Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning!
This book held me in awe from start to finish. Ms. Asaro's characters are extremely well-developed, the plot is consistant, and the culmination leaves no loose ends! I picked this novel up from the library and I couldn't put it down. I completed it in three hours that day!
Tina is a charming girl, you will love her the minute you "meet" her. And how could...
Published on Feb. 28 2004 by Dawn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read.
I liked the tradional romance plot put in a very hard SF setting. I enjoy physics but I find it easier to take with a big dollop of my favorite brain candy. I had 2 problems with the book. The part where they are captured by the villains seems to wallow in sado-masochism and the story just sort of drifts to a stop. I haven't read any of the other Skolian books. A lot of...
Published on Dec 29 2000 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Not good, June 24 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Catch The Lightning (Mass Market Paperback)
Catherine Asaro's works were recommended to me because I'm such a fan of Lois McMaster Bujold, and because I like both romance (even sexy romance) and science fiction. I read Primary Inversion and thought it was merely OK (bit of a chore to finish, actually), but hoped the series would get better. Unfortunately, it didn't.
First it was annoying because I couldn't figure out whether the main male character (I won't say hero) was the brother of the main character in Primary Inversion; but apparently time-travel is involved and it turns out there's a whole hardly-worth-it family tree to attempt to comprehend.
Then the main female character was ignorant, annoying and much too (some might say illegally?) young for the male character; the sex scenes were out of place in the context of the story and not well done, the science incomprehensible, and the supporting characters stereotypical yet not even believable as friends of the female lead. None of them, including the leads, engendered the slightest sympathy from me; there was no joyous discovery of what the future holds, only the most predictable, Star Trek-at-its-worst conclusions. A little girl from the Barrio, an ignorant brute of a man, and me not caring at all.
Please, if you're looking for futuristic romance and flawed but sympathetic characters with good stories, skip these and read something by Bujold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning!, Feb. 28 2004
By 
Dawn (St. Louis, MO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Catch The Lightning (Mass Market Paperback)
This book held me in awe from start to finish. Ms. Asaro's characters are extremely well-developed, the plot is consistant, and the culmination leaves no loose ends! I picked this novel up from the library and I couldn't put it down. I completed it in three hours that day!
Tina is a charming girl, you will love her the minute you "meet" her. And how could anyone resist Althor's spell? He is so very sensuous and captivating. This book is a must read for any SF fan! You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Asaro's Second Book = Big Disappointment, Sept. 30 2003
By 
Justin A. Bacon (Minneapolis, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Catch The Lightning (Mass Market Paperback)
Last week I picked up the first two novels in Catherine Asaro's Ruby Dynasty/Skolian Empire series -- PRIMARY INVERSIONS because I wanted to try the series; CATCH THE LIGHTNING because it was used (and thus cheap).
After finishing PRIMARY INVERSIONS I was ready to go back to the store and pick up the rest of the series. Great stuff. A hard SF foundation for some first rate space opera, coupled with strong characterization and some really nice romance elements. There were some weak points, but the book left a great impression and, as a first novel, it showed great promise.
Then I started reading CATCH THE LIGHTNING. And it's major let-down. The hard SF has been flushed for an *incredibly* stupid alternate universe tale. (Claiming that Jesus Christ could be born 340 years later without any noticeable alteration to world history or, for that matter, Christianity pretty much destroys any credibility Asaro has.) Remnants of the strong characterization are still there (notably in the main characters), but most of the cast is largely populated by cliches and stereotypes. And the romance elements have literally become explicit, softcore porn. (When you're describing condoms being put on, erections, hands on balls, nipples being caressed, and penetration it's softcore porn.)
In short: If you haven't read Asaro before and are looking to give her a try, this isn't the book you want to try. Pick up PRIAMRY INVERSION instead. If you've read PRIMARY INVERSION and are looking forward to more of the same, then CATCH THE LIGHTNING is going to be a huge disappointment. I'd skip it, and move on to Asaro's later books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars really poor, April 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Catch The Lightning (Mass Market Paperback)
I got this from the library and was very disappointed. Not only was the story line very choppy, jumping from place to place without any real development of details (or characters or plot), but it completely glossed over things like her reaction to a wildly new culture, language, technology, etc. All the physics "detail" tossed in looked like it was made up by someone who didn't have a clue what they were talking about. (perhaps the author does have a clue, but that's how it came across to me)
Also, aside from whether you liked the frequent sex scene detail in the book or not, they also mentioned, but then avoided the fact that this was sex between an adult man and a minor. When they first had sex, and when they got married it was brought up, and even the people in the future were shocked and disapproving. But then they all just jumped on past the issue.
Overall, this book was poor enough to put me off trying anything else by this author. Even in high school this would have been embarrassing to admit having wasted time on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars KEEP YOUR DISTANCE!, April 19 2003
This review is from: Catch The Lightning (Mass Market Paperback)
Catherine Asaro, while she has amazing talent and plot ideas with enormous potential, she covers whatever good points this book could have had with the worst collection of filth i've ever read. Unless you are one of those...individuals who prefer to read novels involving explicit physical intimacy, I'd advise you to stay away from Catherine Asaro's works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome book, Nov. 15 2002
By 
William Santiago (Ocala ,Florida USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Catch The Lightning (Mass Market Paperback)
Catherine Asaro is my favorite author I have read all her books and there all great. I will always be a devoted customer and reader to her book and I cant wait to read the Moons Shadow her latest book. Catch the Lightning is one of my favorites but all her book are great I recommend this book to all readers espeacially the was that like Sci-fi books, romance books, and drama books because Catherine puts all of those together and makes the fit perfectly making her books even better then they are. Catherine is a well talented person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beginning with the ending, April 1 2002
By 
C. Glover (Langhorne, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Catch The Lightning (Mass Market Paperback)
This was the first book I read by Catherine Asaro and I was hooked on the Skolian Series. It is hard to explain when this takes place because it has has time travel. It begins in the past ends up in a distant the future. Chronologically, it is toward the end of her Skolian Series so I had to go back and read the other books to learn more about the beginning and the other characters. This book is a lightweight start. I think it was one of the first she wrote, the stories get richer and more complex in her later novels. Catch the Lightning begins on Earth and reads familar. The universe of the Skolians slowly unfolds to draw you in. It is a love story, and it has some very sexy parts. But again, the story unfolds, so before you know it you believe in the lovers and accept they are destined to be together. It is also a story about family and responsibility. I recommend it if you are getting bored with hard sci-fi and want to try something soft that still challenges your definition of the universe. This book should have been more popular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good read., Dec 29 2000
This review is from: Catch The Lightning (Mass Market Paperback)
I liked the tradional romance plot put in a very hard SF setting. I enjoy physics but I find it easier to take with a big dollop of my favorite brain candy. I had 2 problems with the book. The part where they are captured by the villains seems to wallow in sado-masochism and the story just sort of drifts to a stop. I haven't read any of the other Skolian books. A lot of potentially interesting stuff is refered to but doesn't seem to be covered in any of the other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars "Lightning" fails to strike twice, Aug. 19 2000
By 
Nathan (Wilmington, DE United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Catch The Lightning (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book right after the first in the Skolian Saga, Primary Inversion, and boy was I shocked. Yuuk! This book doesn't pick up where the first left off, but skips over 50-150 years of interesting sounding stuff, and focuses on the nephew of the star of Book #1. (Actually it starts on an alternate, present day earth, but that's just a mistake).
After reading all the science theory and explanations in the first book, I was incredibly bored rereading them being re-explained here, usually almost word for word. Five pages on the genes and genetic problems of the Rhon, two on the "tree on the road" ftl model, and on it goes. Also, the characters weren't nearly as captivating as in the first book. I didn't really ever care for or about them, and the memories of pain in the first book are so much more horrible than the actual pain in this one.
Where the first book had a couple of tastefully done sex scenes, it seems that every 20 pages here the characters have to jump in bed together. Also, I think that Tina's reaction to being pulled 400 years into the future of an alternate universe is a little underdone; she just takes it all in stride like she does that kind of thing every day. There was never any real suspense in this book, and the first half of the book doesn't really have anything to do with the second half.
I definitely don't recommend this book. I enjoyed Primary Inversion enough that I'm willing to try book #3, but this one really stunk. I actually found myself rushing through the last two chapters, so eager was I for it to actually end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully sexy romp through a grad level physics book., June 7 2000
By 
Diane Turnshek (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Catch The Lightning (Mass Market Paperback)
Must Read! Catch the Lightning flings us to an alternate universe Earth in 1987. The LA scenes are chilling, gang warfare, drug-related murders, the day-to-day hopelessness of growing up in the inner city. Then we flash forward (using inversion theory) to the Skolian Empire, to a time beyond events in Primary Inversion and the Radiant Seas, to a finale sprinkled with grayed characters we knew and loved in their youth. Catch the Lightning works as a powerful love story. You have to love people named Akushtina Santis Pulivok, and Althor Vyan Selei kya Skolia. I understand why Catherine Asaro's books cross genre boundaries to appeal to the romance market with pages like 44-50, 103-105 and (oooh--hot, hot!) 356--but how does the general romance reader deal with quantum mechanics, introns, inversion theory, time paradoxes, imaginary transforms and, for crying out loud, Hilbert space? "'Riemann sheet,' Heather said. 'It's a mathematical representation designed to make multivalued complex quantities into single-valued functions.'" The steep language obviously didn't bother romance readers who awarded this book the coveted Under the Covers Award and the Sapphire Award. Catch the Lightning is a delightfully sexy romp through a grad level physics book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Catch The Lightning
Catch The Lightning by Catherine Asaro (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 15 1997)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews