march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars203
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 52 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on May 9, 2004
What is more inticing than a story involving war-like patrons and scandal? This book has been absolutely entertaining and suspensful to read. It was stunning how many false stories, insinuations, and accussations the character "Iago" had set up from the beginning to the end. There were also so many other character types such as the pawn-like Roderigo, the seemingly calm yet furiously jealous Othello, the bleeding-heart of Desdemona, the honorable Cassio, and more! It was amazing how Iago had actually set up his false stories from the very beginning of the novel where he first employes Roderigo as his foolish pawn. The only factor of this book that was somewhat unsettling was how easily swayed Othello had gotten from Iago's insinuations. To a certain point, it almost seemed unrealistic. For example, towards the end of the play, when Iago retrieves the seemingly precious and invaluable handkercheif and uses it to make it seem that Cassio had recently been with Desdemona, that seems to be a little bit illogical. Just because Othello finds that Cassion has been holding the precious handkercheif doesn't abosuletly mean the Desdemona has been unfaithful. However, some could argue that the heavy pile of insinuations and false stories/accusations that Iago has placed on Othello could be seen as reason enough for Othello's furious rage and jealous behavior. All in all, though, this book has been quite pleasing. The amount of scandal (scandal as in the falsness of Iago) has been enough to please anyone looking for a suspensful tragedy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2003
Much Ado About Nothing, a play written by William Shakespeare, is about two couples, who through a series of trials and schemes, fall in love with each other. This is a romantic play, and it contrasts two types of love, romantic and realistic love.
Benedick and Beatrice portray realistic love. They have a solid foundation for each other, they can tease each other, get mad at each other, and love each other at the same time. They are down to earth and practical about love. Once they fall in love, they cannot be swayed in their decisions even though they try to ignore their feelings. Claudio and Hero, on the other hand, represent romantic love. They live on Cloud 9, and their love is based on physical attraction. In the play they fall in love with each before talking. As soon as their relationship gats rocky, though, Claudio bails out, leaving a heartbroken Hero.
I think that Shakespeare wrote this play to show how comical love is. Benedick and Beatrice, who both swore mutual hate for each other, and pledged they would never get marry, fall desperately in love with each other after overhearing their friend's schemes to get them together. Claudio, who swears his undying affection to Hero, mentally dumps her once in the movie, and then leaves her at the wedding altar, because Don John plays tricks on his mind, and easily sways him to quit loving Hero. I think Shakespeare also tried to show us that true love conquers any obstacle in its way.
There are many life lessons in this play. The title, Much Ado About Nothing, relays one of the most important messages. Claudio constantly makes mountains out of molehills in this play. He is quick to jump to conclusions, and does not stop to verify the facts. He bases his judgments on perceptions, instead of reality.
I would highly recommend this book. Although it was written about 400 years ago, it is still applicable to real life. It was a good book, and it contained drama, action, romance, comedy, and deception. One of its downfalls was that it was hard to understand the language because it was written so long ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2003
This story starts out as four people who don't really know how or that there fate lies with each other. Hero is a very charming innocent girl who likes to please people; she doesn't stand up for herself but basically obeys what her father tells her. She meets a man, Claudio, who falls in love with her because of her beauty. Claudio is very quick to judge and has no loyalty or consideration of other people. He is very selfish in what he acts on, he doesn't seem to care about anything else except what he wants. These two who fall in love with each other, at first they seem to be the perfect pair but soon much is found out about there character and perseverance when they face a trial that will test them and there devotion to each other.
At a first impression you would never guess their feelings toward each other but little did Benedick and Beatrice know. Beatrice is a fiery woman who is very opinionated and never ashamed to speak her mind, and especially shares her opinions with a certain man named Benedick. Benedick also has a very wild outlook and also likes to speak what he believes is right. They often bicker which they state there differences in a very fiery manner. Benedick protests quite openly how stupid he thinks Love and marriage is, which is comical seeing that later on, he would be giddy with the same love that he mocks. Slowly but surely there obstinate passion and their denial of there true feelings fall into the right place.
I think that Shakespeare's main purpose for writing this book is because he wanted to show how important marriage was. That you shouldn't base your whole relationship on what you look like but you should find out who that person is and then decide if you would want to marry them. Shakespeare wanted to describe the difficulties of having a fake-based love. Because then when you actually have to start dealing with the real issues then how are you going to be able to persevere. Whereas when you have that reality love, the love where you argue about stuff, but its realizing that there are different opinions and that you will get in arguments. So when you have that realistic love then you will know how to deal with the person you married. Whereas on fake love you dont even know who they really are let alone how to deal with them.
I have personally learned how important it really is when you are picking whom you are going to live with for the rest of your life. I have learned that you really need to look inside of the person to know who they are and to look at how they react to situations. Also not to base it on looks, because if you marry them then you are going to live with them for the rest of you life. God told us that if we get married then we are to be as one, and you should totally love them. Not just like how they look, but base your relationships on their character and personality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2003
I thought that the play "Much Ado about Nothing" was a very positive and a enjoyable play to read. Shakespeare's main point in the play is that Love makes you act weird. In the play when Benidick over heard Don Jon, Claudio, and Leonato in the garden giving the illusion that Beatrice was in love with him you saw his true feelings come out of him that you thought you would never see. Beatrice and Benidick fight like cats and Dogs but as soon as Benidick overheard that Beatrice was in love with him he acted like a 3 year old when they find out there going to Disney world. He was thrilled at the fact that Beatrice fancied him. Now on the other side of the garden, Hero and another Woman are doing the same Don Jon, Claudio, and Leonato did to Benidick, only to Beatrice. When Beatrice over hears that Benidick fancy's her she is in shock. She acts as if nothing in thw world was wrong with a huge grin on her face and singing like a love struck teenager. Now these are 2 adults that couldn't stand to be in the same room with each other and now they love each other!There's more to that story then just what we think. But you have to read to find out! I have learned a couple of things from reading this play. Iv learned to like people for who they are inside not on the outside. Hero and Claudio's relationship was based on looks. Iv also learned that when u do wrong things punishment may not come to you just then but eventually it will catch up with you. Don Pedro tricked everyone into thinking common things of Hero and he got what he deserved. And last but not least I learned to put family 2nd to God because when everyone else leaves you will still have family. When Claudio made that scene in front of everyone about Hero Beatrice was right there to comfort her. And I would recommend this book to anyone because it was funny and interesting, And I'm a teen. It's hard to keep our attention but me and my class seem to agree that this play was excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2003
Much Ado About Nothing
This is a great story about two couples that like each other and will eventually marry each other, and the couple of Benedick and Beatrice tend to go against each other, but they are really do love each other, and there is the deception of Benedick and Beatrice, and they will both not like to hear that but they will come around eventually. Hero and Claudio on the other hand tend to be a bit more gullible and will learn that Hero had an affair and Claudio will call off the wedding, only to find out it was not Hero, but Margaret who only looked like Hero from the back, and he "killed" Hero by talking himself out of the wedding the first time and then learns that she was still alive when she surprised him when he was going to marry Beatrice, but then after the real wedding, Benedick calls forth Beatrice and will also marry her.
Throughout the play Don John plans to go against Claudio and tells him that he saw Hero with a mysterious man and that made Claudio call off the wedding. Shakespeare wanted to make this play for all of the irony that it brings the readers or the watchers because of the deception in the Garden of Eden and the deception of Beatrice and Benedick in the garden about them liking each other and that was the irony that he wanted to follow.
I have learned that I should not be gullible like Claudio and be more courageous like Benedick and I would do my best to work for God and not I like Don John.
I would recommend this play for anybody, it was the greatest of William Shakespeare and was a great story, I really liked it, the best part was with Dogsberry and he was interrogating the prisoner, which was the greatest. Almost too good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2003
Much Ado About Nothing, written by William Shakespeare, was a well written play. It was, for the most part, very understandable. Although, I personally thought it was a pointless story. It is about two young couples and the different types of love that are experienced in life. It was not a waste of reading, because it kept my full attention, but it literally is much to do about nothing!
Shakespeare's purpose for writing this is to show the readers and the audience who sees the performance the real meaning of love. Love is not always what it seems to be. It is portrayed in this play that real love is 'puppy love'. The type of love that Claudio and Hero have seems to be based on looks and what the people around them think. They are not close personally. It gets to the point that Claudio jumps to the conclusion that Hero is cheating on him, without talking with her first. The real life love that is talked about in this story is the Beatrice and Benedick relationship. They act themselves when they are together, even having disagreements like real people. Although they deny the fact they love each other, by the end of the story they are ready for the world to know.
I've learned from reading this play, the real meaning of love. One should not love for the physical appearance of a person but for their personality and what is inside. As corny as it may sound, it is the truth and what everyone needs to know. People also cannot jump to conclusions. That messed up Claudio and Hero's relationship for a big part of the play. They need to acknowledge the other person and have enough respect for them to approach them before assuming.
I would definitely recommend this play to anyone who loves a good laugh. There are many scenes I did not mention that made me smile and makes the story worthwhile!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2003
Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare is a romantic comedy about two kinds of love. Realistic love and romantic love are both illustrated by two different couples. Benedict and Beatrice illustrate the kind of love that cannot be easily broken, realistic love. Claudio and Hero represent the type of love that is based mainly on appearance and can be hurt very easily. I believe that this is positive reading because it can teach us a whole plethora of life lessons that can still be applied in our daily lives, while at the same time adding a little bit of comedy to get the point across in a humorous way.
I believe that William Shakespeare's purpose for writing this is to show how wacky people can get when love is in the air. Some examples of this premise can be clearly seen through the relationship of Benedict and Beatrice. In the beginning of the story they hate each other because they had some past issues they had. Once Benedict hears a conversation between Don Pedro, Claudio and Leonato when they said something about Beatrice loving Benedict he became the most anyone has ever seen. That is the same case with Beatrice she overhears a conversation where someone said Benedict loves Beatrice and now she is love struck as well.
I stated earlier that this book had many Life lessons that one could learn. One of the lessons that I personally learned is that outward appearance is good and everything, but that should not be the basis for a marriage relationship. If looks are the basis for a relationship then that relationship will most likely fail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2003
Macbeth is one of Shakespeare's finest accomplishments. It is a good vs evil tale about a man, Macbeth, who apparently sees three witches, who are said to be prophets. He starts out as noble, serving the King of Scotland, and a brave and ruthless warrior ("unsealed him from the nave to the chops"). Repeated meetings w/ the three witches would have a profound effect on Macbeth, and his wife, Lady Macbeth. He slowly becomes deranged and hungry for power, and the entire play showcases his manipulative rise to the top, all the way to the point where he becomes the King of Scotland, and his eventual decline (also predicted accurately by the witches). It is full of awesome motifs, moral and interesting themes, great dialogue, action, and believable characters. The only reason I gave this 4 stars is because I had to read this my sophmore year of high school, and I had to analyze this book page by page, line by line, and the student teacher who taught it to us was obsessed with symbolism (like my sophmore teacher already was), and it diminished the appeal of the book to me, albeit slightly. Forget my past encounters in reading this book, because chances are they will not be helpful, but Macbeth is worth reading and analyzing, and it is easily one of Shakespeare's best plays.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2003
Standard disclaimer: when rating a play by Shakespeare, I rate it as compared to other Shakespearean plays, not as compared to the general run of literature; otherwise, the ratings in general would be too high to be very informative. This play, for instance, would certainly rate five stars in a general rating.
As it is, this play can be read either of two ways, and depending on how one reads it, it's either one of Shakespeare's better comedies, or somewhere below mediocre. Naturally, I prefer to read it the way I like it better, and so rate it highly.
If, however, one reads the dialogue at face value, this is a play bearing many resemblances to my absolutely LEAST favorite of Shakespeare's plays: "The Taming of the Shrew". It is a romantic comedy in which the main plot device is that two people who despise one another manage, in spite of that minor impediment, to fall in love. It has the saving grace that there is no hint of Benedick "taming" Beatrice; their idiocy is mutual and completely parallel, but I've always hated this particular plot, and continue to do so. The continuing popularity of it has contributed to an uncountable number of mismatches in real life, as people have been encouraged by their cultural mythology to believe that strong emotion equals attraction, even when it seems on the surface to be repulsion.
On the other hand, in this play it is very easy to read Beatrice and Benedick's lines, right from the beginning, as more bantering than bickering (although there ARE a couple of places where it is a bit difficult to do so) and as the playful teasing of two people who actually ENJOY each other's company for the challenge of the verbal byplay. If one reads it that way, the play makes a great deal more sense, and is actually quite enjoyable. (Plus, it has the advantage of the romance being between two grownups, rather than lovestruck teenagers, as in "Romeo & Juliet".)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2003
The story is set in Messina, Italy, where we meet: Benedick, a brash, conceited young lord of Padua; Beatrice, the arrogant, witty, niece of the Governor of Messina; Claudio, a love-struck young lord of Florence; Hero, the object of Claudio's affection, and daughter of the Governor of Messina; and Don John, the Prince of Aragon's bastard brother and general evil-doer. These main characters get flustered over nothing explaining the title of the book, Much Ado about Nothing. Beatrice and Benedick both vow never to get married. They are constantly having a battle of wits, bantering back and forth. The Prince, Don Pedro, Claudio and Leonato, the Governor of Messina, set up Benedick to fall in love. When they are sure that Benedick is within hearing distance, they begin a conversation about Beatrice's love for Benedick. On the other side of the garden, Hero, Martha and Ursula wait until Beatrice is within hearing distance to carry out their part of the scheme, and begin to talk of Benedick's undying love for Beatrice. Benedick and Beatrice end up falling in love "against their will".
In another plot of the story, Claudio and Hero are in love and are going to get married. But John Don, not wanting to loose his chance of becoming the king, cooks up a scheme to end the wedding. Don John sets up the Prince and Claudio to see Martha, Hero's maid, at Hero's bedroom window with a man who calls her Hero. Claudio, thinking Hero is being unfaithful, refuses to marry her shaming her in front of family and friends.
Much Ado about Nothing has wonderfully developed characters and very descriptive scenes, so much so that you feel as though you can see the sights of Messina along with the characters. Although this is a wonderful and well written story it did have one weakness. Shakespeare used the same theme as in Romeo and Juliet. A friar has the idea that the young Hero, who wants to marry her true love but can not, should pretend to be dead. This seems repetitive and makes you wonder if maybe Shakespeare was running out of ideas.
Much Ado about Nothing is a lively tale of young love and deception. It is a good read for anyone willing to put in a little effort to understand Shakespeare's language and play on words by reading footnotes. It is definitely worth the effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse