Customer Reviews


508 Reviews
5 star:
 (381)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History lesson in an exciting form
As Hitler secretly prepared to round up all the Jews of Denmark, someone (to this day no one knows who, although there are some theories) warned the government. The result is that almost all of the 7,500 Jewish people living in Denmark managed to escape the country in the space of a few days, even though the country was already under the occupation of watchful Nazi...
Published on July 15 2004 by Megan

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Number The Stars
Number The Stars is a very good book wrighten by Lois Lowry.
This is a very good and interesting book about World War Two and what the German's did to the Jews, and how Hitles wanted to eliminate all Jews. German Solders are on every corner to watch and control everything the people would do. The book took place in Denmark. Some of the main characters are Annemarie...
Published on April 10 2003 by Aaron Berlin


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History lesson in an exciting form, July 15 2004
By 
As Hitler secretly prepared to round up all the Jews of Denmark, someone (to this day no one knows who, although there are some theories) warned the government. The result is that almost all of the 7,500 Jewish people living in Denmark managed to escape the country in the space of a few days, even though the country was already under the occupation of watchful Nazi troops.
This book is about that escape. Annmarie is 10 years old and lives in the same appartment building as her best friend, Ellen, who is Jewish. One day, Ellen's parents must flee and Ellen moves in with Annmarie and pretends to be her dead sister. Annmarie, her parents, and her little sister must band together with the rest of the Danish resistance to get Ellen to safety.
This is an exciting, fast-paced book about bravery and doing what's right. The characters are very realistic and human. This is an inspiring story for any child, and it teaches a very interesting history lesson to any adult who might not know the story of how practically no Danish Jews died under Hitler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast shipping, great condition., Sept. 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Number the Stars (Hardcover)
I ordered this book, thinking it would take a long time to recieve it. I got it within a week and beating the estimated time frame. I hadnt read it for years and the minute i opened the first page I was reading pages till i hit the end. Great read and the condion was amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, July 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Number the Stars (Paperback)
An absolute classic and a fantastic novel for use in school. The book can be taught from multiple perspectives and its various themes (friendship, patriotism, genocide) offer a lot of great talking points. You could give this book to a student between grade 5-8 and they could enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, April 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Number the Stars (Kindle Edition)
great. I love it. it's great, I really don't know what to say. I think it good education. I wanted to learn just what that book tot me. I hate death but that's part of war's. lessons are good things to learn. it had great detail witch made it interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Number The Stars, April 10 2003
By 
Number The Stars is a very good book wrighten by Lois Lowry.
This is a very good and interesting book about World War Two and what the German's did to the Jews, and how Hitles wanted to eliminate all Jews. German Solders are on every corner to watch and control everything the people would do. The book took place in Denmark. Some of the main characters are Annemarie Johansen, a ten year old girl, that is growing up at the time of the war in 1943.
Annemarie's best friend was a Jew, the solders came to the room and ...... read Number The Stars by Lois Lowry to find out what happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Number the Stars, Jan. 7 2003
By A Customer
I liked the book, even though it is typically not my type of book. Number the Stars is a good book to learn about World War II. The reason why I liked this book is because one family is trying to save another family from the Nazis. They had to go through a lot of
trouble to get them safely to Sweden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top rate!, Oct. 14 2011
This review is from: Number the Stars (Audio CD)
This is my favourite kids book and I was a little bit nervous that whoever was reading it on the audio might not do it justice, but when I listened to it, I was really impressed. It was interesting to listen to. They did an awesome job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Book, Dec 14 2008
While the book is mostly fiction, it is based on historic events, and whether you like to read about this period in history, or just enjoy short stories, this is a fun book to read. Its not the most exciting book on the subject out there, but the story is easy to follow and the characters are relatively well developed.

I especially enjoyed the authors afterword, where she explains which parts of the story were fact and fiction, as it helps the reader consider the events and historical significance of an infrequently written about area (geographically) of the war.

Though the book should not be viewed as a history book per se, it is well worth the read, even for adults. Also, the story may initiate further reading outside of school for young adults or teens interested in this period of history.

The only real annoyance with the book was the quality of the printing on some pages, as the letters were not always crisp and clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Introduction to WWII and Holocaust, Oct. 13 2006
By 
V. Weale "History Junkie" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Number the Stars (Paperback)
I first read this book in grade four along with the rest of my class. I immediately fell in love with it and have read it again and again over the years. Number the Stars is an excellent introduction of the Second World War and the Holocaust for children, as events are described without becoming too gruesome. Written from a child's perspective, the important questions are evolked without being too harsh for a child to comprehend. The fact that the question of 'why' this happened is not easily answered reveals the truth of the situation. 'Why' can never be answered in a satisfactory manner and children are carefully eased towards this notion. Also helpful for children, this book ends with a tainted yet happy ending. Children are comforted by a happy ending and Lowry creates one out of a dark time. Personally, this book got me interested in learning more about the Holocaust and WWII, leading to my position as a university student of history focusing on the Holocaust. This book is an excellent starting point for teaching children about this dark point in humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars girls in a really hard place to be, June 27 2004
By A Customer
This book is exciting and scary. To think girls really had to llive like this is sad but it is a good book. I liked the way they took in the girl to stay with them and the way a girl had to do something scary to try and save her firend form the nazis. If you like this book you will also maybe like other books about girls in hard places to be like Camp of the angel and the bears house as well as pictures of hollis woods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Number the Stars
Number the Stars by Lois Lowry (Audio Cassette - Jan. 13 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews