to his own money in the days leading up to his death. Someone also attempted to use his credit card up until the morning of April 8th. Medical examiners determined Cobain had died on April 5th.
A little suspicious? That is just a few examples of the inconsistencies found in the SPD's investigation. You may want to check out justiceforkurt.com were there is also a rebuttals section - insuring it isn't overly biased information you are reading. There is obviously a lot more involved in this whole saga than meets the eye. WKKC is the best book that has been written about the cobain case led by Private Investigator Tom Grant, to this day. A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating and - amazingly - true murder mystery, Aug. 24 2001
By 
Nail Bunny (Poughkeepsie, NY, Marz) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper (Paperback)
I must advise anyone interested in buying this book to disregard anyone accusing it of being "tabloid" garbage. "Who Killed Kurt Cobain?" is wonderful and thorough journalism. Can one entirely trust a few websites blatantly accusing Courtney Love of the murder? How do you know that these people aren't biased against Love in the first place? What about one study that covers the heroin aspect of the case alone, entitled "Dead Men Don't Pull Triggers"? Or a documentary, that could very well have no factual information? Each of these sources alone doesn't pull enough of its own weight to prove much of anything, but this book is a compilation of all of it, going into detail about all of the different claims made by conspiracy theorists but leaving the reader to come up with his or her own conclusion. It was, as the back cover states, "meticulously researched." Completely unbiased and written in the manner in which one would expect award-winning journalists to write, "Who Killed Kurt Cobain?" makes no accusations. I was pleased to see that they added information about the lives of both Kurt and Courtney before Kurt's death to reveal their characters, thus shining some light on MOTIVE; why would Kurt commit suicide? Why would Courtney have him killed? Many have accused the first few biographical chapters to be nothing but re-statements of what everyone already knows, and that they don't go into as much detail as a full biography of Cobain. This is expected, and I - being only a casual fan of Nirvana - didn't know most of the biographical information. I'll be sure to check out "Come As You Are" for a more detailed story of Kurt's life. But in any case, this was not meant as a biography of Kurt Cobain OR a biography of Courtney Love, nor was it meant as a tool to convince people that Courtney Love killed her husband. It is, as I have said, a detailed compilation of the facts involving the case, and nothing more. Wallace and Halperin have written it for a noble purpose; for the same reasons that Tom Grant still pursues the case today: so that the many families of the copy-cat suicide victims all over the world can know the truth behind the reason their children killed themselves, and for Frances Bean who deserves to know how her father died. If defensive Courtney Love fans read it as a bunch of tabloid nonsense that blatantly accuses Love of murder, then perhaps Tom Grant is right on the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money!!!!!, June 21 2000
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain (Hardcover)
Trust me when I say:DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!! Do you think Kurt would have wanted garbadge like this written about him? The only reason everyone points the finger at Courtney is because they want someone to blame. They don't want to think that someone they loved would leave them so violently in the cold. Kurt Cobain had attempted suicide before and if you've read the book NOTHING ELSE MATTERS by Bev Cobain then you know Kurt was not the only one to commit suicide in his family. Kurt's own MOTHER has said that if it wasn't for Courtney he would've ended his life earlier. Are you going to trust Kurt's MOTHER or a bunch of dimwitted people who have never met Kurt before in their life? This book only quotes Kurt from the Come As You Are book by Michael Azerrad, which you should all buy instead. Remember all the "evidence" that they are talking about is CIRCUMSTANTIAL. It is said by Sergeant Cameron in 1994 to the Seattle Post-Intelligencer that the forensic evidence in the case makes murder nearly IMPOSSIBLE. Courtney wishes it be private and we should respect that. This wHOLE book bases itself on rumours and I repeat CIRCUMSTANTIAL "evidence". If it's circumstantial then it is just another theory in a long list of conspiracies that have no REAL evidence. Don't waste your money!!! Hey, at least you didn't spend $30 on the hardcover like i did. All in all, it's your choice if you want to buy this book or not. But if you do then have a good laugh. I know I did!!! Peace, love, empathy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper
Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper by Ian Halperin (Paperback - Jan. 1 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 1.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews