Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerfully Emotional Story of Friendship and Betrayal
Lisa See's Snow Flower and the Secret Fan is a deeply personal look into the lifelong friendship of two nineteenth-century Chinese women--a friendship that began when they were paired together as laotongs or 'old sames', what we might refer to as 'soul sisters'. Lily and Snow Flower send messages back and forth, written in the secret women's language of nu shu. Hidden in...
Published on Nov. 13 2006 by Cheryl Tardif

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, yet not fully satisfactory
I really liked the first half of this book- beautiful, new world, and deep, but it became difficult to continue reading till then. I guess the end was clear and not fully satisfactory. But overall, it gave me new insights on Chinese traditions and so on.
Published on Nov. 21 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerfully Emotional Story of Friendship and Betrayal, Nov. 13 2006
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan: A Novel (Paperback)
Lisa See's Snow Flower and the Secret Fan is a deeply personal look into the lifelong friendship of two nineteenth-century Chinese women--a friendship that began when they were paired together as laotongs or 'old sames', what we might refer to as 'soul sisters'. Lily and Snow Flower send messages back and forth, written in the secret women's language of nu shu. Hidden in the folds of a fan or on delicate handkerchiefs, the messages linked these two women together in a friendship that was more powerful than a marriage.

Through the decades, Lily, the narrator, suffers many hardships and challenges. At the early age of seven, she and her laotong endure the common practice of footbinding. The author paints a vivid picture of this ancient torture, used to determine a girl's worth--especially regarding marriage. Lily and Snow Flower are bound by ritual and by their growing friendship and reliance on one another. And then something happens that rips at the core of their friendship.

Betrayal, misunderstandings and anger lead to hurt feelings and separation. Forgiveness is needed. But can these women learn to forgive and let go of old pain? Or will they let their lifelong friendship die?

This wonderful, loving and tragic story of friendship and betrayal will teach the reader much about Chinese traditions. The stunning description of the lands, the sights and smells, paints vivid images upon the reader's mind. But it is the loving friendship of Lily and Snow Flower that will grip your heart and fill it with yearning to have a laotong of your own. What a powerful and emotional story!

~ Cheryl Kaye Tardif,
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Snow Flower and the Secret Fan...a must read!, June 13 2006
By 
N. Jeannotte "nikkij73" (Victoria, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan: A Novel (Paperback)
I just finished this book and loved it! Stylistically it reminded me of Amy Tan's writing, with the focus on the evolution of two women's relationship in historic China. I thoroughly enjoyed learning more about the cultures customs, but to see the relationship of the main characters grow, develop and change throughout the book and their lives was very touching and real. To live in an environment where your worth was judged on how many sons you could give birth to, and that as women, they were so limited in their lives due to rules and their inferior roles in society, maintaining relationships was a challenge.

I would recommend this for many reasons, but I think the enduring love and commitment between friends crosses all generation and cultural gaps, we can all learn something from this book about what is truly important in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting look at 19th century China, May 20 2007
By 
Misfit (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan: A Novel (Paperback)
While the story is a bit slow and drags at time, the look into the relationship between two women who are sworn as children to be lifelong friends, laotong or old sames, is very compelling. And you will learn WAY MORE about the process of foot binding than you ever wanted to know.

Well worth spending a few hours reading about the relationship between these two girls as they matured, married as arranged by their families, and sharing their joys and sorrows.

Four stars for the wonderful depictions of 19th Century life of women in China, three stars for the slow paced storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting and Beautiful, April 1 2006
By 
C. M. Cousineau (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan: A Novel (Paperback)
I found this novel fascinating. With tenderness and honesty it vivdly paints the sorrowful world of women in 19th century China. It informs the reader about a distant culture and imparts an understanding of human psychology and spirituality. Once started I couldn't put it down. It was haunting and I think it will stay with me for a very long time. It honors all women and the hardship they have endured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating but tragic., June 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This story was told in such a way that you felt each character's pain & sorrow. I found it educational in the art of foot-binding; I glad that this practise does not continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Secret World, Nov. 3 2013
By 
Lyle G. Appleyard "Reading Farmer" (Stonewall, Mb. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read this book for a book club meeting I will be attending. I do not think I would have read this book otherwise.

I do not hink that I was the target audience for this book. A story that is albout the secret life of women? I am sure that the author does not mind a man reading it, but women will enjoy the book more. There is only scant mention of the male characters and their names are hardly used.

I did enjoy the book. The author told a wonderful story. The character development. The main character, who narates the story, is very well developed. Through her eyes, we see her intrepretation of the other character, whether correct or not.

The story was very well developed told over many years. There are many themes that the author touches upon. The importantance of a good friend throughout your life. The need for intimacy. That we can learn from others, not matter what each others circumstances might me. The need for honesty in a relationship and how a misinterpreted word can destroy great accomplishment.

WE will have a good discussion at the book club. I am the only male in it. I can see there will be a lot of discussion on the footbinding and what constitutes beauty. I can see discussions on what is expected of a woman in society. Could be a bi of man bashing.

I enjoyed the book. I may not have been the targe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lisa See: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan., Sept. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan: A Novel (Paperback)
This book is probably the best of Lisa See's works that I have so far read.
It is a biography of a Chinese girl from 19th century China. She comes from what we would call the lower middle class, and lives in a remote area of southern Hunan province. She lives a traditional life of bound feet, arranged marriages, and complete subservience to fathers, husbands and sons.
Foot binding started at about 6 years of age, and every tenth girl died from this attempt to stop the feet from growing by breaking bones and creating small, tiny feet for a mature woman. This seemed to be the highest aphrodisiac for men and the way to a good marriage or to a marriage at all. Marriages were arranged very early, and girls were constantly assured of their unworthiness and told what a burden they were for their families. The birth of a girl was always unwelcome, as everyone wanted to have only sons and more sons still.
Partnership in a marriage was not to be hoped for, so the only way to any intimacy for a woman was a bosom friend, the "same sames", other girls, who would become friends for life. It was not just anyone, who can be your LAOTONG, or the same same; there had to be signs, like the height, date of birth and many other things to concur.
All pre-pubertal girls in the world want to have a reliable girl friend, but in the highly class conscious society of old China, even such a relationship had to be half legal, arranged by a professional person, who had similar duties to those of a matchmaker.
The oppressed women of the time and place even created their own language, which, actually, was already old in the 19th century.
The heroine Lily, during her long life, rose much higher in the social scale than her laotong Snow Flower, while in their childhood it had been otherwise. As the relationship with Snow Flower was the most important thing which happened in Lily's life, she became jealous when it seemed that later in life, Snow Flower found other new friendships. Neither riches, social standing, husband, nor children were as important as the first emotional attachment.
In spite of all the tragedy, the book is gentle, well written, full of flowers and the spring-like feelings.
It is lovely reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read for the Howdenvale Bookers, May 17 2013
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan: A Novel (Paperback)
We enjoyed this book, it was well written and it was a book that provided some knowledge on the chinese culture and traditions. It prompted some gals to go on line to research foot binding images, and examples of nu shu writings. Who knew that there are 50,000 characters in the chinese written language and in the woman's nu shu there are 600 phonetic characters which make up 10,000 words. Many of our club enjoy novels which provide information. The characters of the novel and their relationships with each other provided some really good discussion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read. This book provides an understanding of common persons perspective of the onset of Communist China., May 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An excellent book to read and recommend to your friends. It needs to be followed by "Dreams of Joy: to bring the story to a complete end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant Tale of Friendship and Betrayal, March 15 2012
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan: A Novel (Paperback)
What a beautifully written, poignant tale of women's life in China in the 1800's. I absolutely adored this book and found myself completely swept away by the lifestyle and culture so delicately presented. The detail in parts was shocking, such as when the girls foot binding began, while the setting and strict cultural traditions are vividly embedded on every page.

The real greatness of this story, however, is the intimate relationship between the laotongs, or "old sames," Lily and Snow Flower. A tale of true friendship, this story emphasizes the importance of trust, openness, and, ultimately, forgiveness, as the two girls grow into women and experience love, loss, and motherhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan: A Novel
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan: A Novel by Lisa See (Paperback - Feb. 21 2006)
CDN$ 19.00 CDN$ 13.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews