Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars ¿?Who KILLED Kurt Cobain¿?
"Who Killed Kurt Cobain (The Mysterious Death of an Icon)" is a very well-written book. I must say that the author(s) of this book really did a great job. This book looks at all points of view, from Courtney Love to the band members, to the family, to the media, and even to Kurt himself. This book gives just about everyone a chance to say what they think happened to Kurt,...
Published on May 4 2002 by Ima_princess27

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Skip the first 1/2
I barely made it through the biographies of Kurt and Courtney (which take up the first 1/2 of the book), but I'm glad I did. The last 1/2 deals with the tabloid-esque title very well. Interesting coincidences and possible cover-ups are revealed. It was enough to make me think twice about Kurt's death.
Published on March 16 2000 by Anne


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars ¿?Who KILLED Kurt Cobain¿?, May 4 2002
By 
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper (Paperback)
"Who Killed Kurt Cobain (The Mysterious Death of an Icon)" is a very well-written book. I must say that the author(s) of this book really did a great job. This book looks at all points of view, from Courtney Love to the band members, to the family, to the media, and even to Kurt himself. This book gives just about everyone a chance to say what they think happened to Kurt, and then presents evidence to prove/disprove theories. This book is a very interesting book I would recommend it to anyone who wants to get an understanding on what happened to Kurt. This book really does not state weather Kurt was killed or not, it just lays out some evidence and theories and let's you decide what you think really happened. It is an over-all good read, and I hope someday the case can be re-opened to see WHO KILLED KURT COBAIN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Decide for yourself, April 9 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain (Hardcover)
This book is interesting, informative, and written with a lucidity that is hard to find in the nonfiction genre. If you are reading it for entertainment or as a fan of Kurt and Nirvana, it definitely holds up to the good reviews.
Regardless of the bias you may already have before reading the book - be a filter, not a sponge (as Stephen Chobosky tells us).
Read the good and bad customer feedback, but bear in mind that some of the negitive feedback is hardly intelligible (such as glaring spelling mistakes) and more difficult to read through.
As a highly literate college student and a bookstore employee - I rate this book five bright stars out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking examination of the death of Kurt Cobain, April 11 1998
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain (Hardcover)
When the rock icon of a generation dies, media attention isinevitable. In April 1994, the death of Kurt Cobain created a tidalwave of attention. Thousands of fans mourned Cobain, the lead singer of the band Nirvana, a group often credited with pioneering the Seattle grunge scene.
More than 65 young people eventually followed their hero into death, committing "copycat" suicides.
Cobain's death was a sensational and strange tale that inspired passionate debates about suicide, the emptiness of the 90s generation, and the responsibilities of pop culture heroes.
Cobain, who died at the age of 27, was a brilliant and creative man who led an emotionally troubled life. He was a heroin user who reportedly committed suicide, leaving a young daughter and wife behind. Days before he died he had disappeared from an L.A. drug treatment center.
The book "Who Killed Kurt Cobain? The Mysterious Death of an Icon" does not answer the question posed by its title. But it does provide compelling reasons why the investigation into his death should be reopened.
The book relates biographical information about Kurt Cobain and his wife Courtney Love; the events leading up to his death; information and insights gleaned from friends, relatives and people who had been in contact with the couple; and professional opinions from experts in various fields, including pathology and graphology.
Many people who knew Cobain do not believe that he killed himself. Either does Tom Grant, a private investigator hired by Courtney Love to find Cobain after he left the drug treatment center. Grant does not accept the verdict of suicide and has done everything in his power to convince the authorities to reopen the investigation into Cobain's death. Grant's involvement in the case and his crusade are explained in great detail. The address for Grant's Internet website, which receives up to one million hits a year, is listed.
Compelling arguments are presented to disprove the suicide verdict, which was arrived at very quickly after Cobain's death. The medical examiner at the scene, coincidentally, was a friend of Courtney Love's. According to the expert cited in the book, Cobain could not have shot himself with a shotgun given the amount of heroin found in his body: he would have passed out immediately after receiving that amount of the drug.
A musician who passed a lie detector test stating that Courtney Love had offered him several thousand dollars to kill Cobain was found dead under strange circumstances only weeks later.
There were no fingerprints found on the shotgun that inflicted a wound on Cobain, and what about the so-called suicide note? For starters it does not sound like a suicide note, but rather a note declaring his intention to quit the music business. And then there are the two apparently distinct sets of handwriting on this note, which is reproduced in a photograph.
The book focuses a great deal of suspicion on Courtney Love and her sometimes bizarre behavior before and after Cobain's death. In fact, Love's father is on record stating that he believes his daughter murdered her husband. Shockingly, Grant implicates Love in both the death of her husband as well as her bandmate in the group Hole, Kristen Pfaff.
"Who Killed Kurt Cobain?" was written by two Canadian investigative journalists, Ian Halperin and Max Wallace. Halperin and Wallaces were cowinners of the "Rolling Stone" magazine Award for Investigative Journalism. No concrete proof of the murder theory is contained within the book, although the information is well presented.
"Who Killed Kurt Cobain?" will definitely be of interest to Nirvana fans, and to those who like to ponder real-life mysteries. Because the death of Kurt Cobain was as tragic as it was mysterious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Most In-Depth Kurt Cobain story, Oct. 23 2005
By 
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper (Paperback)
I borrowed this book off of a friend and it is by FAR the most in-depth story of Kurt Cobain's life to date. I have read every book and seen/heard everything he has done and everything about him and this is a MUST READ for any Kurt/Nirvana fan. No other book has such detail about his life and the author did an excellent job with his research. I personally enjoyed the stories never-told before from his childhood and teenage years.
I am definetly going to get my own copy ASAP so I can read it many more times. A++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Want the TRUTH? read Kurts Journals!, June 22 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper (Paperback)
i believe the authors of any "murder theory" books are trying to make some money while raping Kurt in the process. Kurt felt like he was being raped by the media since Nevermind broke out, and now 10 years later, its still happening. I think the authors need to read Kurts Journals. There's even a time where he says "I bought a gun today and was going to kill myself, but I have a baby coming soon, so I got some herion instead". Read the journals for the truth. Its the truth from Kurt, not the guys who are raping him. You will also see his handwriting in the journals. The SAME handwriting that the authors say wasnt his (in the sucide note). You can tell when Kurt is on drugs by the difference of things he writes about and his handwriting. In Utero was originally titled "I hate myself and want to die", that sounds pretty straight forward to me. Kurt busted out of rehab and killed himself the next week. Why was Courtney calling Tom Grant? Because her husband busted out of rehab and he's mentally unstable. It makes sense. If Tom Grant had all this evidence with cassett tapes, why didnt se give them to the police? Why is it taken 10 years for this information to come out? For me, that doesnt add up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars what I thought, May 3 2004
By 
weerez (Mesa, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper (Paperback)
I thought this book was awesome. It helped me get an understanding of his life and death. I am now convinced that he was murdered and if you read this book, I hope you will too. Nirvana is one of my favorite bands even though I don't know much about them and when my sister got this book, I started reading it and knew alot within the first chapter. This book has a lot of details about ways it could've been a murder and I seriously think Courtney Love had something to do with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Truest book I have ever read, April 30 2004
By 
Taylor Miller (Temple City, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper (Paperback)
This is by far one of the truest books I have ever read in my life. Kurt Cobain is my hero and he has changed my life in so many ways that you*will never understand. He was uaken from life way too soon and he will always be remembered. Courtney Love may have been able to get away with his murder for now but one day, she will be brought to justice and all of the TRUE Nirvana fans will be waiting for that day to come. I believe that even though Kurt is no longer physically with us, and Courtney may have been able to take him away, he will always be in our hearts and you can never take that from us! I strongly believe that Kurt Cobain was murdered and I strongley believe that Courtney Love had 100% to do with it all. It wouldn't take any idiot to know that. All you have to do is read the book and see all of the compelling evidence that has been found and brought up to convict her. The only problem is that no one has enough guts to stand up against her but I have a feeling that one day we will be heard and that one day she will be brought down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Murder?? Oh please, April 18 2004
By 
Jacquie (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper (Paperback)
Okay, so there is evidence showing that the crime scene was swept, but befor police arrived there were private investigators,friends and family sent to the Cobain residence to search for him, NOT to mention the Courtney had called the police days befor Kurt had actually died, I find it hard to believe that Courtney who was in Los Angeles at the time of the "Suicide" had commited this alleged crime. I mean if anyone knew anything about Kurts life they would have known that Kurt didnt want Divorce, he said flat out numerous times " I would rather die then go through another divorce", Courtney organized interventions numerous times and was trying to stay clean. Kurt Cobain who was an amazing Musician,Father,Poet and friend to most.. did have major issues within himself, suicide?? uhh only mentioned in every interview the last 3 years of his life.
I mean its always fun to have speculation and listen to silly rumours about people knocking each other off but realisticly this book is nothing but that "Speculation".
Courtney Love is well lets say not the most loved woman in Rock and Roll, and to think just because she is famous the police would over look things is obsurd, if anything they would want to try harder to get her locked up.
This book is not worth reading unless you have a thrill for rumor.
I give this book a 0/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What Really Happened???, March 14 2004
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper (Paperback)
Interesting book, recommended for any one who has an interest in Kurt Cobain, especially if you think it was suicide read this and seek some interesting facts about the dead of a rock legend. The book covers Kurt's childhood, his early day's, his marriage, the crime scene, and what happened after his death.
Very good book all should read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for any Nirvana fan, Jan. 23 2004
This review is from: Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper (Paperback)
This book is worth every cent you pay for. The authors Ian Halperin and Max Wallace have did some great investgating work and writing. It not only gives you facts, quotes from the people who knew Kurt best, to reviling reasons why the case should be reopend. It even gives you insight on Kurts and Courtneys lifes. This is a great book and is far better from the crap called HTH aka heavier than heaven which is very poorly writin. You want a real book in dealing with the Kurt cobain case? Then look no further, this is the book for you. And if you believe Kurt Cobain was murdered then sign this petition at, [...] This petition is being taking cared of by Nirvana fans who want justice for Kurt and will be sent out. You may have to cut and paste the link. Please sign and buy this book, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc1b16eb4)

This product

Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper
Who Killed Kurt Cobain? Paper by Ian Halperin (Paperback - Jan. 1 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 7.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews