Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Miette cookbook
The product arrived quite quickly and was in excellent condition living up to its description.in fact it was a bit better than expected.
Published 5 months ago by nancie mackay

versus
26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The first printing of the cookbook is riddled with errors.
However, I think that the cookbook provides some beautiful recipes, once they are corrected!

From Chronicle Books directly, the errors are as follows:

On Page 48, in the recipe for Butter Cake, the sugar measurement should read "1 cup (7 ounces) sugar."

On Page 55, in the recipe for Double Chocolate Cake, the sugar measurement should read...
Published on July 9 2011 by Vala Mal Doran


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The first printing of the cookbook is riddled with errors., July 9 2011
By 
This review is from: Miette: Recipes from San Francisco's Most Charming Pastry Shop (Hardcover)
However, I think that the cookbook provides some beautiful recipes, once they are corrected!

From Chronicle Books directly, the errors are as follows:

On Page 48, in the recipe for Butter Cake, the sugar measurement should read "1 cup (7 ounces) sugar."

On Page 55, in the recipe for Double Chocolate Cake, the sugar measurement should read "2 ' cups (16 ounces) sugar."

On Page 72, in the recipe for Chocolate Chiffon Cake, the flour measurement should read "' cup (4 ounces) flour."

On Page 77, in the recipe for Yellow Cupcakes, the sugar measurement should read "1 1/3 cups (9.5 ounces) sugar."

On Page 92, in the recipe for Lemon Tea Cake, the flour measurement should read "2 ' cups (12.5 ounces) flour."

On Page 94, in the recipe for Honey Tea Cake, the flour measurement should read 2 2/3 cups (13 ounces) flour" and the sugar measurement should read 1 1/2 cups (10.5 ounces) sugar."

On Page 96, in the recipe for Banana Bread with Nutty Streusel: The sugar called for in the ingredient list under the Nutty Streusel heading should be "1/4 cup (2 ounces) brown sugar." In the ingredient list under the Banana Bread heading, the sugar measurement should read "1 1/2 cups (10.5 ounces) sugar."

On Page 105, in the recipe for Pate Sucree Tart Shell, the flour measurement should read "3 1/3 cups (16.5 ounces) flour."

On Page 128, in the recipe for Thumbprint Cookies, the sugar measurement should read "1/2 cup (3.5 ounces) sugar."

On Page 130, in the recipe for Chocolate Chip Cookies, the sugar measurement should read 1 1/3 cups (9.5 ounces) sugar."

On Page 133, in the recipe for Peanut Butter Cookies, the sugar measurement should read 1/2 cup (3.5 ounces) sugar."

On Page 137, the yield for Lemon Shortbread Cookies should be "24 cookies."

On Page 138, the yield for Walnut Shortbread Cookies should be "42 cookies."

On Page 153, in the recipe for Brownies, the flour measurement should read "1 cup (5 ounces) flour" and the sugar measurement should read "2 1/2 cups (17.5 ounces) sugar."

On Page 156, in the recipe for Crème Fraiche Scones, the flour measurement should read 3 ' cups (17.5 ounces) flour" and the sugar measurement should read "1/2 cup (3.5 ounces) sugar."

On Page 167, in the recipe for Fleur de Sel Caramels: The amount of fleur de sel should be "1/4 teaspoon fleur de sel for sprinkling."

On Page 185, in the recipe for Vanilla Buttercream: Step 2 should end "until soft peaks form." Step 3 should read, "When the sugar syrup reaches 248 degrees F, immediately pour into a heat-proof measurer. Reduce speed to low and very carefully drizzle the syrup into the mixer bowl, away from the whisk so the hot syrup doesn't spatter. ..."

On Page 188, in the recipe for French Buttercream, Step 3 should read "As soon as the sugar syrup reaches 238 degrees F, immediately pour into a heat-proof measurer."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty... but useless, Oct. 8 2011
By 
melanie (Montreal, QC, CANADA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miette: Recipes from San Francisco's Most Charming Pastry Shop (Hardcover)
As almost everyone has pointed out - this book contains plenty of errors... this in my opinion makes a book pretty useless for baking as nothing will turn out as it should. Before trying any recipes, I decided to search on amazon.com as there are generally more reviews on that site and found that everyone who purchase the erroneous copy will be receiving a corrected copy. Well, I got mine as a gift, took 6 weeks to receive and I got a little card with the correction sheet (still plenty of mistakes).

This was clearly very disappointing as an updated copy should have been released in October (and mine came October 7th). This morning I decided to call Amazon customer service and had them tell me that the .com and .ca website are two separate website and that the only thing I could do is return the book. I want this book, but corrected! How can amazon justify that shoppers of .com receive a corrected book, while shoppers of .ca just have to deal with it?! To make matters worse, we even pay more on .ca even though our dollar was worth over a year!

First of all, I can't possibly understand how a book can be printed with so many errors but what makes me even more frustrated is that amazon will only take care of its American customers. Very disappointing. I usually love amazon... recommend it to everyone and shop regularly on .com and .ca. My only option now is to return to .ca and repurchase on .com (go to the states to pick up the order) and that is just a pain. I will consider shopping elsewhere if this is the kind of service amazon.ca is going to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Bookish Thoughts..., July 17 2011
By 
Reader Writer Runner (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Miette: Recipes from San Francisco's Most Charming Pastry Shop (Hardcover)
As much as I admire Meg Ray, an entirely self-taught and immensely successful pastry chef and, as enticing as her desserts sound, a baking book containing 18 careless errors turns every recipe into a frustrating guessing game.

Granted, "Miette" is beautiful; scalloped edges and gorgeous photos make it a pleasure to peruse. Ray presents a nice variety of recipes ranging from cakes to cookies to candy to basics (frostings, curds etc). Also refreshing is her use of a small scale; most cakes measure 7 inches and cookie doughs yield a dozen or two.

What a shame that the editors and publishers have done such a disservice to the book. A list of errata is online ([...]) and, hopefully, a second edition of the book will come out mistake-free. Until then, do NOT add 1/4 cup of fleur de sel to the caramels; 1/4 teaspoon will suffice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was this a rush job or careless editing?, June 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miette: Recipes from San Francisco's Most Charming Pastry Shop (Hardcover)
I was happy to purchase this book for a gift and also for myself. Unfortunately, I made a mistake of ordering two copies upon release not knowing that the book is full of error. As another customer had posted - it is a useless baking book. Make sure you don't lose that little card that comes with it (or hope that the customer who graciously posted the errors doesn't remove their post! Thank you so much for sharing that with the community. Greatly appreciated!).

I agree, customers should receive a complimentary copy of a corrected edition. Very unfortuante!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miette cookbook, Jan. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miette: Recipes from San Francisco's Most Charming Pastry Shop (Hardcover)
The product arrived quite quickly and was in excellent condition living up to its description.in fact it was a bit better than expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Useless, July 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miette: Recipes from San Francisco's Most Charming Pastry Shop (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book from a stunning bakery.

And it is so useless, so many errors and corrections are needed. I was looking forward to baking using the weight measurements, but many of them are incorrect.

I'm sure that some of the recipes are spot on, but many are complicated and why would I attempt them when there is a good chance that it contains errors. Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Little Beauty!, April 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miette: Recipes from San Francisco's Most Charming Pastry Shop (Hardcover)
The book wears its name very well, presentation is a "biggie" and this book has scalloped pages... imagine what the inside has to offer! I really enjoyed the authors story on her beginnings, she has opened up and shared how "miette" was born! I'm in the process of starting up my little bakery and Meg Ray is definitely an inspiration! Look forward to trying out her many recipes and ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy does it, Jan. 2 2012
By 
Shoegal (New York City) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miette: Recipes from San Francisco's Most Charming Pastry Shop (Hardcover)
The recipes do offer something a but different from the ordinary , such as a Hot Milk Cake which I have never heard of until I got this book. The book itself is adorable and I cannot wait to try the recipes!

As far as the errors go I look at it in a positive light, I got a full refund from Amazon and I all had to do was mark the corrections in my book, so the book is free and all is well ,why is everyone complaining?

Update June 17/2012:

So far I have made the cheesecake- which was delicious , the double chocolate cake- which was not my fave as I am not a huge choco fan in general ,and the lemon debutante. The debutante is delicious but is it extremely time consuming and requires above average baking skills. It tasted pretty good ( my cakes were slightly hard , they settled as they cooled for some reason) but everything else was delicious and the flavours really worked well together . Cakes like these need to be done over several days and need practice , I am sure after some time the hot milk cakes will be fluffier and lighter ,besides I realized my kitchen thermometer is garbage and could barely read the correct temp. for boiling water and temp. is essential for this cake and this book. Practice makes perfect , for now I will eat a slightly less than perfect cake that looks nothing like the picture but tastes great! One thing I don't like is that most recipes yield more quantities than required which is a bit annoying , I tried to half or quarter things (creams and curds) but with odd egg quantities it is hard I will ,next time, figure out a slightly larger amount to even out the egg numbers and then cut in half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars amazing book, but with unfortunate errors, July 8 2011
This review is from: Miette: Recipes from San Francisco's Most Charming Pastry Shop (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful and - dare I say - original baking book with a lovely assortment of cakes, cookies & confections. Unfortunately, it was published with a number of errors. I still highly recommmend this book, but anyone who is considering the purchase should review the publisher's list of errata:

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice book, Aug. 7 2011
This review is from: Miette: Recipes from San Francisco's Most Charming Pastry Shop (Hardcover)
It's a fantastic book. Very good cakes. I love the idea to make 2 cakes instead of one and keep one in the freezer for an other occasion. The recipes give 2 X 6 inches cakes. I have made the chocolate cake on the cover of the book, it was so good & look exactly as on the book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miette: Recipes from San Francisco's Most Charming Pastry Shop
CDN$ 29.95 CDN$ 18.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews