Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great great stuff, but definately NOT a medical anatomy book
This book , though I have only seen it for one night has shown e thigs I never would have thought of about drawing comic book-esq figures. Its definately a great book for people who aspire to professionally pencil comic books, like myself. But it is not medically accurate, so in that case, not meant for realist drawing.
I see that a few of the reviewers have been...
Published on Aug. 1 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a reviewer from the phillipines
well,i just sold this book.why?i found the instructions too much technical!no step-by-step methods etc.there`s just too much technical stuff going on here,i highly recommend the george bridgman books though!
Published on Jan. 18 2003 by black_bayag


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great great stuff, but definately NOT a medical anatomy book, Aug. 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
This book , though I have only seen it for one night has shown e thigs I never would have thought of about drawing comic book-esq figures. Its definately a great book for people who aspire to professionally pencil comic books, like myself. But it is not medically accurate, so in that case, not meant for realist drawing.
I see that a few of the reviewers have been rather harsh with this book. Well in that affair, let me say that they are cases of people not looking at this book as a comic book referrence, but rather a realistic, fine arts way. So if that is what you are looking for, I do not suggest this book.
As to the explanations in the book, they are a bit tough to understand, but if you study carefully the illustrations, then the instructionsbecome much clearer.
Also, as a side note, as its been stated this is NOT a good book for beginners in the comic book field. In that regard, I suggest "How to Draw Comics the Marvel Way," by Stan Lee, and John Buscema.
To sum it up, this book is for the small group of people who are not beginners to comics, but still need to refer or learn about the comic book style male body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, Jan. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
Just Perfect for what it is!!I received the book really fast...I recommend this one also to anyone who wants to learn a little bit more about that style of drawing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a great book to have in your repertoire for life drawing..., Sept. 30 2013
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
This is a classic and very good.....work your way through it doing each one yourself and you will be a Better artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Systematically Render Any Imaginable Human Form, May 22 2002
By 
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
There is an undeniable rapport which every one of us has with the human form. It has been shown that even newborn infants almost immediately recognize and differentiate between faces and expressions. The human face and body remain amongst the most complex physical instruments known, and the scientific and artistic expression of them has remained a priority throughout past and present civilizations.
This work is a classic in the field, and for perhaps the first time introduced the general public with a methodology of constructing any human figure, in any posture, purely from imagination, without the need for a posing model.
The basis of this system is the concept that any part of the human body can be simplified into a handful of fundamental geometric shapes, which can then be connected in space, and then interact with one another. This approach culminates in the astonishingly realistic construction of the human form in action, of which numerous examples are provided. The emphasis is always upon the spontaneous creation of human characters, projected from three dimensions upon a two dimensional surface.
Most disciplines and endeavors, and consequently the practitioners within it, tend to become complacent, increasingly relying upon a fixed set of tools and habits. This system, in contrast, is sufficiently general that any posture of any form, at any angle of view, can be drawn with equal facility. Just as there is a standard for cursive handwriting, yet eventually each individual projects their own unique personality and style into their writing, this system begins with a standard of figures, yet allows and actually encourages justifiable stylistic changes.
Furthermore, the actual form itself need not be limited to any particular type. One need merely alter the proportions and distances of the geometric archetypal shapes, and the new character, with its unique and symbolic composition, will be well on its way to creation. The figures in this work were wisely kept in an ideal stage, for it is from that form that any other can be created, as deviations from that standard. In this way differences in height, weight, and age, for example, can be readily projected upon the character, and their own personal story will be indelibly and visually told.
Hogarth instructed for years at the world-renown Pasadena Art School, and has also written numerous books supporting this one, including one focusing upon anatomy, as well as detailed books on rendering the hands and feet, not to mention an incredible work on drawing the human face. Remarkably inexpensive when the information provided is considered, the entire collection serves as a foundation for the spontaneous creation of characters whose physical form is symbolic of their capabilities and attitude, always completely independent of the artist having ever viewed a similar living representative.
Do not hold the mistaken belief that examples are limited to the pages of this work. Throughout movie storyboarding, comics, fashion design, medical illustrations, Japanese Anime, and commercial art, you will discover this system being put into practice, through some of the most respected artists of their fields.
This is a system which ultimately facilitates artistic creativity, and deservedly receives the highest possible ratings for its pedagogic contribution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest advanced figure drawing books ever, Dec 9 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
This is one of the greatest, most comprehensive guide to drawing figures in complicated poses and angles. Most people find this book to be too complicated. It's true that the book is very scholarly and requires a thorough study. It's not a how-to book for hobbyists and kids that guides people through figure drawing step-by-step. To get most out of it, one must already be fairly experienced at drawing the figure in more common poses and very committed to learning more. The book is an intellectual collection of techniques and methods to solving *problems* that arise in figure drawing.
I purchased Hogarth's Dynamic Figure Drawing book along with the other books in his Dynamic series almost a decade ago. Since then, I have been studying the books and learning the methods slowly but surely. The books take a great deal of practice and dedication to master the knowledge contained within them. I still feel that I have much to learn from these books, despite the number of times I have referred to them through these years. However, I feel that it is because of the knowledge gained from these books that I have grown so much as an artist over the past years. I only regret that Hogarth died before I could sign up for any of his classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta watch that foreshortening!, July 28 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Not near Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
Superior to almost any human anatomy art book you care to name. Hogarth shows us that there are no shortcuts to any place worth going --the nuances of human musculature, skeletal structure, and basic laws of movement MUST be studied before anything approaching saleable results appear on paper. That said, this book is an immensely rewarding journey --it helped tremendously in getting my illustrative career off the ground and there frankly isn't enough praise I can heap upon Mr. Hogarth without sounding ridiculous. Forget "tips and tricks" from comic book artists --this book will propel your work to an entirely new level of kinetic realism. FOR SERIOUS ILLUSTRATORS ONLY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to advance your drawing skills, July 17 2003
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
The book is actually the only reason I became interested in figure drawing. It's not really an intro to learning how to draw but rather helps advance your basic skills and understanding at figure drawing. Keep in mind, the book is actually about dynamic figures, not just a pretty adjective for the title.
As long as you have basic knowledge of art/english vocabulary and are actually interested in better figure drawing, not just the simple basics, then this book is a great resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful figure drawing reference, March 15 2003
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
It looks like it has every pose imaginable in it. But it doesn't. But that's ok, it shouldn't be used as an excuse not to observe from other sources. Over 300 beautifully and clearly drawn poses to copy and study.
Wonderful for understanding how proportions change with foreshortening and perspective, as the body moves. Advisable for students on any level to both copy from and use as a reference.
I feel the same about all his books. I would get them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a reviewer from the phillipines, Jan. 18 2003
By 
black_bayag (manila,philippines) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
well,i just sold this book.why?i found the instructions too much technical!no step-by-step methods etc.there`s just too much technical stuff going on here,i highly recommend the george bridgman books though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, but more females, please..., Jan. 14 2003
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
A good book if you're a more advanced artist and want over-muscled, foreshortened and dynamic action poses--with few instructions--for the male anatomy. Great for fantasy illustrators (which I am) and comic book artists, but not for those seeking realistic poses. My only gripe is that there are so few female figures (same goes for "Dynamic Wrinkles and Drapery", but I don't know about his other books). Might be good to buy along with "The Figure in Motion", since that is mostly of females.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dynamic Figure Drawing
Dynamic Figure Drawing by Burne Hogarth (Paperback - Aug. 1 1996)
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 16.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews