Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool book with interesting, useful tips!
This is a fun book that's actually useful. Hopefully, I won't encounter many of these scenarios, but if I did, I would certainly be prepared!
Published on June 14 2003 by maximum verbosity

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great library book
This book was mildly entertaining at best. Of the forty-four scenarios, only a couple are immediately useful to most people. I did find the trivia type Be Aware sections informative. Unfortunately the How to Foil a UFO Abduction section, while intended to be humorous, destroyed most credibility of this book. Am I reading a joke book or a book designed to save my life...
Published on May 13 2003 by Randy Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great library book, May 13 2003
By 
Randy Brown (Knoxville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel (Paperback)
This book was mildly entertaining at best. Of the forty-four scenarios, only a couple are immediately useful to most people. I did find the trivia type Be Aware sections informative. Unfortunately the How to Foil a UFO Abduction section, while intended to be humorous, destroyed most credibility of this book. Am I reading a joke book or a book designed to save my life? Pick it up at the library or at a used bookstore for a couple of dollars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well, okay -- and here's how an expert does it, March 3 2004
By 
"morganalefey" (Hoboken, NJ, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel (Paperback)
Very, very funny. And if I ever need to stop a car without brakes or deal with a mass riot, then I'll do my best to follow the advice in WORST CASE SCENARIO SURVIVAL HANDBOOK-- because I have no alternative ideas. Useful for dinner parties and during long car journeys when the conversation runs out.
To look into the heart of true survivalist at work, under very weird circumstances, I highly recommend Peter Hillary's IN THE GHOST COUNTRY. The pleasures are many and surprising, and the shocking revelations are no joke. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Practical yet funny, Aug. 31 2003
By 
David Hassall (Wichita, KS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel (Paperback)
At last, a book that teaches me how to escape a mass riot in a foreign country. I got this book because it had good reviews and seemed to be interesting. It is, its a practical, humourous, book.
Its written in a serious manner, but there is obvious humour behind it, some of the topics you encounter are so obsurd its remarkable how these guys thought of the situation.
It's a funny book that one day might save your life, what other book can you say that about?
4 Stars. Not as good as some of the other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool book with interesting, useful tips!, June 14 2003
This review is from: The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel (Paperback)
This is a fun book that's actually useful. Hopefully, I won't encounter many of these scenarios, but if I did, I would certainly be prepared!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Wanna Be Indiana Jones Handbook, Jan. 19 2003
By 
B.P. "tilley_traveler" (Wisconsin, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel (Paperback)
Being that I have found these Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbooks in the humor section at the bookstore, would give an indication as to what they might entail. They're not quite like an instructive first-aid guidebook with very short, basic, right to the point instructions, but it still takes each subject rather seriously. At any rate one can still learn a thing or two that would be good to remember in the occasion of possibility. A likely example would be the simple idea of counting seats on the plane or doors in the hotel that are along your route to the emergency exit. If visibility is impaired by smoke applying this knowledge would give vital seconds to your quest for safety. Also included are some emergency phrases in four languages (Spanish, French, German and Japanese) and a brief notation of gestures to avoid in certain places, plus a summary of travel tips. All this might seem like basic travel wisdom, but it doesn't hurt to be reminded incase one forgets. As the book series so eloquently puts it, you never know, just expect the unexpected.
Topics range from how to foil a scam artist, survive a mugging or mass riot, how to escape from being tied up, how to ram a barricade, jump from roof top to roof top or lose someone following you, how stop a car without brakes or escape from a car hanging over a cliff edge, how to crash land a small plane, control a runaway horse, survive a sandstorm, tsunami or a trip over a waterfall, how to survive when lost in the jungle, how to find your way without a compass, how to survive in frigid water or escape a riptide, make a snow shelter, deal with leeches, piranhas, scorpions and tarantulas, catch food, find water, and many, many more. The only thing missing is how to use a bullwhip. But I was greatly disappointed to discover absolutely nothing on what to do in the event of a tornado or hurricane.
Imagining someone consulting their Worst-Case Scenario Handbook while in a hostage situation or trying to stop a runaway passenger train just makes me chuckle at the very thought. But at the same time it's spooky to think that it could happen. It's a handbook set apart from the rest and I would recommend this travel edition along with the original Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook to anyone who is an adventure enthusiast and would love to enrich his or her clever & crafty know-how on such survival tricks. A great gift idea for something slightly unusual and potentially useful.
It provides good, sound information but read it more for it's amusement and entertainment. Take it along with you wherever you go, it'll make a great conversation starter. If nothing else, "the pages can be used as emergency toilet paper if you're really in a jam." - page 18 [review author: tilley_traveler]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Mildly entertaining only, Nov. 22 2002
By 
Claus Hetting (Gentofte, Copenhagen Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel (Paperback)
Initially thought the idea of the book funny, but in the end I was disappointed. I think this is because the book has no real story to tell, just lots of instructions on how to survive certain (very unusual) situations and drawings to go with it. The best part is the introduction where the author tells of how he survived Mt. Kilimanjaro - now that's a story! The rest is just a bit dull and rather a lot of common sense and mediocre ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars review by k-man.worst case scenario survial handbook:travle, April 30 2002
By 
kyle (seattle Washington) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel (Paperback)
The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel'
By Joshua Piven and David Borgenicht
This book would be for a frequent traveler, and if you were one, you would want to keep this book nearby at all times. There are lots of things that you're probably not going to need, but they're vary interesting to read about. Some examples of the situations are how to deal with run away camels and UFO abductions.
Lots of the things that this book will talk about are going to be useful like escaping a high rise or hotel fire, or stopping an airplane hijacking, or how to escape when tied up.
I would recommend this book to travelers, or people who are thinking about traveling to a secluded jungle type place. Even though I don't travel much, lots of the things are useful to know. Recommended ages, 8 and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Handbook, April 1 2002
This review is from: The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel (Paperback)
I got this handbook for my birthday and I have been laughing ever since. Though some people probably bought this because they actually wanted to know the answers to all those things. I got it because it was just hysterical. All the answers are literal and probably the best known way to survive things that are described. I have heard some of those things before so they are not made up or anything. But the assortment of things it describes are just really funny. And after you read it, if something might happen to you, you would know what to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New perspective, March 31 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel (Paperback)
It's true...this book is for people who have a great sense of humor but also a serious mind. This book is packed with tips and detailed guides for just about any trouble you might slip into. Read it for kicks or to save you [behind]. Either way it's one of the most entertaining books you'll ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for travelling, March 18 2002
By 
David Pontoppidan (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel (Paperback)
The statistics are against you: More than 50 percent of all travellers run into problems.

This is the start of the introduction in this book, and to help you deal with these problems Joshua Piven and David Borgenicht have once again consulted experts on various areas, so that if you're going travelling somewhere you'll have expert knowledge at your hand, should you need to deal with a crisis.
If you've been to a third world country or somewhere politically unstable you know the discomfort of being a tourist in the midst of it all. Sometimes protesters go bezerk, and should you be in a foreign country where protesters outside the hotel are throwing molotovcocktails and firing guns, the odds of you making it to the airport safe are very grim. This book does, however, give an EXCELLENT guidance on WHAT to do WHEN and HOW, not only in a situation such as that mentioned, but also if you're hanging over the edge of a cliff in your car, sitting in an airplane that's about to crash, tied up or in a runaway passenger train. Crisises that common sense simply does not have a solution for. Through this book you also get the entertainment value of reading (whilst sitting in Denmark) how to steer a runaway camel, foil a UFO abduction etc. but also great travellers tips and usable emergency phrases in 4 languages.
Think you've got it all covered? You're in Tokyo and a thug tries to mug you. How do you call for help? Well?
See, how would you know that you say: "Tasukete! dorobô"??? There's no way a normal tourist would know that, which is why this book is indispensable to any frequent traveller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1bbca20)

This product

The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel
The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel by David Borgenicht (Paperback - March 15 2001)
CDN$ 17.95 CDN$ 12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews