Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Philosophy Class Meets the Road
This book is essentially about the thought process behind taking time off from your regular life to discover and experience the world on your own terms. If you've been around the world a few times, you'll find it puts many of your fuzzy warm thoughts and ideals into words. If you haven't, it'll probably make you wonder why you haven't taken off already.
People who...
Published on Sept. 18 2003 by Tim Leffel

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deceiving...
One thing this book taught me was to not trust reviews. I don't understand how this book got thirteen 5-star reviews, friends of author perhaps?
Don't get me wrong, there is some useful advice in it. But I just think the author was too eager to write a book. I found it too short, shallow throughout, and packed full of distracting, page filling quotes to help him in...
Published on July 22 2008 by JM


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, June 23 2003
By 
Heather Lowe "hslowe" (Corning NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
The hardest part of world travel is acquiring the mindset that nothing else matters as much as the journey. Getting to a place where you reduce your consumption of unnecessary stuff, commit your time, and leave your daily routine behind takes a fair amount of work, and it also takes a major shift in priorities. Vagabonding serves as the kick-start that gets you to that mental place --the "I can do it, and I can do it soon" reply to the siren call of world travel.
This book is inspiring, clear, and helpful. I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to roam, but thinks they don't have enough money or time. I also recommend it for those, like me, who have gone vagabonding before, know what it takes, and just need a nudge of renewal in order to get back out there again. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best Travel Book of the Year!, Oct. 10 2003
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
Potts, a Contributing Writer to National Geographic Traveler offers his insights and personal philosophy of world travel. The ultimate inspiration for just quiting it all and venturing out on the road. But also loaded with practical travel tips for survival. Potts surprisingly manages to steer clear of politics in a very political world. Though one strong suspects that he's a hardcore libertarian individualist. He's very ecumenical. He takes the best of world's religions and effectively uses selected spiritual passages to encourage the reader towards discovering the deeper meanings of planet-wide citizenry. 5 Stars plus!
Cover design is appealing and fits the adventure seeking subject matter like a glove.
Eric Dondero, Author, Worldwide Multilingual Phrase Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great travel book for hard-core long-term travellers, Sept. 18 2003
By 
Jason "Professional Dragon Slayer" (Baltimore, Moldova, Republic of) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
Rolf definitely knows his stuff.
Unlike other travel guides that have hundreds and hundreds of unnecessary pages that you'll never read, Rolf sticks right to the point and tells you what you want to know right away.
I thought I knew every backpacker travel website out there until I bought this book. In it I found a few great sites.
It's short enough to read in a few sittings yet you'll definitely dog-ear and highlight the hell out of it, especially as you get closer to your trip.
Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There's a giant beautiful world out there for the fearless.., Jan. 27 2003
By 
BC (United States / Global) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
This book is a great travel preparation book. I am a big fan of Rolfs Salon.com travel diaries, but this book is different. It wakes you up to the reality and shows you that you can see the world and experience life for cheap. You really just need motivation - and that's just what this book gives you. Because once you are out there - you'll wonder why you were so tranquilized by the common 9-5 life.
If you are thinking of traveling for an extended period, or know a friend who travels - this book is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How to walk the earth, Aug. 20 2006
By 
Thaddeus & Annie "T&A" (Red Deer, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
This book offers those of us the information that we need to trek the earth. The tips and small bits of info that Potts offers up are amazing and applicable if you are a serious traveller. Not someone who takes holidays but someone who takes months off to explore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, Feb. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
Loved this book! Super easy read but filled with lots of inspiration for those who are trying to incorporate travel into their lives in a long term and meaningful way. The book came earlier than expected in perfect condition. I was very happy with this purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, Sept. 8 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
A quick read that provides practical information as well as "inspiration."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deceiving..., July 22 2008
By 
JM (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
One thing this book taught me was to not trust reviews. I don't understand how this book got thirteen 5-star reviews, friends of author perhaps?
Don't get me wrong, there is some useful advice in it. But I just think the author was too eager to write a book. I found it too short, shallow throughout, and packed full of distracting, page filling quotes to help him in meeting an accepted length for a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars useless...., June 24 2008
By 
daniel gautreau "danieltv" (Vancouver,, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
I've travelled a little over the years so I was interested in this book for bigger & better adventures. What a joke! This book is written for people who've never used public transit! Incredibly simplistic. Should you want to go on an adventure & have any questions; google it! Save your money & put it towards your adventure.

Sincerely,
Daniel Gautreau
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got me back on the road!, Feb. 22 2006
By 
Mark Macisaac (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel (Paperback)
Vagabonding provided me with the inspiration to get back out on the road, with a world of opportunity to see new places and take part in different cultures. It got me moving - literally. Can't really pay a better compliment than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel
CDN$ 18.95 CDN$ 13.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews