countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout All-New Kindle Home Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
166
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$5.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 12, 2016
A classic of science fiction, The War of the Worlds works on many layers. Most people take it as merely a fantasical fiction of invasion by otherworldly Martians set on subjugating and killing off large swathes of the human race.

However, it was intended as commentary on colonialism and the disruption to the lives of those native to the colonies. Numerous allusions are made, as to how an ant might find a steam engine as incomprehensible as the humans find the machines of the alien invaders. The introduction of the 'red weed' by the aliens, choking out the plantlife to plantations crowding out native flora and traditional crops.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2014
The story is very familiar and over a century later it is still quite engaging. I particularly liked how it serves as a time capsule. Four generations on and people are the same yet our technology has evolved so astoundingly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2013
Greatly enjoyed this old classic!
Had trouble following all the London landmarks, so it took considerable concentration to visualize the movements of the Martians and the others in the story.
Glad I read it though.
Recommend it to both HISTORY and sci-fi. Buffs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2013
Excellent book. I always liked all versions of WotW. Especially a musical version I found in a flea market. It was on 2 CDs and first time I listened to it it was like taking an audio adventure. I was young and it was both scary and interesting at the same time listening to that. This book takes me back to those days
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2015
It was not the book I expected so unfortunately I could not finish it. Not into space beings and the writing was too disjointed for my liking. But, not all readers like the same things, so feel free to take a chance if you want.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2013
This is one of the classics by H.G. Wells. Intriguing story; however, tends to drag in parts. Reader must allow for the fact that Wells was writing without the benefit of current scientific knowledge. Consequently, story seems implausible in parts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2006
H.G. Wells wrote War of the Worlds as a warning to the complacent, world-dominating British citizens of his era to not take the status quo for granted. The arrogance of some British politicians in particular rubbed Wells entirely the wrong way, particularly their sentiment that the British had an 'obligation' to 'civilize' the world (read: colonize) for its own good. Well's book was a rock thrown at that attitude-on-a-pedestal, and although he didn't knock it down, he made his point- and in spectacular fashion. In one way, the Martians *were* the conquering British, with their superior weapons and baffling ways that must have seemed incomprehensible to the natives of Africa and other areas colonized by force. Wells' dark tale was also a warning that even the British- despite their firm belief in their world destiny- could be squashed like so many bugs by an indifferent cosmos that didn't give one whit about the British (or anyone else's) false boast of superiority. In the end, though, it's a hopeful book- just as the Martians died off because they weren't biologically suited to live in this world, Wells also foretells the end of the British Empire because the British (alien) way was not the native way of life in the colonies, suggesting that the British wouldn't survive there long; the natives would eventually prevail. And they did. On top of all that, it's rousing entertainment that can be read just for its drama and suspense.

And that's why it's still in print a hundred years later.

-Mark Wakely, author of An Audience for Einstein
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
This is one of my all-time favourite books. I've read and re-read it many times, and it never fails to delight me. Some readers may not enjoy the 19th century style of the writing, but I find it adds to the overall effect: you really do feel as if you're in turn of the century England as the Martians begin landing! Pretty much all subsequent alien invasion stories owe something to Wells' classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2013
We've probably all see the movie or at least know the gist of the story, but it was a pleasure to finally read the original book. Even though it is somewhat dated, the tale is well-written and plausible even after all this time. It's a timeless classic that you shouldn't miss. It's also easy to read, perfect for those hot days at the beach.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon September 6, 2006
We are in 1898 England. Yep we see something happening on the surface of Mars. Later what looks like a meteor comes to earth. Once we realize the significant of the situation (or think we do) Different people approach the situation in different ways. The true story is how the different people meet the situation.

Many people want to equate this story with real potential invasions others as the bad guys vs. the good guys. However from the very first we see that they are the greater (more evolved) intelligence and we are the equivalent of vermin or the ants that are being held under the magnifying glass. From our point of view they seem like cruel creatures, from theirs is indifference. Their way of consuming nourishment is appalling yet look at what and how we eat.

The writing its self is of the time in which Wells lived so the descriptions of our world may seem a little alien to today's younger readers. However the suspense is still there and the story will hold their attention.

Do not miss the 1953 movie. Even thought it adds more religious overtones it is still pretty much the same story with similar characters. Of course this one names the narrator and adds a love interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items