Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Elementary dear reader!
This collection is pretty awesome. It simply a wonderful new way to read Sherlock, however it is not a comic. It is a collection of short stories, which have been printed and enjoyed by thousands, in a new binding accompanied with some nice pictures in a new comic/ modern style. It is must for anyone who loves Sherlock or would like to see what all the buzz is about, but...
Published on Nov. 16 2011 by NPC

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre with a capital 'B'.
I'm late sampling mystery pioneers, thinking old English might be stilted with Shakespeare-like dialogue. Additionally, a 1980s television program portrayed Sherlock Holmes coldly and John Watson as chubby & flustered. General perception should stand corrected that they weren't balding elders like most images show but no more than twenty-five, mistaken as students. John...
Published 19 months ago by Carolyn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre with a capital 'B'., Dec 31 2012
By 
Carolyn (Manitoba) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Study In Scarlet (Paperback)
I'm late sampling mystery pioneers, thinking old English might be stilted with Shakespeare-like dialogue. Additionally, a 1980s television program portrayed Sherlock Holmes coldly and John Watson as chubby & flustered. General perception should stand corrected that they weren't balding elders like most images show but no more than twenty-five, mistaken as students. John was a soldier, thin from illness and discharged to 9 month of convalescence. Sherlock exuded the warm humour of Hercule Poirot, delighted to meet John at the university and excited about chemistry lab work, to the point of hopping. At my first sample of Arthur Conan Doyle, I'm impressed to numerous degrees.

The mystery portions maintain a keen level of fascination, despite "A Study In Scarlet being written in 1887. Shaking the order of novels, a suspect is suddenly arrested in the middle. My regard lowers on two counts: a room of people treat the death of the landlady's pet nonchalantly. Next, zealots terrorize a family for wanting out of Mormonism but excommunicate themselves, in five years. Their tentative allegiance is mismatched to the cruel hunting of a family who merely sought happiness.

Notably assailing expectations, is a shift from the police case.... to a western saga! Sherlock promises to explain two murders but we turn from London, to a desert in the USA. I admire the imagination of the segue and the depth in weaving it. My critique is inability to focus, until familiar men's names are dropped several pages later. The contrast is so bizarre, I wondered if the detective fable ended and a stray story was mistakenly inserted! I did root for the trapped trio and applaud the London murders. Arthur's writing is beautiful too. I laughed and re-read passages: "that great cesspool into which all the idlers of the Empire are irresistibly drained"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elementary dear reader!, Nov. 16 2011
This collection is pretty awesome. It simply a wonderful new way to read Sherlock, however it is not a comic. It is a collection of short stories, which have been printed and enjoyed by thousands, in a new binding accompanied with some nice pictures in a new comic/ modern style. It is must for anyone who loves Sherlock or would like to see what all the buzz is about, but apart from that it doesn't contain any new content. If you don't own any Sherlock Books get it for sure, The pages are crisp and the font isn't too small or hard to read. Definitively one of the best way to read the world famous detective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars story on a page: A Study in Scarlet review, Jan. 30 2010
This review is from: A Study in Scarlet (Paperback)
review of: audio book read by John Telfer

This introduction of the uniquely gifted detective Sherlock Holmes, seen through the eyes of the humble ex-army doctor John Watson, appeals as both a historical mystery, as well as a deeply entertaining portrait of the eccentric sleuth. It was fun to follow along with the easily sympathized Watson as he struggles to figure out both what Holmes has already been able to deduce from the mystery, as well as the great mystery of Holmes himself. Even though I was not particularly interested in the 5 chapters of the criminal's backstory, John Telfer did an amazing job voicing both an excitable and gentlemanly Watson, as well as a soft-spoken and thoughtful Holmes. So, if you are planning to listen to this series in audio, I highly recommend Mr. Telfer as your narrator of choice.

a more in-depth review can be found at my blog (linked in profile)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars story on a page: A Study in Scarlet review, Jan. 30 2010
review of: audio book read by John Telfer

This introduction of the uniquely gifted detective Sherlock Holmes, seen through the eyes of the humble ex-army doctor John Watson, appeals as both a historical mystery, as well as a deeply entertaining portrait of the eccentric sleuth. It was fun to follow along with the easily sympathized Watson as he struggles to figure out both what Holmes has already been able to deduce from the mystery, as well as the great mystery of Holmes himself. Even though I was not particularly interested in the 5 chapters of the criminal's backstory, John Telfer did an amazing job voicing both an excitable and gentlemanly Watson, as well as a soft-spoken and thoughtful Holmes. So, if you are planning to listen to this series in audio, I highly recommend Mr. Telfer as your narrator of choice.

for a more in-depth review, visit my blog:
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great detective makes his first appearance, June 8 2004
By 
David Bonesteel (Fresno, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Study In Scarlet (Paperback)
The book tells the story of how Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson came to be partners and details their first murder case. Like every other conscious person in the western world, I have always been aware of Holmes' titanic status in our popular culture, but this is actually the first story about him that I've ever read. It's very entertaining to follow as A. Conan Doyle introduces the various facets of the Holmes legend: we meet Gregson and Lestrade, watch Holmes and Watson take up lodgings at 221B Baker Street, and are introduced to Holmes' violin playing, pipe smoking, snuff addiction, and, of course, his incredible powers of deduction, which are a marvel to all that surround him. Watson's musings on Holmes' nature are often quite humorous as he attempts to figure out this eccentric individual.
The mystery itself is quite good. Many have remarked on how the story derails with its lengthy digression to the back-story of the murder, which occurred in Utah. This part of the story is sure to offend Mormons, who are here portrayed as a cultish fascist state that will resort to officially sanctioned murder to accomplish its ends. Doyle appears to have been reflecting the prejudice of his time, and this is a very unfortunate and disappointing aspect of the novel. However, if you can look past that, perhaps by imagining that they are some fictional cult, this section of the book is quite effective and suspenseful in its own way. However, the major strength of the story is, of course, Holmes himself. I think that Doyle quickly realized this and focused on Holmes much more closely in later stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great first half..., March 11 2004
By 
This is the first Sherlock Holmes novel and the perfect place to begin reading his literature. Forget about the movie clichés of Holmes and Watson - here you meet them for the first time. Watson - far from a bumbling fool - is a military doctor just returned from Afghanistan. An old acquaintance reluctantly suggests looking for a room with a school chum of his who is a bit odd. We first meet Sherlock Holmes as a graduate student. He's very brilliant - the only thing is nobody can figure out what he is studying or what he does. The two chums become roommates and the rest is history.
Seeing Sherlock Holmes anew, he is reminiscent of a positive version of Hannibal Lecter. Both of them are able to detect anything about a person at a glance - or a whiff. Each have encyclopedic knowledge of medicine, psychology, and everything else you can think of, and both are intellectually vain. Sherlock likes to show off and is downright childish in taking pleasure in how clever he is.
The book starts off great - introducing the characters and getting right to the heart of the matter. It continues at a nice place until the half-way mark where Conan Doyle (who had not yet mastered the art of the novel) interrupts the dramatic action for a flashback. That aside, it is still a great read and you can probably get done with it in one sitting. I HIGHLY recommend the Vintage Classics edition with an introduction by Ann Perry and footnotes, the latter proved an invaluable addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully entertaining, March 5 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (North-Central Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Study in Scarlet (Audio CD)
It is 1878 and Doctor John Watson, his health damaged by his experiences with the British Army in Afghanistan during the Second Anglo-Afghan War, is looking for lodgings in the great city of London. It seems fortuitous, when a mutual friend introduces him to another who needs someone to share costs on a suite on Baker Street, but this other man is quite an eccentric. Sherlock Holmes has bent his life and education towards turning himself into the premier detective.
Watson can hardly credit Holmes's claims of what a first-class detective can do. But, when a note arrives from a Scotland Yard detective, inviting Holmes to consult on a particularly mysterious murder, Watson soon finds himself carried along by Holmes, watching his new friend's powers unravel a seemingly inscrutable knot. The game is afoot, and Holmes needs to solve a murder, and bring a murderer to justice.
This fascinating book was first published in 1887, and was the very first Sherlock Holmes story. In it we get to see the first meeting of Holmes and Watson, and hear Holmes explain his methods in detail. If you are a fan of murder mysteries, then this is definitely a book that you should not miss.
The center part of this story revolves around the actions of the Mormon Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Author Arthur Conan Doyle had a tendency to "wing" the details of his story, and his treatment of the Mormons shows a certain carelessness in how he presented them. Therefore, if you are a Mormon, you will most likely find this book offensive.
But, that said, this is a wonderfully entertaining story that is sure to please most every mystery fan. And, if you are a fan of Sherlock Holmes, then you must read this book! It's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First and best!, Jan. 27 2004
By 
Titan (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Study in Scarlet (Audio CD)
This is the first Sherlock Holmes story, and in many ways it is the best! Sherlock succeeds in unraveling the mystery of a murder there in London, whose root causes go all the way back to Salt Lake City in the US. No Holmes fan should be without this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book!!!, Jan. 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Study In Scarlet (Paperback)
I just finished reading this book and it is great. Sherlock Holmes dedctive skills are amazing. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's discriptions are very vivid( i get a perfect picture in my head). Some words can be confusing but that's what makes the story a little challenging. Buy this book!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book!!!, Jan. 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Study In Scarlet (Paperback)
I just finished reading this book and it is great. Sherlock Holmes dedctive skills are amazing. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's discriptions are very vivid( i get a perfect picture in my head). Some words can be confusing but that's what makes the story a little challenging. Buy this book!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Study in Scarlet
A Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Paperback - June 10 2003)
CDN$ 11.00 CDN$ 9.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews