Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Victorian Romance!!!
This was a great Victorian romance that had many different twists and turns and took the time to build the relationship between Jamie and Maggie.
Maggie has found herself set up for marriage to a very nice but still just the same, old man. She must make this match since her twin brother has mad a hash of the family finances, and Maggie feels that it's better for...
Published on Jan. 22 2004 by Kristi Ahlers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not a typical shannon drake book
this book was a total disappointment to me. the interaction and relationship of maggie and sir james were not developed well. I mean, there were just too many storylines, too many secondary characters and too many problems between maggie and sir james. i found myself skipping pages of it which i never do with shannon drake book. i know its good to develop a subplot in a...
Published on Dec 28 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Victorian Romance!!!, Jan. 22 2004
By 
Kristi Ahlers (Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When We Touch (Mass Market Paperback)
This was a great Victorian romance that had many different twists and turns and took the time to build the relationship between Jamie and Maggie.
Maggie has found herself set up for marriage to a very nice but still just the same, old man. She must make this match since her twin brother has mad a hash of the family finances, and Maggie feels that it's better for herself to make a match for convenience sake then her brother doing the same and never marrying for love as she once had. See Maggie is a widow she married far beneath her station when she married her love Nathan a police officer who was killed in the line of duty. She wants her brother to experience love as she did. She also feels that she will never find love like that again so she is the perfect choice to make the sacrifice. What she was not counting on were the feelings that Lord Jamie makes her feel. Her soon to be husbands great nephew makes Maggie feel a whole lot of emotions and one of those emotions is attraction!
Jamie wants to dislike Maggie it would make things so much easier if he did. Problem is he finds that despite her forays into Whitechapel and the work she does with the poor, he still finds her attractive and this is something that does not sit well with him at all. His problems don't stop there, he has been asked to not only watch out for Maggie by his uncle, but Queen Victoria has asked him to look into the horrible murders that have been plaguing the East End. At first he thinks he has two assignments imagine his horror when he finds out that the two are actually intertwined and the Maggie may be the next victim.
Despite that fact that Maggie is actually married to Jamie's uncle and in fact does not last long since the Groom does pass away the relationship between Jamie and Maggie is carefully constructed and very romantic. The mystery of Jack the Ripper was well done and added to the story. The Victorian time period is one of my favorite periods and Ms. Drake as managed in this book to pull me in and not let go until the final page of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars powerful police procedural Victorian romance, Dec 31 2003
By 
This review is from: When We Touch (Mass Market Paperback)
In the enlightened late nineteenth century, widow Maggie Graham learns from her Uncle Angus that she and her twin brother Justin are broke due to her sibling's gambling and that his debt could lead to Newgate if not paid off soon. Angus says that wealthy elderly Viscount Charles Langdon mentioned his interest in Maggie's welfare. He would make an ideal husband that would eradicate the Graham debt though her first reaction to her kind fiancé is that he looks more like a corpse than a living person.
However, Langdon's nephew Jamie is appalled with the nuptials between his beloved great uncle and a gold digger who scandalized all by once marrying a commoner. Though attracted to his "aunt", he wonders if she is a deadly black widow as rumored when Langdon dies. As Jamie and Maggie become acquainted over what is best for Langdon's recalcitrant daughter, they also become embroiled in the Ripper case and end up falling into an unwanted love.
WHEN WE TOUCH is an exciting Victorian romance that fans will appreciate due to its deep look at the late nineteenth century (especially female options) and a strong cast anchored by the lead couple. The story line is fast-paced with no one quite like they first appear. The Ripper subplot adds danger and a sense of the era so that the audience receives a powerful historical police procedural inside a charming romance between two combatants.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gets the job done, Feb. 11 2004
By 
Y. Collins "yodi1" (Fairfax, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When We Touch (Mass Market Paperback)
When We Touch is a well-written story. I'm all for female characters with minds of their own, and Maggie's got one. I was surprised to read about how Maggie went to the worst part of town to lecture the people on the use of condoms! Plus it's exciting to read about a super-hot man trying to expose the beautiful woman as a gold-digger while fighting his own attraction to her (and losing the fight!). Most of all, this story exalts love after loss, bringing hope to those of us who think we'll only have it once in our lives. Do this for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not a typical shannon drake book, Dec 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: When We Touch (Mass Market Paperback)
this book was a total disappointment to me. the interaction and relationship of maggie and sir james were not developed well. I mean, there were just too many storylines, too many secondary characters and too many problems between maggie and sir james. i found myself skipping pages of it which i never do with shannon drake book. i know its good to develop a subplot in a book but too much for me can sometimes ruin the very essence of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shannon Drake is the best of the best....., May 5 2004
By 
Kristal Gorman (Buffalo, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When We Touch (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is so great!!! I loved Jamie and Maggie. They had such chemistry and I was glad that Justin and Arianna had found one another. I felt so bad for Arianna by the end of the book! A great read!!! It is going on my keeper shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When We Touch
When We Touch by Shannon Drake (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 1 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews