Customer Reviews


311 Reviews
5 star:
 (208)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic
Although wildly different from Ender's game, it manages to create a delicious symmetry between the two and by the end might very well be the better book. The characters and the philosophy get stuck in your head weeks after the final page is turned.
Published 1 month ago by J. Semeniuk

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Lost in the translation
Lost in the translation, or lack of it. Riddled with foreign language quotes and no translation. Not enjoyable. Interesting concept.
Published 1 month ago by l beaven


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, May 28 2014
By 
J. Semeniuk (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Speaker for the Dead (Mass Market Paperback)
Although wildly different from Ender's game, it manages to create a delicious symmetry between the two and by the end might very well be the better book. The characters and the philosophy get stuck in your head weeks after the final page is turned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lost in the translation, May 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lost in the translation, or lack of it. Riddled with foreign language quotes and no translation. Not enjoyable. Interesting concept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading if you like Ender's game and other books in the series, April 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I rated it four stars compared to other book in the series such as ender's game and ender's shadow which were better. but still worth the read especially if you plan to read the rest of the serie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel, April 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
really nice sequel, I'm still considering reading the third book because I tought that this one already gives me the ending I wished to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Speaker for the Dead is a great story with a moralistic approach., Dec 18 2013
By 
FRANK ENNS (Duncan, British Columbia, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found the book very captivating and would recommend it to all my friends. It follows up very nicely on Ender's Game and shows a deep concern for people and the possibility of other races.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars We shall never cease from exploration, Dec 17 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
We shall never cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time. - T. S. Eliot

We start off where the last book ended. Now Ender the writer of "The Hive Queen and the Hegemon", after traveling three thousand years of penance as a Speaker for the Dead is summoned to a planet where there is a new race and an opportunity to put things right.

Even though the author says that you can read this book as a complete story without reading the first novel it is actually part of a five book series. True the essential background will be repeated or contemplated in this volume it is still not as complete as reading the first volume.

Once again you can bypass the introduction but then you will have missed crucial information on the author and his intent. The introduction can also be used as part of a good writing course.

The first book was thinly veiled as a version of "Starship Troopers" and you can see that somewhere the author must have read some field manuals. In "Speaker for the Dead" you can see that Orson Scott Card knows his Catechism. I used to teach RCIA so he could not fake it. I also come from a strong LDS background. I suspect he spiced it up with a little "Tony Hillerman." Our main character may have changed focus a tad form the first book but people change, authors change, and we change.

The only part of the writing the did not go too smoothly was the inclusion of references to "The Tempest" it seemed a tad forced where other authors such as Dorothy Sayers for example with "stale flat and unprofitable" would not be spotted if one had not read "Hamlet" but it fits her story like a glove.

I can see why this book has a problem with being pigeonholed as sci-fi or space opera, etc. as it has all the elements needed to thinly veil a message. What is the message you ask? Read the book.

---------------------
FYI I purchased the kindle version and even though I made sure it had Text-to-Speech: Enabled and X-Ray: Enabled, I also purchased Whispersync for Voice (Audible Audiobook) the Audible did not contain the introduction. They used to even read the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, July 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read this book ten years ago and was definitely too young to understand any of it, so I recently reread it and realized just how good it is. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars complexe and entertaining, June 5 2013
By 
Excellent reading. Although you do not need to have read the first book about Ender, it does help a bit to follow the intrigue why Ender is trying to keep his true identity a secret. I found that the book was very confusing at the beginning. Trying to figure out what is actually happening was a bit of a struggle. The story is definitely not like the War Games of the first book. It is a story about people and alien races and their interaction of the races and people. Throw in some time travel and its effects on the age of characters and you have an interesting plot.

As you get through half of the book you begin to realize that the author has really challenged himself in creating a plot with multiple characters, including aliens. It appears that Earth has created something of a Prime Directive like in Star Trek to restrict the people on a new planet who are studying one race. You start off with one, than two and finally you end up with three alien races involved in the story, or at least affecting Ender's challenges. As in the first book you see how creative Ender is in analyzing the people around him and figuring them out...weaknesses or strengths. It is very appropriate that he becomes a speaker for the dead. This is not an action story but you won't be disappointed with all the intrigue of a "who did it and why" story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book in a great series, March 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My whole family has or is presently reading the Ender series. All are great! And the Bean series is even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More thoughtful then Ender, Jan. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Speaker for the Dead (Mass Market Paperback)
Surprised how much I enjoyed this.

It's certainly a more cerebral story than Ender and nowhere near the action - but also more enjoyable due to the complexity of issues faced by each character.

Story mostly focuses on the politics behind a Star Trek-ish 'prime directive' regarding contact with alien species, but also delves in the subtlities that shape a human character etc.

Add to this a 'who dunnit' murder and there's lots to keep you interested.

You don't need to have read Ender to enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Speaker for the Dead
Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card (Mass Market Paperback - Aug. 15 1994)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews