Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!
Dilbert is the signature comic of the cubicle generation. It never ceases to amaze me how an engineer who wrestles to keep his characters even looking consistent, because he is admittedly not a great artist, has managed to make so much of his strip. The reason, of course, is that he understands the climate and atmosphere of so many of us who walk the mazes of cubicles...
Published on June 9 2011 by B. Breen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars could be better...
This is okay...but it really needs more in the way of annotation to be really worthwhile. After all, we've seen all these comics before, and while there is SOME behind-the-scenes stuff, it's just not enough. Gary Larson did this kind of thing right; Adams should take a lesson from him.
Published on Feb. 15 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, June 9 2011
By 
B. Breen "Canuckster1127" (Sterling, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Dilbert is the signature comic of the cubicle generation. It never ceases to amaze me how an engineer who wrestles to keep his characters even looking consistent, because he is admittedly not a great artist, has managed to make so much of his strip. The reason, of course, is that he understands the climate and atmosphere of so many of us who walk the mazes of cubicles chasing the corporate cheese. He's captured the cynicism, the drollness and the other elements that help us cope with the impersonal affronts that greet us regularly.

If you have every other Dilbert, you may want to think before picking it up as it has no new material. It does however, have the unique arrangment that shows the development of so many characters. The notes themselves add an element that gives insight into the twisted mind of Adams.

Viva la Dilbert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding introduction to the Dilbert phenomenon, Oct. 8 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Scott Adams' Dilbert comic strip is simply brilliant; Dilbert is the embodiment of the typical white collar working man. Other comic strips may be funny, but Dilbert personally connects with huge numbers of people in ways no other comic strip has ever come close to matching. It's really amazing how a single three-frame daily comic can say so much so well. I feel a particular affinity to both Dilbert and his creator Scott Adams. Adams' first job was a bank teller position, as was mine. I am also quite familiar with the whole cubicle phenomenon, and while my own work experience was never quite as dysfunctional as that of Dilbert, I can relate to and understand very well the types of management decisions, innovatively silly programs and campaigns, and team-building charades that take place in Dilbert's workplace. You don't have to be a cubicle veteran to "get" Dilbert, though, and Adams' humor is so razor-sharp and grounded in common sense that Dilbert's fans should be and are legion in number.
Seven Years of Highly Defective People makes a great introduction to Scott Adams' brilliant comic strip. Not only do you get a sampling of Adams' best creations from the time of the strip's appearance in 1989 to 1996 and the publication of this book, you get a great introduction to the characters who share Dilbert's world. You can see the progression of the The Boss over time and marvel at the appearance and growth of his increasingly pointy hair, watch Dilbert's coworker Alice evolve from a nondescript female character to the triangle-haired attitude-laced pistol she came to be. Wally has always been Wally, but this guy makes any comic strip frame better and funnier just by lending his presence. Then there are the minor and not-so-minor other characters: Ratbert, Catbert, Bob the Dinosaur and family, Dilbert's Mom and never-seen Dad, the world's smartest garbageman, Phil the Prince of Insufficient Light, Asok the intern, Ted the Generic Guy, etc. My favorite character is of course Dogbert, Dilbert's dog who is constantly scheming to take over the world, creating some of the most amazing jobs for himself to aid him in his efforts. Dogbert gets to say all the things that Dilbert (and his author and I and many of us) would like to say but cannot even think about uttering aloud.
Each significant character gets a little bio-type write-up here, and perhaps best of all Adams has included notes for the majority of the comic strips stuffed into these 250+ pages. It's fascinating to see how little things he did almost on a lark ended up becoming so popular that they had to be incorporated into the whole Dilbert universe. Even more fascinating are Adams' references to the many controversies some of his seemingly innocuous comic strip ideas met with. His comments on his own poor cartooning skills are also quite funny and, it would seem, true to an extent. Of course, Dilbert wouldn't be the same if it came out looking like a piece of art or a Disney-type production. Most people either "get" Dilbert or don't "get" him, and I think most individuals can establish their respective place with a look at a small sampling of the comic strips. Those whom Dilbert speaks to as a prophet of truth blazing forth across the heavens would do well to invest in this significant collection; there are a lot of Dilbert books on the market, but I think Seven Years of Highly Defective People is among the best of the bunch and is particularly appealing to those wanting to review or learn about the early years of Dilbert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, July 7 2003
By 
"autumngreer" (Dallas, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This book is a must for Dilbert fans. Its shows the evolution of dilbert and characters to what we see today, along with author notes. I truely enjoyed reading this book, it kept me laughing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SEVEN YEARS OF HIGHLY EFFECTIVE COMICS, Dec 10 2002
A single cartoon that I have laughed the hardest at, the longest at, as to be a Dilbert. Scott Adams has jokes that may step over the line in a businessman's perspective, but if you're a comics fan, its like gold.
In this book, we have the best of the beginning, the outrageous of the origin, the super of the Seven. In this book, you will get no new comics, but something that I think every popular comic strip compilation should have. Comments from the author. Somehow, they enrich your reading by providing insights such as: if Adams thought it was dumb, what parts of this outrageousness actualy IS true. Or presenting a phrase that kills him (with laughter!) every time (can you chant?). I'm glad he took the time.
In this book, Adams has a few paragraphs/a page or two about every character, as small as its role may be.
The characters include:
-Dilbert
..& Dogbert
...& Technology
..in the Business world
...& women
...& his ego
...Dies
...Travels
...Attempts to join the Consumer Society
-Dogbert
..the Early, Vulnerable days
...Reveals his Sarcasm
..& the many occupations
..Schemes to Conquer the World
...Saves Dilbert
-Ratbert ("Timmy" is the best EVER!!!!)
-Garbageman
-Liz
-Dilmom & Dildad
-Bob & the dinosaurs
-Catbert
-Phil
-Asok (he's cool!)
-Tina the Tech Writer
-Elbonians (crack-ups!)
-The Boss
-Alice
-Wally (my fav character)
-Carol
-Critters
-Dogbert in Hats
-Ted the Generic Guy
-Slapstick (the phrase, that isn't a person!)
He missed janitor.
Ah, well. This-esp. with the insight comments from Adams-belongs on the shelve of anyone who likes comics (or anything) in the 90's. Or if you like Dilbert, or laughing 'till you strain something.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any Dilbert fan, Dec 28 2001
By A Customer
SEVEN YEARS OF HIGHLY DEFECTIVE PEOPLE is a must buy for anyone who likes Dilbert. Reading it is a hilarious review of Dilbert comics from 1989 to 1995-- all of them conveniently grouped by theme or person.
Scott Adams also includes his own notes after many of the strips, and they are both funny and revealing. Through his frequent discussions of the histories of the characters, one gains a greater apprecation for the many changes Dilbert has gone through.
I would highly recommend this book to any Dilbert lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spectcular Dilbert Book, Sept. 29 2001
By A Customer
Seven Years of Highly Defective People is a marvelous Dilbert book. It exposes the characters, and how they got started. It also includes strips from previous books and Scott Adams's thoughts on the comics in his own hand writing! It's a classic for any Dilbert fan. You can find your favorite characters like Dilbert, Dogbert, Boss, Alice, Wally, Catbert, Ratbert, Asok the intern, Tina the Tech Writer, Carol the evil secretary, and many, many more. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Only an In-DUH-Vidual would miss out, Sept. 1 2001
This review is from: Seven Years of Highly Defective People (Hardcover)
Scott Adams's offbeat humor is accentuated here alongside the original outlet, the best of Dilbert comic strips. Adams tosses in tiny comments often times as funny as the strips themselves, and his introductions into different chapters are an experience in themselves. It doesn't make sense, and it's a great read for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A shining tome of laughter and comedy!, July 13 2001
By 
D. Litton (Wilmington, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Scott Adams is widely known for creating one of the most unconventional and hilarious comic strips ever: Dilbert. In "Seven Years of Highly Defective People," the tenth in a series of book featuring his entire comic strip, Adams pays tribute to his office working character by placing the best strips into categories, relating how certain characters came to be, and what their inspirations were. Even the strips themselves have small cliffnotes attached to them, interesting tidbits of information as we laugh at the many experiences Dilbert goes through, from his pointy-haired boss's many machinations to the many dates with many kinds of women, to his little dog Dogbert, who wants to rule the world one day. This is the definitive Dilbert book for anyone who's been a longtime fan of the comic strip, or even for those wanting to jump on the bandwagon and see what the laughter is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Miami Review, June 21 2001
By A Customer
The customer from Miami needs to learn to spell. (i.e. The comics can stand on "there" own. The correct word is "their".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As a member of Dogberts New Ruling Class,.., May 10 2001
By 
"charmed337" (Philedelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
I felt it was my duty to tell all of you Induhviduals How good this book is (And also cuz I have nothing to do) It is really good, and there are a lot of funny comments by Scott Adams in the margin thingys. It's definately worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae0382d0)

This product

Seven Years of Highly Defective People
Seven Years of Highly Defective People by Scott Adams (Hardcover - Aug. 1 1997)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews