Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes a wonderful gift
This is a great kit and a wonderful gift for any rubber stamper. It comes with black inkpad glued to the box top, 18 stamps, and a nice booklet that tells a little about Celtic people, their history, & the designs themselves. The images are not die-cut, but cut square as typical with plain foam mount stamps. However, unlike other cheaper kits, they are all ready...
Published on July 5 2000 by Angel Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars These stamps are ok, but not the best
A little tip for anyone buying these: if the ink doesn't take (ie. it sort of bubbles up on the surface of the rubber), take an emery board and go over the rubber part. Also, don't apply too much pressure as it will leave nasty edge marks. This is because of how they are mounted. I prefer stamps that are cut close to the image and THEN mounted on the wood. These stamps...
Published on April 1 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Deeply Disappointed, March 7 2005
By 
K. Ashforth (Draton Valley, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Celtic Symbols: 18 Rubber Stamps (Misc. Supplies)
I'm just starting to get into creating greeting cards with stamps and this set was deeply disappointing. The quality of the rubber is poor. The images are cut very shallow and ink invariably gets on the rest of the stamp and leaves marks on the printed image. I've tried several brands of ink and markers, all yielding poor results. The wood mounts are thin and do not provide enough gripping surface. Lightly sanding the rubber produced only slightly improved results. It should not be tricky to create a good image with high quality stamps. All in all, very inferior quality compared to the "real" wood block backed rubber stamps used to create greeting cards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful value, March 22 2002
By 
This review is from: Celtic Symbols: 18 Rubber Stamps (Misc. Supplies)
These stamps are great. There is a great variety and they are already assembled in a wooden box. They are high quality stamps, that come out very clear but the stamp pad is useless. These are a great value with a very low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars These stamps are ok, but not the best, April 1 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Celtic Symbols: 18 Rubber Stamps (Misc. Supplies)
A little tip for anyone buying these: if the ink doesn't take (ie. it sort of bubbles up on the surface of the rubber), take an emery board and go over the rubber part. Also, don't apply too much pressure as it will leave nasty edge marks. This is because of how they are mounted. I prefer stamps that are cut close to the image and THEN mounted on the wood. These stamps aren't all bad though. I've used them many times with great effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars These are not good stamps!, Jan. 23 2001
By 
Mara Addison "Mara Addison" (Pittsburgh, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Celtic Symbols: 18 Rubber Stamps (Misc. Supplies)
I know good stamps. I have spent a lot of money on good stamps over the years. These are not good stamps. They do not feel good in your hand. They do not leave good impressions. If you are looking for quality stamps with which to make artwork in all sorts of papercrafts, do not buy these stamps. The accomponying book is cool. But the stamps themselves--yeach. Please trust me and don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Nifty Set of Stamps for Budding Celtophiles, July 25 2000
By 
This review is from: Celtic Symbols: 18 Rubber Stamps (Misc. Supplies)
As a budding Celtophile, I had to have this set when I saw it in a catalog....and paid about 8 bucks more! It's a good set, with a very nice box for storage. In fact, it's almost worth buying the set just for the box. An insert contains information not only on stamping, but on the Celts themselves.
You can get some really beautiful designs out of these stamps but it takes some practice, and some of the smaller ones tend to blur if you press too hard. The trick is to get a very good ink pad (Encore is the best) and learn how to apply just the right pressure. This is easier with these stamps than with other sets, as these are wood backed, which makes for a better, clearer image. I used the one with three knotted horses to make party invitations, using a multi colored stamp pad in hues of blue and purple with a silver accent. With a little work, they came out really nice.
This set is an excellent value, especially at this price, and a nice addition to any stamper collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes a wonderful gift, July 5 2000
This review is from: Celtic Symbols: 18 Rubber Stamps (Misc. Supplies)
This is a great kit and a wonderful gift for any rubber stamper. It comes with black inkpad glued to the box top, 18 stamps, and a nice booklet that tells a little about Celtic people, their history, & the designs themselves. The images are not die-cut, but cut square as typical with plain foam mount stamps. However, unlike other cheaper kits, they are all ready indexed on a thin sheet of wood. Conveniently, there is a permanent stamp index on the bottom of the box so you can easily place the stamps back is their proper place.
A variety of stamp designs and sizes are included. Designs feature mostly knotwork and spirals. The biggest is a circle about 2" in diameter. There are 4 tiny stamps that measure about a half-inch. My favorite image 1 1/4" circle with knotwork and three horses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great value, Nov. 30 1999
By 
E. Walton (Phoenixville, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Celtic Symbols: 18 Rubber Stamps (Misc. Supplies)
I have seen this set going for much more on Ebay. I bought it a few months ago, from Amazon, and have used it extensively. The stamps are great, universal designs. I've used them for stationary, cards, and my travel scrapbook. Highly recommended item!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Celtic Symbols: 18 Rubber Stamps
Celtic Symbols: 18 Rubber Stamps by Jim Paul (Misc. Supplies - Oct. 1 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 92.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews