Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Improve your vocabulary whilst having fun, Oct. 28 2008
This review is from: Scientific Progress Goes Boink: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
This (and all the Calvin and Hobbes books) did more to improve my children's vocabulary when they were in elementary school than almost any other book they read! Funny, thought provoking and an intelligent comment on society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Calvin the Scientist?, July 17 2004
By 
Lonnie E. Holder "The Review's the Thing" (Columbus, Indiana, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scientific Progress Goes Boink: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
There is one thing about any Calvin and Hobbes book, they are always funny. They are funnier if you have children. This edition has several classic sequences. In one series Calvin duplicates himself, and mayhem ensues, all blamed, of course, on the duplicates. Naturally Calvin has a unique way of getting out of trouble. Calvin also has a rather entertaining time with his babysitter, who seems forever doomed to being outwitted by Calvin, even if she always wins in the end (and Calvin's parents always lose as they have to bribe her to come back).
Of course there are always the ever-interesting Spaceman Spiff strips, usually involving either Calvin's teacher or his mother. Calvin also appears in a number of strips as a carnivorous dinosaur, the Calvinosaurus. As with any Calvin and Hobbes book, there are the inevitable interactions with Hobbes that extend from fighting and arguing to tender solitary moments.
Because Calvin and Hobbes is a unique series it is difficult to compare to other series or books. All the books I have are all generally of equal quality in terms of the stories. I have a slight preference for the treasury books with their color strips, but Calvin and Hobbes are funny in color or black and white. If you need a good laugh, you'll likely find it here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scientific Progress Goes "Boink", June 14 2004
This review is from: Scientific Progress Goes Boink: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
This is a cool comic strip book.I say go for it for people who like comics and\or comic strips in books or in newspapers!!!:):):)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HA HA HAA ! HILARIUOS !, Dec 14 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Scientific Progress Goes Boink: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
if u liked the simsons,and if your a comic lover, or just love comedy, this is a wonderful book ! i love it because it is so FUNNY!! i fell in love w/ these series, i buy as many as i can. this is a good book for you to start to fall in love with C&H. Other good C&H books are Werdeos from another planet, and its a magical world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Too Much Fun, Aug. 30 2003
This review is from: Scientific Progress Goes Boink: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
Lest anyone feel weary about buying a kid's comic book: don't! Bill Watterson writes for an intelligent audience and even though Calvin is six year old boy he often says things that are clearly the work of an adult.
Calvin is determinedly and hillariously anti-authoritarian. Bill Waterson got into some trouble once for drawing a cartoon where Calvin fantasized about blowing up his school with an F-16 and heat seeking missles. I agree with Waterson that this just goes to show that some people were never kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scientific Progress goes boink., Aug. 26 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Scientific Progress Goes Boink: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
I really like the book. My favorite parts are when Calvin locks Rosalyn ( the baby sitter ) out and when he puts on his Stupendous Man costume,pounces on her and hides in his treehouse. I also like the Spaceman Spiff,Tracer Bullet,and Stupendous Man adventures.They are all really Calvin. I also like the part where Calvin and Hobbes make duplicates of Calvin and then transmogrify them into worms and travel to the dinosaurs. I also like the G.R.O.S.S. club (Get Rid Of Slimy girlS ) meetings . This is why I like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Watterson is an expert scientist, Sept. 13 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Scientific Progress Goes Boink: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
Bill Watterson is an expert scientist who writes authoritatively on the subject. All Calvin and Hobbes books deserve ore than 5 stars. This collection speaks out and brings us back to our childhood where we can enjoy the many wonders of a simple cardboard box and apply science to meet our whims. There are no words that can describe the creativity of Bill Watterson and his ability to make us all relive our Calvin and/or Hobbes days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, May 30 2002
By 
D. Dubei "ioancuza" (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scientific Progress Goes Boink: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
truly and surely one of the best comic strips ever! were you to be sick in bed and need something to make you laugh, this is the best medicine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars spgb "Calvin and Hobbs", May 17 2002
This review is from: Scientific Progress Goes Boink: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
Everything went fine-recieved book in a timely manner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Calvin is my role model!, Dec 26 2001
By 
This review is from: Scientific Progress Goes Boink: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
"Scientific Progress Goes 'Boink'" is a collection of "Calvin and Hobbes" comic strips by Bill Watterson. The strips document the misadventures of Calvin, a small boy, and his stuffed toy tiger, Hobbes (who comes to life in Calvin's vivid imagination). In this volume we see Calvin's alter egos (daring interplanetary adventurer Spaceman Spiff, private eye Tracer Bullet), get a lesson in Calvinball ("No sport is less organized than Calvinball!), witness the rampage of the Calvinosaurus, and attend meetings of the G.R.O.S.S. (Get Rid Of Slimy girlS) club.
Many of the storylines in this book have a strong science fiction element: in Calvin's imagination, his "personal gravity polarity" is reversed; he turns into a giant; etc. But the most fun comes when Calvin decides to clone himself. Much of the humor springs from the discontinuity between Calvin's rich fantasy world and the perspective of his often frustrated parents. Through it all, Hobbes remains a witty and philosophical pal to the mischievous Calvin.
C&H is a comic strip that is both consistently funny and consistently intelligent. The art is great, especially in the fantasy sequences (check out the noirish milieu of Tracer Bullet, for example). Calvin himself is a nonconformist, a terror to authorities of all types, a dreamer and a schemer -- he's one of the all-time great comic strip characters, and "Scientific Progress" is a great showcase for him and Hobbes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac61e438)

This product

Scientific Progress Goes Boink: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection
Scientific Progress Goes Boink: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection by Bill Watterson (Paperback - Jan. 1 1991)
CDN$ 15.99 CDN$ 11.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews