Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full color-photos sorted by season. Nuff said.
This book features color photos almost exclusively, and each entry has the common name, scientific name, region of proliferation, as well as preperation and foraging tips.

I did a *lot* of research before buying this book, and the main thing I appreciated was the fact that the book has full-color pictures. My only caveat would be that the description said...
Published on March 16 2010 by Jason A. Martin

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only Fair for Identification
Identification of edible species is what I want, with emphasis on the first word. From my experience in identifying tree species and other plant ID handbooks, I'd call this one mediocre. The photos are often close-ups with no indication of scale, so size is unknown. Details are not included. Root structure and overall plant structure are seldom shown. ID often...
Published on Sept. 6 2002 by William H. Mills


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full color-photos sorted by season. Nuff said., March 16 2010
By 
Jason A. Martin "Anjohl" (Torbay, NL, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book features color photos almost exclusively, and each entry has the common name, scientific name, region of proliferation, as well as preperation and foraging tips.

I did a *lot* of research before buying this book, and the main thing I appreciated was the fact that the book has full-color pictures. My only caveat would be that the description said "north eastern" North America, yet only a small percentage of Atlantic Canadian plants are featured. Still a 5-star book in my honest opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only Fair for Identification, Sept. 6 2002
By 
William H. Mills "stasi2" (Alexandria, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edible Wild Plants: A North American Field Guide (Paperback)
Identification of edible species is what I want, with emphasis on the first word. From my experience in identifying tree species and other plant ID handbooks, I'd call this one mediocre. The photos are often close-ups with no indication of scale, so size is unknown. Details are not included. Root structure and overall plant structure are seldom shown. ID often depends on flowers, present only for a few weeks of the year. Variation among species is so widespread that I'd recommend at least two good books, with better illustrations than those found here. Drawings, though not "natural", often provide better clues to identity by showing roots, structure, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You will need internet or more books to complete your information, Nov. 24 2013
By 
rachelleme - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a really good book. One star knocked off for having pictures of the plants in question done at only one stage of their life/year. You'll need to be identify it when it looks different so more picture books, or internet image searches will supplement this book quite nicely. It tells where the plant is located, how to use it, and any cautions you should be aware of.
I borrowed it from my local library, first, before buying, To be sure it was what I wanted. And sure enough, it's worth getting. I'm pleased I've got a copy of my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must own for the rural person who eats wild foods, July 10 2004
What makes this book rare and most useful is the listings are by the four seasons as well as habitat or areas grown or found in, so you know when to actually look for a specific plant. There is a small symbol next to each plant to show you how the plant can be utilized, like foraging for food, medicinal etc. I also like that the book covers look alike, since this may well save your life. The graphics used etc are superb. And the recipes are useful. This is one of those books any self sufficient rural or mountain person will own and use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never judge a book by it's cover..., Nov. 18 2008
This review is from: Edible Wild Plants: A North American Field Guide (Paperback)
I really enjoy using this field guide, it has a lot of listings and even helped me identify a few I didn't know. This book has squeezed in its pages so many entries and still it manages to maintain a personal touch, as if the authors have actually tried the edibles themselves.
The 'edible-use' symbols are especially helpful, they are simple to understand and nicely located on the page edges. The hundreds of photos are great (except the 4 or 5 that are in black and white??), of course you need good pictures when you are identifying wild edibles.
Lastly though, read the book thoroughly, front to back. At least 4 of the pretty plants shown on the cover(s)are poison (and listed as such at the back section of the book). The photos are beautiful, but I was surprised to find that they made the front and back cover of a book with the name "Edible Wild Plants".
Happy foraging, use caution of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must' for people interested in edible wild plants, June 12 2004
This review is from: Edible Wild Plants: A North American Field Guide (Paperback)
My only regret about this book is that it isn't longer!
The plants are organized by season, and every plant has a small map to show what regions it grows in. There is a very nice, good sized picture of each plant, and most of them are in color. Information is also provided about harvesting, how to prepare the plant, and poisonous look alikes, if any.
The plants are listed by their common names, but the latin names are listed as well. Plants can be located by either name in the index.
If you are interested in edible wild plants, this book is a great value for a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Survival guide -- or what to eat when..., April 27 2002
This review is from: Edible Wild Plants: A North American Field Guide (Paperback)
While you may find that something that is growing in your own back yard could cut down on the grocery bill, this book is also a great tool for a writer, and that is my view.
Wild Plants is divided by seasons, and what is edible just in case you are surviving in nature's wonderland without fast food places just three miles down the road. On the other hand, what to eat when a flood in ... well, any place that strands your protagonists for weeks.
The color photographs show the shapes and colors of the leaves and berries, which makes describing a meal easier. A map of the U. S. is coded to show you where the plants are likely to grow. Additionally, there are many details about the plants, such as what part to eat and whether it can be a full meal or just a salad. One of the most important details included about the plants is a list of poisonous look-alikes. For example the Eastern camass, Camass Lily is edible during all seasons; the baked bulbs are very dark and sugary, but baking to perfection takes 1-3 days. However, the bulbs are palatable raw, or can be boiled in 25-30 minutes. The look-alike Death Camass has several differences, one being that the edible plant has blue flowers in the spring; so what does your hungry character eat while escaping?
A section about poisonous plants describes twenty that are toxic, and that grow beside the ones you can eat. Nature provides its own clue about the plants. By watching what and when the birds and wild life eat the odds decrease of choosing the wrong plant. There is a great picture of the Death Camass that grows in the west and north west states, as indicated by the map. "All twelve of the native Zigadenus species should be considered extremely poisonous." They contain alkaloids that can cause gastrointestinal distress that can lead to death.
Enjoy the recipes, or cook them up for your characters. I give this five stars for photography, information, and an easy to use reference book.
Victoria Tarrani
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't go camping without this one, April 7 2002
By 
Jessica Ferguson "threelittlebirds" (Woodbury, NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edible Wild Plants: A North American Field Guide (Paperback)
This Outdoor Life Book, while it follows the typical field guide format with nice glossy pages and clear, crisp color identification photos with full plant descriptions, is jam-packed with not only the picture, plant name, habitat, and identification details but goes in-depth to clearly define those PARTS of the plant that are edible and how to prepare them (sometimes even including simple recipes). This guide is the most detailed edible plant guide I have found and offers great "extras" like a quick key guide that allows you to identify if a plant is trail nibble, salad addition, cooked green, underground vegetable, fritter, raw fruit, cooked fruit, jams/jellies/sauces, syrup/sugar, candy, grain, nuts/seeds, flour/meal, hot beverage, cold beverage, pickle, seasoning, or thickener. The "Poisonous look-alikes" feature is an added attraction within each plant description and there is also an entire poisonous plant section so there will be no mistake that what you have found Mother Nature meant you to harvest. A fabulous handbook for gardeners, hikers, and cooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a book that all who play outdoors ought to have., July 2 1998
This review is from: Edible Wild Plants: A North American Field Guide (Paperback)
I bought this book to use to gather wild plants for making homemade wines, but now it's a companion whenever I go hiking, fishing, camping, or merely sightseeing. It's that valuable!
The book is divided into an introductory section, guides to harvesting plants in each of the four seasons, the plants themselves (also presented seasonally), poisonous plants, a nutritional guide, and two great indices. The introduction includes great tips on how to prepare wild foods as drinks, snacks, entres, and condiments, along with recipes for 25 jellies, 20 jams and 17 fruit and berry pies. But the good part is yet to come.
Each plant is presented with a good-to-excellent photograph, a distribution map (so a person in the Pacific Northwest doesn't have to wonder whether he or she is looking at a squashberry or a hobblebush berry), a complete description, identification of the edible parts, harvest and preparation notes, related species, and poisonous look-alikes (if any). The presentations are just excellent. My only complaint is that the book isn't twice as thick.
Whether you just want to be prepared for emergencies or you want to collect wild edibles for making jams, jellies, pies, and wine, this book is one of the only two you'll probably need. The other is a good regional guide, because with over 20,000 species of plants to choose from north of the Rio Grande alone, a guide to regional edibles is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great edible wild plant book; pictures, not drawings., March 5 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Edible Wild Plants: A North American Field Guide (Paperback)
This book is a well-organized listing of edible wild plants in North America. Listings are by season, so you know when to look for a specific plant. Habitat is described including a quick reference range map of North America, as are how to harvest, prepare, and store foods for future use. A symbol key at the left of each plant will tell you at a glance what uses you can put a plant to; trail nibble, potherb, etc. Related edible and poisonous look alikes are also listed. This book utilizes pictures, something none of the other books I looked at did. I think this makes identification of plants much easier than relying on someone's black and white sketch or colored pencil rendering of something wild that I'm plan to eat. The one down side to this is that some of the pictures could be much better; about a dozen pictures are black and white, while others show the plant only at a distance which might make identification problematical. However, scientific names are provided, and if you have the luxury of time, you can do a search online for a more precise picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edible Wild Plants: A North American Field Guide
Edible Wild Plants: A North American Field Guide by Peter Dykeman (Paperback - Dec 31 1990)
Used & New from: CDN$ 16.30
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews