Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Holy Grail
Anyone who has ever thought about travelling, this book will make you go! Anyone who has ever been travelling, this book will make you want to go again and anyone who is travelling whilst reading this, this book will make you that bit more adventurous when ordering food in a cafe where a squat toilet is another eating area! It's definitely a case of, if he can do it then...
Published on Nov. 6 2003 by Stuart Mathieson

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deceiving...
One thing this book taught me was to not trust reviews. I don't understand how this book got thirteen 5-star reviews, friends of author perhaps?
Don't get me wrong, there is some useful advice in it. But I just think the author was too eager to write a book. I found it too short, shallow throughout, and packed full of distracting, page filling quotes to help him in...
Published on July 22 2008 by JM


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, Sept. 8 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
A quick read that provides practical information as well as "inspiration."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, June 23 2003
By 
Heather Lowe "hslowe" (Corning NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
The hardest part of world travel is acquiring the mindset that nothing else matters as much as the journey. Getting to a place where you reduce your consumption of unnecessary stuff, commit your time, and leave your daily routine behind takes a fair amount of work, and it also takes a major shift in priorities. Vagabonding serves as the kick-start that gets you to that mental place --the "I can do it, and I can do it soon" reply to the siren call of world travel.
This book is inspiring, clear, and helpful. I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to roam, but thinks they don't have enough money or time. I also recommend it for those, like me, who have gone vagabonding before, know what it takes, and just need a nudge of renewal in order to get back out there again. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book to inspire, not to direct you, April 16 2003
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
As a former "vagabonder" who's now (quite unpleasantly) ensconced in the 9 to 5 world, I needed a book to inspire and redirect my thinking.
This is the first and only travel book that's done that for me.
Rolf is clearly one who understands the vagabonder mentality. That's proven by his cautions against excessive planning, reliance upon guidebooks (even Lonely Planet), and against depending upon your cataloged preconceptions of a travel destination. For the true vagabonder relies almost entirely on serendpity, not obsession. You unplug from the media, from email, from everything. And you rely on now, today.
I thought it both delightful and completely true that one should target a destination based solely upon the flimsiest of whims (e.g., learning to play ping-pong). Because once you arrive, all will be dashed and certainly enhanced simply be being there. This is both the truth and the "zen" of long-term, vagabond travel: once you get there everything will be different, and better, than you could have imagined.
Rolf buttresses his thinking with many quotes from those who have preceeded us in the "vagabonding" mentality. Thoreau, Whitman, etc. (But where is Ralph Waldo Emerson's "Whoso would be a man must be a nonconformist. He who would gather immortal palms must not be hindered by the name of goodness, but must explore if it be goodness"). In any case Rolf addresses in full measure the social "oddity" of vagabonding, including the fulfillment it brings. People will not understand us. So what?
That this is the genuine article is exposed when Rolf catches Lonely Planet founder Tony Wheeeler asserting that some people "go to hotels that aren't listed in Lonely Planet," which is truly the vagabonder - the traveler - mentality.
There are only a few paths for the true vagabonder, and none of those include guidebooks, group tours, "vacations", or possibly even sabbaticals. Vagabonding is a way of thinking, of living, of traveling, of interacting with the world on a global basis.
And as Rolf mentions, it is very, very addictive for those who are so inclined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great book for potential backpackers., Jan. 31 2003
By 
Greg Windom (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
Rolf Potts does a valuable service to would-be vagabonders who haven't quite made up their minds to take the big leap and head off into the great wide world. I can imagine such a person, sitting in a cubicle watching their life tick by, quietly pondering the what-ifs of international travel, yearning for the freedom of the open road but not quite convinced to head out, hesitating...until they read Vagabonding. One quick read of this book and they'll be on the next flight to Bangkok or Cairo or wherever. Vagabonding isn't as much a nuts and bolts guide to backpacking as it is a shot of inspiration for potential travelers. I wish this book would have been written when I first began my travels several years ago. Regardless, it's an interesting read for novices and experienced travelers alike.
One drawback of this book is that it is written like a script for a formal debate, packed with quotes from travel writers and dreary-eyed idealists to justify the author's arguments. Potts is a good writer and experienced traveler; he doesn't need to shroud his writing in clouds of quotes from the likes of Whitman and Thoreau.
I look forward to reading Potts' future travel writing, especially after he ventures off the beaten tracks in the more remote parts of Africa and Latin America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zen and the art of long term travel, Jan. 28 2003
By 
William H. Jenkins (Wichita, Kansas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
Rolf Potts' book is not only a practical guide to spending extended periods in foreign cultures, but a compendium of the best travel writing, recent and classic. It gives practical advice, profiles of travelers of note and a philosophical grounding for leaving home, not only physically but in your head.
This is not a book for those who plan to hang on to the familiar by bringing a discman with favorite CDs, looking for places to catch CNN and moving from internet cafe to American Express poste restante counter. It is for the traveler who is willing to cut loose from his moorings and dive headlong into a culture.
Rolf Potts has a sparkling sense of humor and a truly staggering familiarity with travel writing past and present. He presents wonderful excerpts from great writing and from the experiences of everyday vagabonders. I am truly impressed with his command of literary works dealing with travel. The book can be read in one sitting but should be savored at leisure over a modest Hungarian white or some South African water buffaly jerky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A challenge worth taking and reading�, Jan. 27 2003
By 
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
Not since reading the Jules Verne classic "Around the World in 80 Days" has my imagination been more fired up. I just completed a year of sabbatical of travel around the globe so I could easily act like this book is remedial, which is hardly the case.
This book is an intellectual toolkit for any traveler. It not only lays out a dense amount of valuable and practical advice for many travel topics but it will also work out your mind from the easy chair of your living room.
I have read Rolf's (the author) writings before and was excited to see he was writing a book. I love many travel writers but Rolf is the first to truly represent a younger and recent generation. To spite his youth he doesn't fall into the Gen-X trap of all cynicism and no substance instead his wit and style fall more into an updated Catcher in the Rye vibe.
I recommend if you love his book, become a daily reader of his website, where he posts daily musings and travel quotes. What I strongly recommend against is paying attention to the crackpot that listed the stay at home parenting book as a counter choice to Vagabonding. Clearly this person didn't bother to read Rolf's book, because its clear message isn't about making a life choice of travel over family responsibility, if anything its message is about living your life to its fullest potential so you can experience a life without regret. Something tells me there would be many more happy relationships and families if more people knew more about the big planet out there and followed their unrealized dreams.
Take the challenge and read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There's a giant beautiful world out there for the fearless.., Jan. 27 2003
By 
BC (United States / Global) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
This book is a great travel preparation book. I am a big fan of Rolfs Salon.com travel diaries, but this book is different. It wakes you up to the reality and shows you that you can see the world and experience life for cheap. You really just need motivation - and that's just what this book gives you. Because once you are out there - you'll wonder why you were so tranquilized by the common 9-5 life.
If you are thinking of traveling for an extended period, or know a friend who travels - this book is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vagabonding: An Uncommonguide to the Art of Long-Term World, Jan. 8 2003
By 
"kenew" (Kahlotus, WA. USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
Zorba said it best, "Life is trouble, only death is not. To be alive you've got to undo your belt and look for trouble". When I've undone my belt and followed my heart without fear ... no, without letting my fear dictate and control my journey ... I've always found adventure worth remembering, friends worth keeping and returned with no regrets.
VAGABONDING is a small, practical and useful guide for the art of "looking for trouble" and living without regrets. Potts writes intelligently from his heart and experience. His book provides useful information, wonderful access to resources (especially internet resources) and reason to examine the choices we make, especially those we use to remain in our comfortable and often dull status quo.
My journey has been most fulfilling when I've undone my belt and stepped away from the perceived safety of my status quo. VAGABONDING (whether to distant corners of our sweet earth or the the neighborhood mall for convenient purchases) provides both advice on traveling well and reasons to travel adventurously.
This book is a keeper. It will fit lightly in my day pack wherever I choose to journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: Dangerous contents, Jan. 5 2003
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
If the idea of setting off and traveling around the world has been in the back of your mind for a while, or if your spirit of adventure has just been awoken, this book might just convince you to take the leap.
At less than 200 pages, it is concisely written and straight to the point. Rolf Potts gives you practical, down-to-earth advice while also delving into the philosophy of vagabonding, and giving you some travel anecdotes.
Potts covers pretty much all aspects of long-term travel: from earning the money, avoiding many travelers' misconceptions or wrong attitudes, interacting with locals, to details such as choosing a guidebook or riding taxis. But he makes it clear that the learning experience itself is invaluable He makes you realize (forgive the cliche) just how much you can learn and grow by being on the road, open to possibilities; very importantly, he makes you realize how financially feasible it all is. He also presents a contagious attitude towards travel: be sponaneous, don't plan everything, be open to new experiences, live light. His outlook, gained from vagabonding, extends to life at home as well, and makes you understand just how cluttered with things we don't need and don't make us happy our lives are. If you're interested in travel as a lifestyle and not just a vacation, then a lot of the advice in this book will make perfect sense, as if there was no other way to live. But it's so well put, and Potts covers all the "hows and whys" of travel, that a lifestlye on the road all of a sudden comes into perspective. Wanderlust is infectious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got me back on the road!, Feb. 22 2006
By 
Mark Macisaac (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
Vagabonding provided me with the inspiration to get back out on the road, with a world of opportunity to see new places and take part in different cultures. It got me moving - literally. Can't really pay a better compliment than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel
CDN$ 18.95 CDN$ 13.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews