Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wanna learn to take pictures, start here.
Einstein wrote a book for lay people to explain the
theory of relativity. I've read it twice, and I still
don't know what Albert's talking about. Ansel Adams wrote
three books on photography, The Camera, The Negative, and
The Print, for lay people to explain how to take
good photographs. I've read 'em all, and at least
I know what...
Published on Oct. 5 1996

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dumbed Down Version of Original Series
Having bought, read, and studied Adam's original series, the revised edition is a dumbed-down version for the modern audience. Though the newer books are good for beginners, they lack depth, detail and insights into serious B/W photography. Okay for the beginner, but find copies of the old editions if you are serious about your photography.
Published on Dec 12 2001 by Rod R.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wanna learn to take pictures, start here., Oct. 5 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: The Camera (Paperback)
Einstein wrote a book for lay people to explain the
theory of relativity. I've read it twice, and I still
don't know what Albert's talking about. Ansel Adams wrote
three books on photography, The Camera, The Negative, and
The Print, for lay people to explain how to take
good photographs. I've read 'em all, and at least
I know what Ansel's talking about, even if I can't take
photographs like his yet (gimme fifty years of practice).
Whether you like Adams' style or not, in technique, he
is to photography what Einstein is to physics: a single
authoritative master who's work can be relied upon.
Of the three books, _The Negative_ is the most important;
but if you are just getting started, the Camera is
where to begin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview of fundimentals of photograph, Sept. 18 2001
By 
Ernest Boehm (Des Plaines, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Camera (Paperback)
Good overview of how a camera and lens systems works. The book discusses all formats of cameras and various lenses and filters in good detail. Very good explainations of exposure depth of field focus and all other general topics are discussed. This is a great reference for anyone who wants to know the workings of a camera. The book also convers what each format of camera can do. It outlines techniques for achieving effects based on focal length, apeture and film speed. There is also a section of filters and what you can do for you. The book has a heavy bias towards black and white but most techniques are transferable to color. There is not alot about exposure control that is in the next book the The Negative. This book will help with camera care maintaince and help you decide what kind of equipmnet you will need as you advance as a photographer. The descriptions are never brand names but types of cameras and lenes. This book is very fundimental and therefore timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate book for purist photographers!, July 29 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Camera (Paperback)
The Camera, book 1 of 3 in the Ansel Adams Photography Series, is well written with many illustrations of the subjects in each chapter. It also includes many of Ansel's own photo's as examples. The chapters are written for the the novice as well as for the journeyman who want to refresh one's memory on the basics. The latter chapters get more involved with technical information. Book 2 and 3, "The Negative" and " The Print" are eqully well written with an introduction to Ansel's own Zone system. A must read for serious photographers or the novice interested in advanced techniques and/ or terminology. Ansel will go down in history not only as a great photographer but teacher and writer as well. I highly recommend this series to anyone interested in taking better pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required Reading for the Serious Photographer, Feb. 15 2001
By 
R. Sandridge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Camera (Paperback)
I thought that this book was very thorough. I learned many useful things, and I also learned many things that don't really apply to me but I found interesting none-the-less. Ansel Adams writes very precisely, and the book is packed with lots of very useful figures/photographs that help in understanding the text that is being read.
The book might be a little boring for a casual picture taker. Also, I imagine that the book might be too basic for a professional who has been doing photography for a great number of years. But for a serious photographer getting started, it is an excellent book. And who better to read than the master Ansel Adams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to the camera, Feb. 21 2002
This review is from: The Camera (Paperback)
I bought this book after taking a photo class at a local community college and was attempting to start on the trail of becoming a serious amateur photographer. This book was _exactly_ what I needed.
It explains all the details of all the modern cameras you are likely to find. Small, Medium and Large format cameras. Think a pinhole camera is the best? It isn't, and the plusses and minuses of pinhole cameras are discussed in this book. He covers all forms of shutters. Range finders. Dual-lens cameras. Everything. If you are looking for an understanding of different cameras and their pros & cons, this is the book to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant introduction to the camera, May 19 2002
This review is from: The Camera (Paperback)
Ansel Adams is indeed one of the most highly regarded photographers ever, and in this first of three instructional books, he reveals much of the foundational wisdom that he gathered over a lifetime taking pictures. The focus of this book is the camera and deals with all types and formats of film cameras and techniques for using them to take wonderful photos.
This book is one of the most common and cherished textbooks used in beginning photography but is indispensable for any interested in better understanding camera arts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You'll use this book even for buying your camera, May 6 2000
This review is from: The Camera (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for any person interested in photography, any level. Here you'll find advice from how to place a tripod to how to get aesthetical results with stereographic pictures of the moon.
Merits and demerits and other features of equipment (cameras, lenses, filters, ...) and techniques (focusing, shuttering, panning, ...) are also pointed out.
I've just finished reading the whole book, but take for sure I'll read it many times from now as a pretty helpful manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly a masterpiece, Nov. 6 2003
By 
Y. Luo "flyeagles" (Herndon, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just like his photos, this book is a classic. It explains the fundamentals quite clearly, with intuitive diagram and real pictures. Its coverage on view camera is extremely valuable. Although not many people use view camera these days, that chapter is an eye-openner for appreciating some of the best pictures ever taken by Ansel and other classic photographers. Its coverage on the basic principles are very thourough too. A must read for every serious photographer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black & White Photography Extensively Detailed, Dec 13 2001
By 
Doc (Gladwyne, Pa USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Camera (Paperback)
This book, the first of a three book series, introduces the reader to the various camera systems and accessories required for successful B&W photography. The book progresses into explanations on aperature and shutter speed selection, lens choices, lighting and image management. No detail is neglected. Best read in conjunction with books two and three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dumbed Down Version of Original Series, Dec 12 2001
This review is from: The Camera (Paperback)
Having bought, read, and studied Adam's original series, the revised edition is a dumbed-down version for the modern audience. Though the newer books are good for beginners, they lack depth, detail and insights into serious B/W photography. Okay for the beginner, but find copies of the old editions if you are serious about your photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Camera
The Camera by Ansel Adams (Paperback - June 1 1995)
CDN$ 28.00 CDN$ 17.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews