Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars gas pedal for a foot locker kicks off
i used to think that "the days are just packed" was the best C&H book but when i bought this one,i knew that it was the best."attack of the deranged muntant killer monster snow goons" has some of the most funny comics i have ever read. this book contains:the attack of the snow goons,the 'calvin show',calvin's late school project,and the...
Published on June 21 2004 by troy musgrave

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic
Not as funny or relevent today - of course the times have changed and I am older now. Still cute and gave me some chuckles. More for kids though I would say.
Published 28 days ago by Raven


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic, June 25 2014
By 
Raven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attack of the Deranged Mutant Killer Monster Snow Goons: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
Not as funny or relevent today - of course the times have changed and I am older now. Still cute and gave me some chuckles. More for kids though I would say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gas pedal for a foot locker kicks off, June 21 2004
By 
troy musgrave (Richmond, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Attack of the Deranged Mutant Killer Monster Snow Goons: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
i used to think that "the days are just packed" was the best C&H book but when i bought this one,i knew that it was the best."attack of the deranged muntant killer monster snow goons" has some of the most funny comics i have ever read. this book contains:the attack of the snow goons,the 'calvin show',calvin's late school project,and the "noodle incident".this is clearly the best. my favorite part in this book was the 'calvin show' where he cut some cardboard up and put his face in it and his dad said he'd prefer the tv with the volume control. yeah. that was hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the greatest comics in this one!, May 19 2006
This review is from: Attack of the Deranged Mutant Killer Monster Snow Goons: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
OK, this book has some very classic lines, and it has my all time favorite gag in this one!
(Calvin and Hobbes walking up hill, covered in snow.)
Calvin: That was a heck of a ride.
Hobbes: I'll say.
(Pause.)
Hobbes: I've never seen a sled catch fire before.
Calvin: We were lucky the pond hadn't frozen.
And it also has the classic story about when Calvin gets the chicken pox, when he and Hobbes are attacked by the Deranged Mutant Killer Monster Snow Goons. This is an amazing story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my absolute favorite, May 14 2004
By 
Rocco Dormarunno (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Attack of the Deranged Mutant Killer Monster Snow Goons: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
Bar none, the deranged mutant killer snow goons are my favorite of all of Calvin's imaginary nemeses. The artwork and story lines are the best continuous comics that the very badly-missed Bill Watterson created. The snow goons arise and the battles begin. And, once again, who bears the brunt of this war? Calvin's parents who can't help but wonder how their son turned out the way he did. This is a wonderful collection that I turn to whenever I feel like a six year old besieged by the mutant killer snow goons in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute smash (like all others), July 22 2003
By 
"relykk" (Albany, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Attack of the Deranged Mutant Killer Monster Snow Goons: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
Who can get enough of Calvin and Hobbes? Certainly no one on this earth. Maybe on planet 5 or 6. Calvin and Hobbes are delightful in this collection of strips. Because of the time it was published the Sunday strips in Snow Goons are not reprinted in color in other books, save several that appear in specialized Calvin and Hobbes volumes, which are available at Amazon.
Just because the Sundays lack color does not diminish the hilarity in them. This book in full of laughs and not to be missed by any Calvin and Hobbes freaks (you know who you are) or by one seeking the "Best Medicine."
The book kicks off with two stories. Calvin gets a typical kid's disease. The next story takes place at the dinner table, which, with Calvin, is asking for trouble. Family values are expressed and Calvin's reactions to them are priceless. "It's impolite to leave the table in the middle of a meal." "So what am I suppposed to do? Just SIT here and watch you guys CHEW?! Among other things, Cretaceous beasts appear. Calvin's deadly two wheeled, one chained, metal menace develops devious hunting techniques. Calvin's dad is given a very visual report of his foundering in the polls. Calvin becomes lightening. Calvin tries bungee jumping. The wagon is brutalized again. Calvin's dad is confronted about cultural issues. G.R.O.S.S. launches an assault upon a certain female neighbor and classmate. Calvin struggles to learn math, now with assistance from the father figure. Spiff finds yet another few planets overlooked by the rest of human civilization. Another intense match of Calvinball unfolds. Stupendous Man and Tracer Bullet bring justice to the world. An updated Duplicator adds another few luaghs. And Calvin also, unwittingly, creates an army of deranged mutant killer monster snow goons who lack remorse for anything. Only a with help of a hose, a furry friend, and the cover of darkness at a late hour can he have any hope of vanquishing his own out of control and deadly creation.
Too many other things happen as well and hopefully this has prodded you to whip out a credit card and purchse this fascinating and fall-off-your-cahir-funny book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some of Watterson's Funniest Calvin & Hobbes, July 3 2003
By 
John Nolley II (Fairfax, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Attack of the Deranged Mutant Killer Monster Snow Goons: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
I first began reading Calvin and Hobbes in the newspaper around the time he introduced the Killer Snow Goons story, where Calvin builds yet another mutant, deranged snowman--but unlike previous strips, Calvin attempts to bring the snow goon to life a la Frankenstein, leading to the monster creating an army of similarly deranged snow goons.
Watterson's artwork as usual is imaginative and humorous, and Calvin and Hobbes' interaction in this book are particularly hilarious. If you've never read C&H before, consider this book a great place to start; long-read fans will also enjoy it as one of the best selections in the Calvin & Hobbes library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great bedtime stories, March 12 2003
By 
James Ferguson (Vilnius, Lithuania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Attack of the Deranged Mutant Killer Monster Snow Goons: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
I've been teaching my son to read English through Calvin and Hobbes books. I've been surprised how much of it is written with an adult in mind. We have drawn much amusement from these books. The Snow Goons isn't quite as rewarding as other C&H collections, but is enjoyable nonetheless. This is more a weekly format with black and white strip cartoons. None of the Sunday spreads are contained within this collection, where one really saw Watterson show off his stunning imagination. However, it is very much worth adding to the archives, especially for bedtime stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't read this review, just get it, period!, March 9 2003
By 
Kobe (Medford, Oregon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Attack of the Deranged Mutant Killer Monster Snow Goons: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
This is one of the best books I have ever read! Calvin is a boy who does some pretty wierd things, and says some too! Calvin gets in trouble constantly, with his stuffed animal Hobbes behind him all the way. The jokes that this book has to offer are awesome! The jokes don't always need that many words. Let me give you an example. It shows the steps Calvins' mom uses to get ready for work in the morning, such as putting on a new dress, makeup, and stuff like that. Then she walks down the stairs and out the door only to find herself sprayed with a hose from Calvin! Then it shows Calvin in his room rubbing his butt and saying,"What a grouch!"
This book is great for you if you love to laugh and you think even jokes that don't make you laugh your hide off but still are really pretty funny. If you are like this, no matter what age you are you will like this book!
You will probaly not like this book as much if you duslike commics and don't laugh at things sometimes that may not be so unbelievably funny.
I highly recomend this book and it is great to read something that isn't a tomb but isn't Barney! This is more than just than a book about a kid with an every day life, trust me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1, then another!, Jan. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Attack of the Deranged Mutant Killer Monster Snow Goons: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
When Calvin makes a snowman come to life, it's evil-not
only that, but it makes MORE! Calvin get's lots of trouble!
This is a great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves more than a 5!, June 26 2002
By 
This review is from: Attack of the Deranged Mutant Killer Monster Snow Goons: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection (Paperback)
I loved Calvin and Hobbes when i was a little kid and I still do now! They're hillarious and Calvin reminds me so much of myself at
his age (not in every aspect). Especially our family camp trips. calvin and his mom remind me so much of myself and my mom when
our dad took us camping and it turned out to be a disaster, lol. These cartoons make me want to be a kid again. Almost everyone has
said this but I'll say it again. You'll start out planning to read a few pages but you won't stop there. you can't. it's so additive. some of
the younger kids might not understand some of the big words but older kids will. But I think that grownups will enjoy them the most.
Get them
all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Attack of the Deranged Mutant Killer Monster Snow Goons: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection
CDN$ 14.50 CDN$ 10.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews