Customer Reviews


247 Reviews
5 star:
 (214)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing Fantasy
Sixteen-year-old Cimorene, Princess of Linderwall, is everything that a Princess should not be. She's headstrong, curious, stubborn, opinionated, smart, and tomboyish. Not only that, she is bored. Utterly, and completely bored. So when she has the chance to runaway, she takes it. Now she's living with Kazul, one of the most dangerous and powerful dragons around. A dragon...
Published on July 1 2004 by Erika Sorocco

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Breaking the cliches
Cimorene is a princess that goes against the grain. But what do you do when your parents wish you to be a pampered lady that prefers etiquette lessons over more interesting endevors like sorcery? You run away to volunteer to be a dragon's princess of course!
Young adults will be most pleased with the book, it's fairly simplistic in writing style and it probably...
Published on Feb. 11 2001 by Alanna Evans


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing Fantasy, July 1 2004
By 
Erika Sorocco (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sixteen-year-old Cimorene, Princess of Linderwall, is everything that a Princess should not be. She's headstrong, curious, stubborn, opinionated, smart, and tomboyish. Not only that, she is bored. Utterly, and completely bored. So when she has the chance to runaway, she takes it. Now she's living with Kazul, one of the most dangerous and powerful dragons around. A dragon who looks vicious, but is really quite sweet to her. However, Cimorene being Cimorene, she has a knack for finding and befriending dangerous characters such as a witch named Moranz, a stone Prince, a death-dealing talking bird, some wizards who are up to no good, and more. Adventure was what Cimorene was looking for, and this little Princess certainly got it!
Fans of fantasy novels will be overjoyed to find DEALING WITH DRAGONS, which is the first book in the ENCHANTED FOREST CHRONICLES. Cimorene is an extremely fun character who will warm the hearts of children of all ages, especially females, as DEALING WITH DRAGONS is one of the few fantasy series heralding a female as the main character. The descriptions of the dragons, both personality and looks-wise, will charm even the grumpiest of people, as they are vivid and enchanting and make you feel as if you are right there alongside them. Patricia C. Wrede has done an amazing job with this novel, and I look forward to reading Book Two in the series SEARCHING FOR DRAGONS.
Erika Sorocco
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Start, June 2 2004
By A Customer
Dealing With Dragons is the type of book where you read the last sentance and you wish it had lasted longer. You wish that it didn't have to end. A book where you can't WAIT to get your hands on the sequal! I finished this book in less time than i expected it to take me to finnish. I fell in love with the story and the plot from the moment the characters were introduced through the climax to the moment where all of them were settling down again. What isn't there to like about this book? It isnt at all like the ideal fairy-tale with fragile princessses and heroic knights. Princess Cimorene isnt the average princess who spends hours learning ediqitte and manners and when to faint. She Prefers fencing and magic, all of which are "absolutely unheard of" according to her parents. But when she finally finds the life she has always wanted, its with a dragon named Kazul. Now take the princes that want to rescue her in spite of tradition and imagine how they would feel if the princess refuses to be resuced! That, my friends, is a story you dont want to miss! Each page is full of action and irony and lovable characters with realistic goals and traits. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good book, April 20 2004
By 
J. P. Suhr "Slagar" (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Prince tired of have hear parent boss her telling her how to be proper. Not wanting to married runs off. From a frog she gets information of some people that might help here. When she get there she meet the dragons.
She is scared at first because some of the dragons want to eat her. She volunters to be a princess to one of the Dragons so she will not have to get married. Kazul a big strong female dragon take Comore in because she needs help with her latin. She loves cheery jublies and she like her.
There was on part in the book I thought was a little corney when Kazul has a part and has some of her friends over. You sevre dessert you think it would be something nasty like goblin intestines. But instead it's chochalate moose.
When I first read this part I laughed in my head. This book apparently is made for 5 year olds.
She help stop the evil wizadr society and the Evil dragon Warg.
Full of fun action adventure in comedy. If you like this book I recall reading the 3 sequels to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable light reading, Feb. 16 2004
This funny light reading is sure to keep you interested from cover to cover. The unusual princess featured in this book is tired of “what is done” and moves on out of the castle to do what she wants without the restraints of the king and queen, eventually finding a dragon and learning about the evil that threatens their race. The humor and mystery in “Dealing with Dragons” makes it interesting for everyone.
The plot is steady save for the slight twists and turns that reveal many familiar (and yet humorously different) fairy tale elements, such as a talking frog (who is not a prince) and the wizards (who are the evil counterparts to witches, and not vice versa). The plot makes this book simply a page turner that’s hard to put down.
The author uses language easy enough for any middle school student, but the word choice effectively creates humor, suspense, and mystery, taking the level of language to meet its full potential and making the book easy to read but still enjoyable for all age groups.
A small and slight drawback is the fact that the humor in this book is partly based on the accepted facts of other widely known fairy tales. The humor is best understood with some background knowledge of fantasy stories.
Another bad spot of this book is its minuscule length. This may not be the book of choice for those who enjoy a long, heavy reading.
Perhaps the most commonly complained about feature of this book is the plot. To some people, the previously mentioned humor twists are distracting elements that stray from the main storyline.
I personally do not agree with the cons mentioned above, having found a chuckle or a laugh on most every page. I highly recommend this book to readers who enjoy humor and slight mystery (with not much drama) and short, light reading, enjoyable even after reading it multiple times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read for any ages, Feb. 15 2004
By 
Melissa Heus "Avid Reader - origonal name, huh?" (Ridgefield, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great book in my opinion. It is fairly short and pretty easy to read. Therefore you can read it in a day or so. Its also pretty funny. I found myself chortling every so often. And the most humerous part of it is that it makes recelations to other stuff. e.g. The book talks about a magic ring at one point and says "its not like those good rings that make you invisible or..." And you know it has to do with LOTR. It has other stuff like that too.
The plot goes as follows: A young princess isnt like her sisters. Instead of long wavy gold hair she has raven black hair she likes to tie in a bow. To get away from marring a idiotic prince she decides to become a dragons prince (a dragon maid, cook, etc.). Which is highly unusual considering dragons usually have to kidnap princesses for that job. But she offered and even asked the princes who tried to rescue her to go away. The rest of the book goes through the young sable-hair princesses life as a dragons princess (but not boring whatsoever). There is a mixture of hilarous belivable characters throughout the book. But thats not all. There's a band of evil wizards who want to destroy all dragons... Can a young dragons princess figure out what their up to?
There is three books following Dealing With Dragons all of which have the same set of characters with new ones added on each book. Their aways added little segments of action througout the books to keep the reader grasped.
I recoment this book to lots of everyone unless you hate funny books that involve an Enchanted Forest and Princess who doesnt need protected and a female King Dragon. :)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Funny Fantasy, Dec 21 2003
By 
This book by Patricia C. Wrede is an amazing fantasy 'princess' story that veers from the 'Anderson/Grimm' norm. Princess Cimorene was a black-haired tall princess who enjoyed reading, cooking, fencing, and 'non-girl' things. She was very unlike your typical youngest sunshine-blonde bashful beauty that princesses in fantasies often turn out to be. She was, however, not acceptable in this way at the palace, and, as she was to be married to an idiotic prince anyway, decided to leave the castle. She met a frog who pointed her in the right direction and eventually found her way to many adventures with a sensible purple dragon, an unwitchy witch, and many other delightful characters that will make you laugh and smile throughout the book. I could not put this book down because it was so delightfully entertaining. I had to go out and buy the other three and Ms. Wrede's short story collection, all of which I would also most definitely recommend! Buy this book right now! You will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A dragon's princess, Nov. 13 2003
By A Customer
This whole book is fantasy! It has dragons, wizards, witches and stone pirinces! The blurb on the back cover pulled me right in, "Take one bored princess, make her the seventh daughter in a very proper royal family, have her run away, add one powerful, fascinating, dangerous dragon." After each chapter, I felt like I had to keep reading and reading. The first chapter has the main character Cimorene talking to a frog! It already is reeling you in. And it just gets better and as you keep reading.
A princess named Cimorene is so sick of her boring life. Plus she has six perfect proper sisters. While Cimorene was out in the garden, she meets a talking frog who tells her to run away and when she sees a hovel walk straight up to the door, knock three times, snap her fingers then go inside. Cimorene takes the frog's advice and runs away. She does exactly what the frog tells her to do, but when she steps inside and it is pitch black every where she turned, and the door is shut behind her, things aren't looking too good for Cimorene princess of Linderwell.
I recommend this book to anyone who is into fantasy, but I think anyone would enjoy this book. I like books that start out with excitement, and keep you reading. A great book by Patrica C. Wrede.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not your everyday princess..., Oct. 30 2003
For those readers who are tired of the stereotypical fantasy princess who sits on her hands and waits for a prince to rescue her, Cimorene is a breath of fresh air. Cimorene is not the kind of princess her parents want her to be; she is bored by sewing, dancing and etiquette and wants to learn magic, cooking and swordsmanship. The final straw comes when her parents have arranged for her to marry. Instead she runs away.
In Cimorene's world dragons often kidnap princesses, who then must be rescued by a daring prince. The dragons live in a massive network of caves in a mountain range, and their captive princesses get together to socialize and commiserate with each other, wondering when they will be rescued and by whom. Not Cimorene. She does the unthinkable: Cimorene volunteers to be a dragon's princess. Her offer is accepted by Kazul, a female dragon with an extensive library and treasure trove that need organizing. In time, Cimorene becomes a combination of cook, maid, secretary and close companion to Kazul.
In between dissuading knights from rescuing her, organizing Kazul's belongings and cooking for dinner parties, Cimorene finds herself in the middle of foiling a plot to take over the throne of the dragons. She is aided in her efforts by the captured princess Alianora and a prince who has been partly turned to stone. At the end of the novel Cimorene delights the reader by defying their expectations and...well, I'm not going to spoil it for you.
Dealing with Dragons is a pleasant surprise in that it has a somewhat feminist perspective: Cimorene wants to be who she is and do what she's interested in, never mind the fact that she's a girl. She is smart, independent and capable of handling her own problems. Not only that, the book has humor. Dealing with Dragons is a novel I have enjoyed more than any other novel I've read in quite awhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, unusual, and most hilarious book, July 3 2003
By 
Barb Caffrey "writer-for-hire" (In a Midwest State (of mind), USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Dealing with Dragons" isn't your normal fairy tale. In Patricia C. Wrede's universe, most Princesses are deadly dull sorts, fit only to be rescued by the even more deadly dull heroes. And Princess Cimorene (princess by courtesy and convention, not by aptitude, as she's smart, funny, and her own person) wants none of it.
She runs off, and apprentices herself (more or less) to Kazul, an imposing female Dragon. Yet she and Kazul find they have much in common; razor-like wit, uncommon sense, and the ability to enjoy fine cooking (which Cimorene discovers she's not too bad at cooking, either).
Some wizards show up and emperil their existence; Cimorene and Kazul don't care for this too much. How they fight them is up to you to figure out; trust me, you'll want to know the ending.
Thing is, it's the wit and the style that carries this book. It's hilarious; Ms. Wrede goes out of her way to satirize convention, yet gently and with great care. The mix of gentility and satirization makes for loads of laughs and fun.
As for recommendations, I think anyone who's read a lot of fairy tales or is at least in the fifth or sixth grade (about age 10 or so) will enjoy this. Adults, however, will probably enjoy this just as much as the kids, if not more so. I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not your average damsel in distress, June 12 2003
Princess Cimorene lives in a fairy tale universe where the beautiful princess always gets rescued from the dreaded dragon and ends up living happily ever after. She doesn't enjoy being proper and doing princess activities like needle work. She likes to fence, learn Latin, cook, and learn magic. That is until her father stopped her from doing all of the things she loved simply because it "isn't done."
When Cimorene is faced with the possibility of marrying a Prince whom she can't stand she'll do anything in her power to stop this from happening, including running away and voluntarily getting kidnaped by a dragon. Luckily for Cimorene her dragon is kind and lets Cimorene do all the things she was forbidden to do. Unfortunately Cimorene can't go on living her new life. Knights and Prince's come every day with the hope of rescuing her from the evil dragon. She sends them away but yet they continue to come. To top that off wizards have been hanging around the dragons lair and Cimorene suspects that they have sinister plots. With the help of a naieve princess, a prince made from stone, a kind witch, and a bunch of dragons, Cimorene is off to save the day.
Dealing with Dragons is the first book of Patricia C. Wrede's well renowned Enchanted Forest Chronicles. I've been meaning to read these for ages now and I'm glad I did. Cimorene is a strong female character that young girls can look up to and older ones can relate to. She doesn't fit into the picture perfect fairy tale world that she lives in and instead of trying to change herself, she makes everyone else change there rules. I love the description of the dragons. It's nice to see a novel where they aren't portrayed as large, stupid, and evil, but almost human, just a great deal older. The supporting cast is great, including Morwen the kind witch, Alianora the princess (who I've found is the easiest to relate to), and the two wizards with horrible plots.
The book ends happily but leaves the door open for the rest of the series that I will be sure to read as soon as I get my hands on them! I highly recommend this novel to anyone into kids or YA fantasy with strong female characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Enchanted Forest Chronicles Book One: Dealing with Dragons
The Enchanted Forest Chronicles Book One: Dealing with Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede (Audio Cassette - April 24 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 45.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews