Customer Reviews


510 Reviews
5 star:
 (382)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History lesson in an exciting form
As Hitler secretly prepared to round up all the Jews of Denmark, someone (to this day no one knows who, although there are some theories) warned the government. The result is that almost all of the 7,500 Jewish people living in Denmark managed to escape the country in the space of a few days, even though the country was already under the occupation of watchful Nazi...
Published on July 15 2004 by Megan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Zelda's Review
Number the Stars was a pretty good book. Although some parts were sad and may have made me realize certain things that happened around WWII, I still liked it . It's hard to describe the way I felt about it though. I mean, I liked it , but some parts of it were just slow moving and sad. That is why I only give it three stars. It really did make me realize what many people...
Published on Nov. 25 2002 by zelda


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History lesson in an exciting form, July 15 2004
By 
As Hitler secretly prepared to round up all the Jews of Denmark, someone (to this day no one knows who, although there are some theories) warned the government. The result is that almost all of the 7,500 Jewish people living in Denmark managed to escape the country in the space of a few days, even though the country was already under the occupation of watchful Nazi troops.
This book is about that escape. Annmarie is 10 years old and lives in the same appartment building as her best friend, Ellen, who is Jewish. One day, Ellen's parents must flee and Ellen moves in with Annmarie and pretends to be her dead sister. Annmarie, her parents, and her little sister must band together with the rest of the Danish resistance to get Ellen to safety.
This is an exciting, fast-paced book about bravery and doing what's right. The characters are very realistic and human. This is an inspiring story for any child, and it teaches a very interesting history lesson to any adult who might not know the story of how practically no Danish Jews died under Hitler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Introduction to WWII and Holocaust, Oct. 13 2006
By 
V. Weale "History Junkie" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Number the Stars (Paperback)
I first read this book in grade four along with the rest of my class. I immediately fell in love with it and have read it again and again over the years. Number the Stars is an excellent introduction of the Second World War and the Holocaust for children, as events are described without becoming too gruesome. Written from a child's perspective, the important questions are evolked without being too harsh for a child to comprehend. The fact that the question of 'why' this happened is not easily answered reveals the truth of the situation. 'Why' can never be answered in a satisfactory manner and children are carefully eased towards this notion. Also helpful for children, this book ends with a tainted yet happy ending. Children are comforted by a happy ending and Lowry creates one out of a dark time. Personally, this book got me interested in learning more about the Holocaust and WWII, leading to my position as a university student of history focusing on the Holocaust. This book is an excellent starting point for teaching children about this dark point in humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Number the Stars, March 22 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Number the Stars (Audio Cassette)
Number the Stars, is a very good book! It was an exciting book that kept me interested to keep reading, at some parts i thought the Germans would figure out the Johansens and take Ellen away. And that made me interested to keep reading and kept me at the end of my seat. This book was set back in Copenhagen, Denmark. During World War two, and the Germans have taken over Copenhagen and they are to prison all Jews in Copenhagen. (...). As i read and read, the book seemed alived to me, i felt like i was there, and Lowis Lowry made you picture everything in my mind.
In this booke, Number the Stars, it gives a lot of descriptive words. And this book makes you think and care about the world. It makes you think about the world during World War two. All books has some kind of purpose and meaning towards the book. And this book i think, teaches you about life, and how the world has changed and puts you in Annamarie Johansen's shoes. And picture things through her eyes. She would do anything to save her best friend Ellen, from the Germans. And this story i liked a lot because it was interesting and thrilling at the same time. And this book was meaningful to me, because it shows even though Ellen was a Jew, Annamarie would do anything to save her life, even if it took her own. She loved Ellen like a sister and this book gave a lot of truce to it, and it seems like this book was real, or it really happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars number the stars deserves five stars for a rating, March 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Number the Stars (Audio CD)
If you haven't lived through World War II then you need to read Number the Stars by Lois Lowry, and discover what life was like in Copenhagen, Denmark. Ten-year-old Annemarie Johansen and her best friend Ellen Rosen are threatened when the Jews of Denmark are being "relocated." Annemarie must find the strength and courage to save Ellen's life while putting her life in great danger. However, Annemarie knows that not knowing everything sometimes makes you braver, this information could help Annemarie on her dangerous mission.
Number the Stars is definitely a MUST READ book! Lois Lowry made me feel like I was right in Copenhagen and I felt exactly how Annemarie felt. Lois Lowry's demonstration of the true meaning of friendship is inspiring. Annemarie was the character that showed the true meaning of friendship when she risked her life to save Ellen's. Annemarie Johansen is the reason I wanted to keep flipping through the pages. She tries to be brave even when she was extremely terrified. You must read this book!
The author of Number the Stars, Lois Lowry, is an interesting individual. Lois Lowry wanted to be a writer since she was eight years old. She was a solitary child that grew up in a world of books and imagination. I love the book Number the Stars and I think you will too, so pick up a copy and read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars mentioned about people's feelings, Nov. 23 2003
By 
nacchi (East lansing, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This book was written by Lois Lowry and it received the Newbery Medal for this book. She also wrote many other popular books for young readers. This book was also for young readers, and I think it is good for people who are learning English as a second language like me.The setting of this book is in 1943 when World War‡Uwas happened. The scene was Denmark where the Jews were discriminated against by the Nazi occupation. This story is about how the main character, Annemarie will help her friends and Jews.However, I think what the author really wanted to say was little different. I think the main theme of this story was about people's senses. For example,�git is much easier to be brave if you do not know everything�hand �gTo be brave came more easily if you knew nothing�h.This means, it is sometimes better that you don�ft really know about something, even if you want to. Also sometimes people can act bravely if people don�ft know everything. The author mentioned about these senses sevral times in this story. Therefore if you read this book more deeply and carefully, you can find out that the author wanted to mentiond about not only the horror of war but also people's senses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon Customer, Oct. 26 2003
By A Customer
This book is about a young girl named Annemarie, her family and their role in helping Jewish families escape the Germans during World War II. The Nazi soldiers invaded and took control of Denmark and its Danes. Ellen is Annemarie's best friend and is Jewish. Ellen and her family, the Rosen's, must leave Denmark to go to Sweden where will be safe from the Nazi soldiers. Ellen is told to stay the night with the Johansen family once all of the Jewish citizen find out that the Germany have a list with their names on it and where they live. During this stay the soldiers come to the apartment complex where the Johansen and Rosen families live. The soldiers see that no one is living in the Rosen's apartment so they knock on the Johansen family's door wanting to know where the Rosen family has gone. While in the apartment the soldiers go into the room where Annemarie and Ellen are sleeping. Ellen pretends to be Annemarie's sister so that the soldiers will not catch onto what is going on. Annemarie ripped the necklace that Ellen wore, with the "Star of David", from her neck so that the German soldiers wouldn't think that she is Jewish. In order for the Rosen family to be safe they needed the help of Annemarie's Uncle Henrik. Uncle Henrik, was the captain of the boat in which the Rosen family and many other Jewish families were hidden from the German soldiers.
I would recommend this book to everyone young and old! It is written with a great deal of suspence. Once I began the book I could not put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story on a provocative subject., Oct. 24 2003
By A Customer
Number the Stars is a story of friendship, bravery and loyalty. Set in Denmark in 1943, this is the story ten-year-old best friends, Annemarie Johansen and Ellen Rosen. When Hitler's army begins to "relocate" Denmark's Jews, Annemarie and her family help Ellen and her family escape to Sweden. Annemarie learns the true meaning of bravery and friendship. This story was based upon experiences of Lowry's friend, Annelise Platt, and tells a poignant story of the role the Danish Resistance played in saving the lives of almost all of Denmark's Jews.
This is a wonderful story that helps children begin to understand the feelings and plight of the Jews during World War II. Anxious moments are spent by the reader whenever the soldiers appear to confront the characters of the story. Annemarie displays true bravery and considerable intelligence in the face of the danger presented by soldiers. Parents and teachers can feel comfortable using Number the Stars, to begin a discussion of horrors of the holocaust, at the fourth or fifth grade level. The book can be used to teach not only history and language arts, but also geography and social relationships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Number The Stars, June 11 2003
By A Customer
World War II is raging all around Annemarie Johansen, and she is very frightened. Number the Stars by Louis Lowry is a historical fiction novel of a little girl who is very brave.
The plot of Number The Stars is of a girl who is ten-years old while World War II is going on. There are food shortages, and the Nazi soldiers are coming. The Nazi's are marching all over Annemarie's hometown, Copenhagen. They are knocking at everyone's doors, and checking all of the houses for Jews there. If Jews are around, then the Nazi's will take them to a concentration camp, in other words a death camp to die. Annemarie and her family let her best friend, Ellen Rosen live with them because Ellen's parents are hiding from the Nazi's. Will Annemarie and her family save Ellen? Well that's one thing you'll have to find out on your own.
The main character, Annemarie Johansen, is ten-years old with short blonde hair and brown eyes. She is very brave not only because of the war, but also because the soldiers checked her house for Jews. Ellen is a Jew but... I can't tell you the ending!!
The setting takes place in Copenhagen around 1943, and when the story ends, the year is still the same. The story adds to the its theme, because you have to be brave during a war, I mean, you never know what will happen, you could even die.
I really liked Number The Stars because it was very exciting and I learned a lot from it about the war. As well as those reasons for my opinion, I have one more. They are, it was very interesting and very historical. I recommend this book to the ages between 10-13, because it might be a little challenging for younger children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Righteous Gentiles, May 4 2003
By 
Helene Hoffman (Long Beach, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My parents are Holocaust Survivors, and when my 10-year old daughter brought this book home from school, it piqued my curiousity. Then, after she finished it, I read it. Although I have read a lot about the Holocaust, even I learned some new things from this book, like about the handkerchiefs soaked with chemicals so that the Nazis' dogs couldn't detect human scent (so that the Jews hidden in boats wouldn't be detected).
More importantly, this book was so well-written that I wept through the entire second half of it. I have always deeply felt that rescuers of the Jews were really angels wrapped in human bodies; what they did was one of the most humanitarian acts in history. There is a Holocaust Museum in Israel, Yad V'Shem. There is a long path to the entrance of the Museum lined with trees, called the Avenue of the Righteous Gentiles. Beneath each tree is a plaque, and, with one exception, each plaque is dedicated to a different individual who helped save a Jewish life during the Holocaust. After I finished this book, I realized why the only plaque not dedicated to an individual is dedicated to an entire nation: the people of Denmark. May they always be remembered and honored for what they have done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is worth the time it takes to read, May 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Number the Stars (Hardcover)
Setting: a remote village in Denmark
Characters: Annemarie-the main character (Christian), Ellen-Annemarie's best friend (Jew), Lisa Annemarie's older sister who died, Kristen- Annemarie's younger sister and, uncle henrik-a fisherman on the coast of denmark.
Plot: Annemarie comes home from school one day with her friend Ellen and her sister Kristen. As they raced to the corner they were stopped by a German solder with the word "halt". Luckily the solder let them pass but the next day they had to take a different rout to school. A few days later the list of all the members of the synagogue was stolen and Ellen's family had to hide. Ellen lived with Annemarie's family. If the Germans checked the house Ellen was Lisa who had really died. Ellen's parents were taken some where else to hide witch was kept secret.
A few days later Annemarie's family took a train to her uncle Hedrick's house on the cost of Denmark. Henrik was a fisher man who owned a boat. The next night they pretended to have a funeral for some lost aunt. Many people were there to pay there last respects including Ellen's parents. When German solders showed up questioning the gathering of people they asked why the coffin was closed but Annemarie's mom said that the person died of a disease that could still be transferred. Once the solders left they opened the coffin and in it were blankets and other clothing. It turns out that the people there were Jews that uncle Hedrick was going to smuggle to Sweden on his boat. They would have to make a trip through the woods to the dock in the darkness to get o the boat uncle Hedrick had a very important package that he needed. But in the morning Annemarie realized that he had left it be hind. She put it in to a basket with some food and if she got caught she was just bringing her uncle his lunch. When she got there she found that her uncle had a secret compartment built in for hiding the people. But the Germans had been using dogs to find people. The package was just a simple handkerchief but it was needed for Hedrick to get the Jews to Sweden because the handkerchief contained a substance that attracted the dogs to it and then one they sniffed it the substance temporarily ruins the dog's sense of smell and the boat checks out just fine. After the war Ellen and her family come back to Denmark and live happily ever after.
Opinion: I thought this book was great it was so exciting. I would recommend it to anyone.
Theme: always trust your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Number the Stars
Number the Stars by Lois Lowry (Audio Cassette - Jan. 13 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.86
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews