Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Free us like the birds, March 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Send One Angel Down (Hardcover)
This book is set during the 1800ï¿s during the horrible times of slavery. Abram has been exposed to the many painful ways of these times. After he was born, his mother had passed away, and his father had been a run-away slave, with only his aunt and granny he realized when his baby cousin, Eliza, was born that he had to take care of this baby and act a fatherly roll. The plantation owner, Master Turner, is a cold hearted man with two daughters who discriminate Eliza for her blue eyes and honey colored ski, for being half white as well as being half black. This story shows the pains that Eliza and Abram had to go through this period of time.
I enjoyed this book because it was very descriptive and detailed of how these slaves were treated during this time period. At the end of this book, during the afterward, it tells of how this story is true. It shows the racial differences and how the African Americanï¿s tolerance of being abused and overworked during the many years of slavery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Send One Angel Down, Feb. 25 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Send One Angel Down (Hardcover)
"'Why do I look like I'm in the middle? Not as dark as you or as light as them. A different color altogether. What does that make me?'" When you look in the mirror and you see you, do you know who you are? Life has more secrets than we know about. In the book, Send One Angel Down, Eliza and her cousin, Abram, live every day of their lives trying to find out who they are and what their job in life is. Along the way, they encounter many problems that get in the way of their dreams. When Eliza is old enough to understand that she is different from the other slaves because of her pale skin and bright blue eyes, she wonders why she is so different. Her older cousin, Abram, tries to keep the details of her background from her because he wants to protect her from the pain and harsh realization that come with that background. Eventually, Master's daughter, Abigail, goes too far with her comments about Eliza's being different and Eliza forces Abram to tell her about her background. Once he tells her, Eliza doesn't want to believe him but she knows that Abram wouldn't lie to her. As Eliza grows up, Abigail becomes jealous of the young slave's beauty and tells Master Tuner to put Eliza out in the fields. Being out in the sun only makes Eliza's beauty greater and Abigail becomes even more jealous. To calm his daughter, Master Turner puts Eliza on the auction block. Abram and Aunt Charity, who is Eliza's mother, sneak out of the fields to watch the auction. At the auction a man, the "Swedelander" and a buyer from New York bid on Eliza. Who will buy Eliza? What will the man from New York do with Eliza if he bids highest on her? What about the Swedelander? What will he do with Eliza if he bids highest on her? If you like historical fiction, this is the book for you. What I liked about this book were the sub-plots that occurred and kept me interested in the story. Most readers will enjoy the way the author showed the strong bond between Abram and Eliza. Any teenager, boy or girl can read this book and stay interested because each character's thoughts are expressed in a thoughtful way. A 5-star book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Send One Angel Down, April 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Send One Angel Down (Hardcover)
Being a slave isn't easy, but this unique book shows the hope of one slave girl and the power of her dreams. As you read Send One Angel Down by Virginia Schwartz you will learn the sadness of slavery but the happiness of hope. In this Historical Fiction you will read about two cousins; Eliza and Abram. Eliza, the youngest of the two was born into slavery. As she gets older she earns the jealousness of Miss Abigail {Masters daughter}. Eliza has cream-colored skin and bright blue eyes.
The setting of Send One Angel Down takes place on a cotton Plantation, in North Carolina. If you want other books like this book Schwartz has written are If I Just Had Two Wings, Drowning Ruth, Messenger, and Initiation. These book's are filled with detail and realistic stories about 'real life people."
Send One Angel Down will capture you in unforgettable moments. As you realize the amount of hope one can offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fly Away Angel, Sept. 24 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Send One Angel Down (Hardcover)
The book, Send one Angel Down, I think is a five star book. If you are into slavery and all the miss treated black's back in the day. The whole book is about a boy named Abram telling his life story about what all happen to him and his family. The stories he tells about his child life will make you cry, laugh and everything in between it. Which I think makes a great book that you will never want to put down until you are done. The character I that I could most relate to is Eliza. Eliza is caring and loving to everyone out though the whole story, even after what she see go on day and day out. I know that from Eliza I learned not to take life for granted and live everyday like there is going to be no tomorrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A spiritual, and enlightening experience!, May 12 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Send One Angel Down (Hardcover)
This book takes place over 100 years ago during the awful time of slavery. Mixed in with the horrible experiences of being slaves, the two main characters, Abram and Eliza grow up together, yet grow apart. Abram is strong, yet able to handle being a slave for his entire life. Eliza is different. The circumstances of her birth and growing up were different, eventhough they were so closely entwined. I found myself taken into the plantation, and the birthing cabins and the auction blocks along with the characters in the book. I found myself in a different time and place; totally transformed. A wonderful book for all to read, and warm characters to grow to love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Young slave girl confronts the horrors of her existence, June 16 2000
By 
This review is from: Send One Angel Down (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this beautifully written, deeply felt story of the young, mulatto slave girl Eliza, who, stuck between being black and white, must struggle to find her way in a world of strife, inhumanity and prejudice.
The lessons to be learned in these pages are as powerful as they are eternal. The author elegantly reminds us in this book that these lessons have yet to be fully realized.
An excellent read for young adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, June 9 2001
By 
Deborah Di Gioia "Dynamic Diva" (Middle Village, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Send One Angel Down (Hardcover)
My Daughter really isn't into reading at all but "Send One Angel Down" has changed her mind. The story really kept her going and for once she enjoyed reading a book and now she doesn't complain about reading a book for school reports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Send One Angel Down, May 22 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Send One Angel Down (Hardcover)
This book is well-written and very captivating. I thouroughly enjoyed it, and would recommend it to everyone! It brings in to light the horrible doings of the slave trade, and is very compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Send One Angel Down
Send One Angel Down by Virginia Frances Schwartz (Hardcover - Feb. 2 2000)
CDN$ 18.95 CDN$ 13.83
Usually ships in 1 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews