Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Facts For a Crime Writer's Research!
I write about drugs, crime, and prison. Most of Appleton and Lange's work is a MUST book to have by my side. Running Out Of Road is a story about the DANGERS OF DRUG ADDICTION. Thanks for your helpful book! Robert M Appleton :-)
Published on Nov. 27 2003 by bob appleton

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Basic and Clinical Pharmacology
Still haven't received the book after 4 1/2 weeks. My shipment was guaranteed for the end of October - start of November, but when contacted they said because they were shipping to Canada it would take longer. The extra delay is preventing me from starting my course.
Published on Nov. 17 2010 by Bonnie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, Nov. 17 2010
Still haven't received the book after 4 1/2 weeks. My shipment was guaranteed for the end of October - start of November, but when contacted they said because they were shipping to Canada it would take longer. The extra delay is preventing me from starting my course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, but too unwieldy for medical students., March 5 2004
This review is from: Basic & Clinical Pharmacology (Paperback)
This book contains way to much information for students in a semester-long pharmacology course. The book is accurate and in depth, but contains way too much detail for medical professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Facts For a Crime Writer's Research!, Nov. 27 2003
By 
bob appleton (port orchard, wa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Basic & Clinical Pharmacology (Paperback)
I write about drugs, crime, and prison. Most of Appleton and Lange's work is a MUST book to have by my side. Running Out Of Road is a story about the DANGERS OF DRUG ADDICTION. Thanks for your helpful book! Robert M Appleton :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best practical pharm text out there, Sept. 8 2003
This review is from: Basic & Clinical Pharmacology (Paperback)
This book has been a great reference for me as I've gone through medical school. Clear, well written, and with excellent illustrations, the information is easily accessible and quite practical. It may be a little advanced for beginner students, but it's an absolute must have reference for someone with a need to know pharmacology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great help..., Sept. 30 2002
By 
Richard C. Jensen (San Diego, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Basic & Clinical Pharmacology (Paperback)
This is a really good book, and even someone like me who doesn't have an M.D. or Ph.D. can understand most of it. I particularly liked the section on antihistamines, which grouped them into the functional group "zine's" and "dine's" (ex. Loratadine, Cetirizine). The piperizine-based antihistamines cross the blood-brain barrier and produce sedation (Zyrtec somewhat, Atarax a lot), while the piperidine-based antihistamines do not cross the barrier (Claritin and Allegra). However, Vitamin C alone has antihistamine effects via inhibition of mast-cell degranulation. Vitamin C also has bronchodilator effects via inhibition of phosphodiesterase (much like Cromolyn and Theophylline do), without the side effects of these drugs. A more detailed description of Vitamin C's multiple effects can be found in the book The Failures of American Medicine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WELL WORTH THE PRICE, Aug. 23 2002
By 
reviewer (Zurich, Switzerland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Basic & Clinical Pharmacology (Paperback)
The "Basic & Clinical Pharmacology" may not be the most comprehensive and the most detailed single-volume text available on Pharmacology, but it has a lot of positive attributes. It is straightforward, well-illustrated, and ranks among the lowest-priced voluminous books that contains all the essentials a clinical student or doctor may need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, March 15 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Basic & Clinical Pharmacology (Paperback)
As an equity analyst on the pharmaceuticals sector, I find this book very useful. All the drugs are clearly explained (profile, side effects, interactions,...) and differences between different drug types are easy to understand. Moreover, it is also possible to see what type of improvements could be done on specific classes and the advantages and disadvantages of the new drugs developped by the pharma companies (that are not yet included in the book).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overall text, Feb. 22 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Basic & Clinical Pharmacology (Paperback)
A really thorough, excellent pharmacology text for the advanced student. At times the book lacks flow, and the student taking pharmacology for the first time may want to also purchase a quick pocket guide briefly describing the classes of meds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The "Bible" for Medical school pharmacology, Oct. 30 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Basic & Clinical Pharmacology (Paperback)
Katzung is brilliant. This text was an absolute bible for my med school pharmacology course & on rotations. If it's not in the Katzung book you probably don't need to know it. An absolute must to do well on the boards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Basic & Clinical Pharmacology
Basic & Clinical Pharmacology by Bertram Katzung (Paperback - Sept. 21 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 11.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews