Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw & Honest
I finished this book within 2 days (and one of those days I worked).....I loved the honesty and the story of an ordinary man's struggles in life with the backdrop of my favourite sport, baseball. One page I'd be laughing & the next I'd be reading through tears. I learned a lot about life in the minor leagues, even more about Dirk himself, but surprisingly I learned a...
Published on March 27 2010 by P. Cumming

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Insight into the ups and downs of a career minor league relief pitcher...
AM-590 SportsTalkRadio (Toronto) baseball analyst Dirk Hayhurst relates his own not-so-brilliant career as a minor-league (sometimes Big League) reliever, discussing the (sometimes dashed frequently checkered) careers of baseball hopefuls. It includes being compelled to live with a nagging and aging female relative, who made his life miserable while he was trying to get...
Published 2 months ago by Canuck Teach


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw & Honest, March 27 2010
By 
P. Cumming "Pat__C" (Burlington, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bullpen Gospels, The (Paperback)
I finished this book within 2 days (and one of those days I worked).....I loved the honesty and the story of an ordinary man's struggles in life with the backdrop of my favourite sport, baseball. One page I'd be laughing & the next I'd be reading through tears. I learned a lot about life in the minor leagues, even more about Dirk himself, but surprisingly I learned a lot about myself and how I look at things in life. A really great read. (And just to show the span of appeal, I'd like to mention that I'm a 50+ female.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST read book, Feb. 14 2012
This review is from: Bullpen Gospels, The (Paperback)
Hayhurst's intimate view of minor league baseball is beautifully written and provides readers with edge of their seat in game excitement that makes you feel as though you were there for the games and are re-living the experience. He intertwined comedic "relief" with pertinent life advice so seamlessly that it makes this one of the best books I've ever had the pleasure to read. I'm really looking forward to reading his next books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Insight into the ups and downs of a career minor league relief pitcher..., July 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bullpen Gospels, The (Paperback)
AM-590 SportsTalkRadio (Toronto) baseball analyst Dirk Hayhurst relates his own not-so-brilliant career as a minor-league (sometimes Big League) reliever, discussing the (sometimes dashed frequently checkered) careers of baseball hopefuls. It includes being compelled to live with a nagging and aging female relative, who made his life miserable while he was trying to get his career on track. There are some off-colour anecdotes and salty language - not for the faint of heart, I can assure you. Finally, a championship in the minor leagues, and some welcome 'call-ups' to the big leagues. Insightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book, July 6 2014
Great read. Especially getting to hear the struggles not just the triumphs. Comedic value helped this book along as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nails!!!, May 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
No expectations going into this read, I love baseball and figured the reviews were great. No brainier good baseball book right? Baseball was great in the read, but the struggle and life lessons trumped everything else. You gotta love a surprise like that! Empathy is an author's binding agent and I was crazy glued to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A True Picture of Baseball, Dec 31 2012
By 
Barry Francis (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bullpen Gospels, The (Paperback)
In his tell-all best seller, The Bullpen Gospels, Dirk Hayhurst provides an unexpurgated account of minor league baseball and the colorful characters who endure it. It's a hilarious chronicle of the rituals, the seamy hotels and dressing rooms, the bus rides and the general x-rated behavior that prevails. Most of all it's about dreams mostly unfulfilled. It's been called a true picture of baseball. The names have been changed but the story is real.

Barry Francis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Baseball Fans, March 30 2010
By 
Sean C. Watson (Hamilton, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bullpen Gospels, The (Paperback)
The meat of this story is how baseball figures into Hayhurst's life, something that seems like it would be obvious seeing as how he's a pro ball player and all, but turns out to be much more complex. Some of the biggest stand-out moments of the story don't really have much to do with baseball at all. The book manages to craft together the dark and depressing with the light and humorous without either ever overpowering the other. A lot of authors would get too caught up with the dark stuff and focus on the difficulties involved in the story and it's nice to see that Hayhurst can keep the story true to life simply by not losing perspective.

The book starts out by telling us that the book is not about scandal or drugs in baseball and that's entirely true. However, it does give perspective and from that it becomes more clear why some of the players might turn to drugs. Hayhurst gives an unflinching look at how much hinges on a day's success or failure how much pressure a professional athlete can put on themselves to succeed and how unforgiving they can be to themselves when they don't. After looking at things like this, you can start to see why players can buckle and do anything they can to try and give themselves a little bit extra on their swing or a few more mph on their fastball.

So, if you've ever wondered what it's like to play in the minor leagues, this book will show you everything, from the worst to the best. More than that though, it really does make you think about how we deal with disappointment and excitement and lets us see how sometimes we can lose sight of what's most important. It was a brave book to write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really entertaining!, Aug. 3 2010
By 
This review is from: Bullpen Gospels, The (Paperback)
I read this book over the august long weekend and had no problems finishing. I am not much of a reader but picked a book on sports since everyone else on the beach would be reading as well. This book is based more on human interactions than it is on baseball. Dirk even states this in the first chapter. The interactions of the players on the long bus trips were hilarious and it always seemed that somehow chasing a girl was involved. There were some serious aspects to the book with regards to finding one's self mentally and a dysfunctional family life. A lot of people can relate to having family issues (except a lucky few).

I highly recommend this book to the guy who doesn't read much but likes movies like the hangover, old school, american pie etc...Perfect for the beach, plane or train!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baseball from the other side., May 9 2010
By 
R. J. Richmond "MLB dad" (Sussex, NB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bullpen Gospels, The (Paperback)
Hayhurst is a gifted writer first. His writing clearly demonstrates that he is observant, introspective, and sensitive; he also happens to be a baseball player.
He was hardly your typical baseball minor leaguer however, in a Bull Durham world with its frat house like environment at times, Hayhurst, the atypical non drinking virgin, has been able to document aspects of the turmoil of his personal life, and relate vignettes of hilarious experiences shared with team mates, from a fly on the wall perspective, without appearing supercilious, because he is one of this eclectic bunch all chasing the same dream.
His self effacing chronicle of a season in the minor leagues will touch the full range of your emotions, from roaring with laughter in one chapter to tearing up in the next. It's bound to become an American classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a masterpiece!, April 11 2010
By 
This review is from: Bullpen Gospels, The (Paperback)
This book may appear to be about baseball, and (since at times baseball frames it so thoroughly) it can and will thrill the ball fan, it is more fundamentally about life, identity, and coming to terms with successes, failures, trials, tribulations, hardship, and the 'real world' in ways that can equally make you shed a tear or bellow out raucous laughter!

It's been years since I have read a book that has challenged me in so many ways, while simultaneously entertaining me so thoroughly!

A true pleasure to read, and one deserved of all the high praise it has received!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bullpen Gospels, The
Bullpen Gospels, The by Dirk Hayhurst (Paperback - March 30 2010)
CDN$ 17.95 CDN$ 12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews