Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Can't Go Wrong Gift
This book contains a good overview of motorcycling history, but its claims to fame are the wonderful photography and the high production values with which it was printed. It is a wonder to think that the photos are of bikes that actually exist today.
If you are searching for something to give to a person you know who enjoys riding motorcycles, who used to ride or...
Published on Dec 16 2001 by S. Garrett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's quite good
well, I enjoyed reading the book
Published on March 30 2000 by David Aranzabal


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Can't Go Wrong Gift, Dec 16 2001
By 
S. Garrett (Little Rock, AR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of the Motorcycle (Hardcover)
This book contains a good overview of motorcycling history, but its claims to fame are the wonderful photography and the high production values with which it was printed. It is a wonder to think that the photos are of bikes that actually exist today.
If you are searching for something to give to a person you know who enjoys riding motorcycles, who used to ride or who dreams of one day riding this is a can't miss gift. I received my copy as a gift two years ago, and I still enjoying reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for enthusiasts, Feb. 26 2002
By 
John Joss (Los Altos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of the Motorcycle (Hardcover)
Museums, exhibits and the books devolving from them only hint at the mysteries they purport to show but rarely reveal. This is particularly true of exhibits of things that move, whether airplanes, cars and motorcycles on one hand, or people on the other. Once mummified via restoration and encapsulated in historical review, these lively subjects lose their kinesthetic value and become dessicated.
Within the limitations of those realities, here is a book that is endlessly fascinating and pleasing, replete with photos that while technically excellent are for the most part static and thus devoid of context. The essays, although pleasant, lack edge and passion, thus failing to evoke the adrenal glands (which operate at high levels when pushing a motorcycle to the limit).
The descriptions of the machines, from knowledgeable masters such as Kevin Cameron, capture the essence of what the designer tried to do and how well he (no known female motorcycle designers, but correct me if I'm wrong) hit his target.
This is a book to which one can return again and again with pleasure. For a rider who has survived (I confess, in context, that I'm the survivor of 1.6m miles on two wheels) and ridden any of these wondrous devices, the book is a channel back in time that the book conveys magnificently.
It is to the credit of the Guggenheim and the sponsors, such as BMW, that the show/book could be produced and could demonstrate to a wide public the fascination of motorcycles and riding them.
Even non-riders, who have seen motorcycles on the road or who may know motorcycle enthusiasts, will start to comprehend the addictive fascination that possesses riders who can't stop. If you are persuaded to ride, please wear the best gear you can afford, get training and realize that roadcraft only comes from mileage undertaken humbly but decisively, the kinesthetic realities no book, however good, can convey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is a mental not a manual, Dec 4 2001
This review is from: The Art of the Motorcycle (Hardcover)
more than onehundred pages of motorcycle history, culture and sport,hundreds of high quality pictures with more history on specific makes & models. this book 'll look very "chic" on your coffeetable. . must be the finest in it's kind. ( & at 1/2 the expo price. .)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, June 1 2001
By 
Ray Carofano (San Pedro, CA. USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of the Motorcycle (Hardcover)
One of the best motorcycle books I have ever seen. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A CLASSIC, May 25 2001
By 
Richard E. Finger (Manchester, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of the Motorcycle (Hardcover)
If you can only have one book of this type, this is the one to have. The photos alone are worth the cost and the thoughtful commentary and essays are an added bonus. A carefully crafted book that is the result of an historic exhibition of machines as art. I have perused this book over and over again and think that anyone interested in motorcycles will do so as well. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's quite good, March 30 2000
This review is from: The Art of the Motorcycle (Hardcover)
well, I enjoyed reading the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anyone who loves motorcycles will love this book., April 7 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of the Motorcycle (Hardcover)
Don't let the price put you off. This book is well worth the price. The color pictures alone are worth it all. The century of motorcycle development is well illustrated and the essays complete the story of the motorcycle. Your favorite bike may not be here (mine's the German Horex which Honda copied) but you could visit dozens of museums and never see the selection that was gathered for the Guggenheim Museum Exhibit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, but where is the Kawasaki Z1A or B?, Feb. 22 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of the Motorcycle (Hardcover)
A wonderful book that documents the history of changes in the motorcycle world. A quick glance shows unfortunately the most glaring omission. There is no mention of the Kawasaki Z1A or B which was the most revolutionary machine of its time. In terms of engine design it was copied by many, inparticular Suzuki. The DOHC layout of the 903cc engine was the standard on which a whole generation of bikes was based. The styling was also a departure from anything that had been seen before. If you need space dump the MV its a non-entity. I have only ever seen 2 on the road in Europe and neither was a 750. A good picture book with some interesting documentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is the only way to take the bikes home, Feb. 7 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of the Motorcycle (Hardcover)
After have the privilege to view this marvelous display that the Guggenheim has put together you want to go back again & again to go over details you may have missed. Since this is not always possible why not have the next best thing. The photos alone are worth the price of the book especially as you can NOT take any pictures while viewing the bikes in their museum setting. Not all of them were on display in Chicago so for us it is the only way to see the ones that weren't there. But not only that to be able to go back & say remember that one, you know the one with the wooden wheels, the one that guy rode laying down on his stomach in a swimsuit, the Brittan....Thank you Thomas & crew for an excellent job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly true to the actual exhibit!, Jan. 1 1999
By 
STG "esteegee" (Litchfield Park, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of the Motorcycle (Hardcover)
I attended the "Art of the Motorcycle" exhibit at the Guggenheim while on vacation in NY. I drooled and "ooh-ed" and "ah-ed" at every turn. My only regret was the fact that I would have to rely on my feeble memory to recount to all my friends at home the wonders of the experience.
Then I received this book for Christmas. WOW! every detail, every motorcycle, every nuance of the real thing, faithfully reproduced in a series of stunningly artistic photographs. A number of interesting and well written articles and essays round out the volume. All in all, a very satisfying read. I recommend it highly if you have any liking for two wheel transportation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of the Motorcycle
The Art of the Motorcycle by Guggenheim Museum (Hardcover - June 27 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 107.57
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews