Customer Reviews


356 Reviews
5 star:
 (204)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The continuing story of those Left Behind...
After reading "Conquest of Paradise" by Britt Gillette, I was instantly turned onto biblical end times literature, and I instantly started reading the Left Behind series. From book one, I was totally hooked, and I've read up through book seven in less than a couple of weeks.
In "Assassins", the adventure and intrigue of the Left Behind series continues unabated with...
Published on June 2 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Left Behind is spinning it's wheels
I'll admit that I do enjoy this series of books. I'm hardly a Conservative Christian who is living each day for the Gorious Appearing of Jesus Christ, but I do enjoy a good end-times story as much as the next person. Granted you better be prepared for a whole lot of preaching and a single-minded viewpoint if you're going to read this series.
The series officially...
Published on Feb. 11 2004 by P. Solinger


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The continuing story of those Left Behind..., June 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Assassins: Assignment: Jerusalem, Target: Antichrist (Paperback)
After reading "Conquest of Paradise" by Britt Gillette, I was instantly turned onto biblical end times literature, and I instantly started reading the Left Behind series. From book one, I was totally hooked, and I've read up through book seven in less than a couple of weeks.
In "Assassins", the adventure and intrigue of the Left Behind series continues unabated with an interesting twist. Unlike the others, this book concentrates on a fundamental theological question: "Is it righteous to kill someone who is evil?" While the antichrist, Nicolae Carpathia, works around the clock to rebuild the world's infrastructure and government to serve his own ends, the Tribulation Force and member Rayford Steele struggle spiritually with a plan to assassinate Carpathia. Meanwhile, Buck Williams builds a large following via his Internet magazine The Truth, and Hattie Durham (former colleague of Rayford Steele and former mistress of Carpathia) joins the ranks of the true believers in the Tribulation Force. "Assassins" continues the brilliant storytelling of LaHaye and Jenkins with masterful suspense and full cognizance of the scriptures. Fans who have made it this far will not be disappointed.
I can't wait to find out what happens next. I look forward to reading books seven through twelve, and I encourage other Left Behind fans to pick up "Conquest of Paradise: An End-Times Nano-Thriller" as additional reading. That book got me interested in this series, and what a great book! What "Left Behind" lacks in realism, "Conquest of Paradise" adds in abundance. The prose is much more advanced and the international politics are identical to the current world scene and the war on terror. Peppered with biblical verses, "Conquest of Paradise" will turn even the most hardened skeptics into believers, or at least it will make them think twice. It's one lovers of end-times fiction shouldn't miss.
Book seven, "The Indwelling" continues the adventures of the Tribulation Force, and the infamous antichrist becomes indwelled by the devil himself. Can't wait to read the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you could kill a murderer, would you?, June 20 2004
This review is from: Assassins: Assignment: Jerusalem, Target: Antichrist (Paperback)
What if you did have the power to stop a killer before he killed everyone you knew and loved? That is the question the plagues several main characters who are each determined to be the Assassin as prophesized in The Book of Revelations. This assassination is key to the transition for Nicolae Carpathia to fulfill the next step in his final days. Without this event he cannot claim to be God and raise himself from the dead.
Rayford Steele wants to destroy the man who killed his wife Amanda. Buck Williams wants to reveal Nicolae as the AntiChrist through his cyberspace magazine. Tsion is determined to preach in Jerusalem, though it is more dangerous for him to do so than for any other man. Hattie Durham, the former airline stewardess and Carpathia's mistress, wants to vanquish the man who impregnated and then abandoned her. And those who were under the mind control of the AntiChrist, but have been freed, have their own special vengeance to deliver.
So, the question is: The assassination begins the second half of the seven year tribulation, and it must be done, but when the motive is based in hatred, how can it be God's work? That's the conundrum I see.
LaHaye and Jenkins address this question several times, but do not have an answer either. However, they seem to be riding the crest of their own writing and it has become stronger. Cliffhangers actually hang, surprises are just that, and the killer is unexpected. The question of right or wrong is a personal one.
This is another adventure in the ride through the end-times. It is fiction, there is a great deal of doctrine liberally doled out, and it is based on the last book of the Bible. This one has good cliff hanging escapades throughout.
I'm sure one of the reasons that I like this series is that the philosophy parallels my own. But such are all reviews - simply personal opinions. I've read six, and I'll read six more.
Victoria Tarrani
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Left Behind is spinning it's wheels, Feb. 11 2004
By 
P. Solinger (Yuma, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Assassins: Assignment: Jerusalem, Target: Antichrist (Paperback)
I'll admit that I do enjoy this series of books. I'm hardly a Conservative Christian who is living each day for the Gorious Appearing of Jesus Christ, but I do enjoy a good end-times story as much as the next person. Granted you better be prepared for a whole lot of preaching and a single-minded viewpoint if you're going to read this series.
The series officially turns the corner this time around as the Tribulation Force make plans for the assaination of Nicolae Carpathia. They know that God will select someone to do the deed and they all want the job, but in the end only one person will be responsible. And that person will probably die themselves. Meanwhile, the airhead stewardess, Hattie Durham, runs away from the safe house, supposedly to get a chance to kill her ex-hubby, Nicolae. This is a good thing, because she rarely appears in this novel. Hattie is a horrible caricature that LeHaye portrayed, and the series will be much better if she weren't in it. Basically, the story slowly progresses, leading to the assination at the end of the novel and a cliffhanger that they hope will make you want to come back for more.
This is a good work of fiction, with an exciting storyline, but the characters are paper-thin and the dialogue is ridiculous. More then once I rolled my eyes when I read lines about characters "dropping to their knees and weeping" about Jesus. Only on staged evangelical shows will you ever see that. Personally, I pray for the people who are reading this series of novels as how they believe the future will play out. It's a very loose interpretation of the book of Revelations, but it is merely a work of fiction. Let's not forget that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a perfect series but better than some give it credit for, April 29 2003
By 
Jack O. Shafer (Mesa, Az USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Assassins: Assignment: Jerusalem, Target: Antichrist (Paperback)
So far, I've read all eleven Left Behind novels, and while they are not perfect, I think that some people don't give it enough credit because of unfair comparisons. People often point to We All Fall Down and The Christ Clone trilogy as better novels, and in a way, they are, but they are also very different. Left Behind seems to be more of an introduction to the subject of the End Times, a series that is reaching out to all people of different ages. It's not particularly well written, but it is clear and straightforward. The characters are not particularly realistic or interesting, but these are not character studies, these are novels that are trying to give people an overview of this concept, and they do that quite well.
To compare these to other novels with similar themes is a little bit unfair. We All Fall Down is much better written and more intelligent, but the focus of that novel is much more intensley spiritual and more of a character study that uses the End Times as a backdrop to explore complex issues of evil and salvation. It is for more mature, serious readers and it's aim is very different from Left Behind. Likewise, The Christ Clone is more of a techno-thriller, interested in exploring how, realistically the End Times could arive. I will admit that I enjoyed these other books more than Left Behind, but that does not take away from the fact that Left Behind still does a decent job with the subject. They are not great novels, but they are nowhere near as bad as some people are saying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's time!, Feb. 12 2003
By 
Alan Attebery (Arlington, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The halfway point of the peace treaty between Carpathia and Jerusalem is nearing, and all hell is about to break loose. Literally.
As the book opens, we find that it's all Rayford Steele can do to keep his rage, no...make that murderous rage, inside him. He wants to be the one to kill Nicolae Carpathia no matter what the cost. And he's willing to do just about anything to make sure that happens.
Nicolae Carpathia, on the other hand, is preparing a global gala in Jerusalem. Not because he really wants to have a party. His main purpose is to kill the two witnesses at the wailing wall. He has pinpointed the exact time they will become vulnerable and wants the credit of doing them in. In front of a worldwide audience, no less.
However, Carpathia appears to be ignorant of the fact that his own time is near as well. He will not make it out of this global gala alive. The question is, who will be the one to kill him?
Rayford Steele, who has purchased a new gun just for that reason? Hattie Durham, who blames Carpathia for all the horrible things she did during their time together (not to mention the fact that he killed their unborn baby and tried to kill her). Mac McCullum, who fantasizes about flying the Pheonix 216 into a mountainside with Carpathia in it? Dr. Chaim Rosenzweig, who seems to work night and day in his workshop on a project that he won't reveal to his own housestaff? You get the idea.
"Assassins," the 6th book in the popular "Left Behind" series is, without question, the most suspensful book in the series so far. Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins use the entire book to set up the explosive finale. The suspense is so thick by the time Carpathia gets his just reward that you could cut it with a knife. But it doesn't stop there. A cliffhanger ending will make you want to throw the book out the window in complete frustration. Assuming you forgive the authors for that dirty little trick, you will immediately want to start in on the next book. After all, you just have to know what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Clock is ticking on AntiChrist's Reign., Dec 4 2002
By 
Chadwick H. Saxelid "Bookworm" (Concord, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Assassins: Assignment: Jerusalem, Target: Antichrist (Paperback)
Assassins picks up shortly after the last few afflicted by the Demon Locusts in Apollyon have recovered. Rayford Steele is getting a very itchy trigger finger, a Trib. Force member dies, and 200 or so million horsemen gallop around the globe, choking and burning unbelievers to death.
Not a happy time for all involved, and it shows. Assassins is a more somber and mature chapter than Apollyon as the Believers continue to wage war against the AntiChrist's growing power, but what is the point? The outcome is predetermined and, rather than continually lying, cheating, and stealing, shouldn't these believers be trying to convert and save the lost? Although the story is still told in Jenkins's trademarked breezy and action emphasizing style, the author does have his characters confront some serious ethical issues (especially Rayford, who is coming apart at the seams in this outing) and, while this does rob the book of some level of escapist fun, it makes for a more thoughtful read than one would expect from a Left Behind book. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Assassins: Christian thriller, May 28 2002
By 
Amy (Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Assassins: Assignment: Jerusalem, Target: Antichrist (Paperback)
The sixth book in the New York Times best selling series Left Behind, Assassins continues the drama and suspense of its predecessors. The series, based on the predictions from the book of Revelations in the Bible, follows the life of former airline pilot Rayford Steele and his friends and family. It has been three years since millions of people across the planet vanished into thin air as a result of the Rapture, or Jesus Christ coming to take his true believers to Heaven. The remaining population is left in chaos, and the Bible predicts only seven more years before Christ comes back to set up his kingdom on earth. In Assassins, Rayford is still grieving over the death of his second wife, Amanda. He blames the new world leader, Nicolae Carpathia, for everything that has gone wrong. Carpathia is believed to be the Antichrist. Rayford plots to murder Carpathia even though it will make him an international fugitive. This novel is thrilling and suspenseful and will keep you guessing, and it's ending will drive you crazy until you can read the seventh book in the series, The Mark. With its well developed characters, real life situations, and references to the Bible, the Left Behind series will make anyone, no matter what their religion, think twice about what's to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars What has happened to this series?, April 4 2001
By 
Allison S. Parrott (Dalton, GA United States) - See all my reviews
I am an avid reader and a Christian, so I was totally enthralled when reading the first of this series. And I admit I still care about what happens to a few of these characters and whether they will see the Glorious Reappearing. But, honestly, there is so much wrong with these books I can't decide whether to continue.
The core characters go on, but since this is the tribulation time, somebody has to die, so we get a parade of new believers who help the force only to be killed off later, like the Tuttles. Ben-Judah serves to interpret the meaning of the endtime prophecies for the world, but his interpretations seem to be verbatim text from Revelations. How convenient that so many of the Trib Force can fly planes, so they can be at all the key events of the world. Rayfords new attitude, Hattie's unlikely release, etc., combine to give us a host of possible suspects to take Carpathia out. But this book ends without revealing who Carpatia's murderer is, a cliffhanger to get you to buy the next book.
Frankly, I have read better written children's books. With their simple sentence structure and often trite and corny dialogue, I zip through these books in a couple of days. These authors had a good idea, but just simply not the abilities to carry it off. It's a race now to see which comes to an end first, this series or my patience with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great Christian Read, Feb. 20 2001
By 
J. Fassler (Sweet Home) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After having read all 8 of the left behind series books over the last 3 weeks I can only say with a short word, WOW!
I have read some people reviews criticizing the books for being to bland and written for a young audience. Most of what is written in these books comes from a book that is often referred to as bland and not very exciting, this book is affectionately known as the Bible. Do I have problems with these books I would have to say yes, consider if you would the cost of jet aircraft and jet fuel for said aircraft would be astronomical. Planes somehow being able to fly great distances (Israel to Illinois is over 5000 nm) without refueling stops add to the disillusion of the story. But this is why this work is referred to as fiction and not non-fiction, if it were based on more factual data the story would have more realism yes but it would be no less entertaining. There are portions of the books that do seem to drag along but for the most part books keep a good pacing and a wanting from the reader.
I read from other readers that there is no cussing and other sins committed by these new believers, for this I can only state that sometimes people can radically change with God in their lives and perhaps that is something that these writers are attempting to convey with their writings. One thing that does bother me is the fact that the writers have now decided that 1 book a year will be all the put out for the series, is there a guarantee that there will only be another 4 books in this series? After all the first 42 months of the tribulation consumed 7 books and anyone who has read revelations will tell you that the next 42 months of what will be known as the Great Tribulation will be twice as intense as could every be imagined in the first 42 months. So is it possible that without an increase in the size and material explored in these next books that the series could become 15 or more books? If that is the case the rapture may occur before this series is every completed.
I personally think some people are taking these books to replace the bible, instead of what these books are intended to be.
And for those who still consider these books so poorly written let me point to you two of the most poorly penned books I have ever had the misfortune of reading. The author of these two books is Dr. Robert Davis, they are titled; The Plutonium Murders and the Doomsday Kiss.
You may follow this link to The Plutonium Murders: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/1890248002/qid=982641815/sr=1-2/ref=sc_b_2/107-4919486-4567762
You may follow this link to The Doomsday Kiss: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/1890248029/qid=982641674/sr=1-1/ref=sc_b_1/107-4919486-4567762
Do I think the likes of Stephen King, Tom Clancy, John Grisham or others I will not list here have something to be frightened of by these authors the answer I am ashamed to say would be no. The vast majority of people in the world will never know these books as great writing or entertainment. I give the books a 5 star rating although in actuality I would say for character and plot development it would receive a 1 Star, for writing quality a 2 Star, for a reasonable plot and research a 2 Star (this being generous) but for overall being something I would recommend to others for the pure entertainment of everything I give the books my full recommendations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful Fiction?, Aug. 30 2000
By 
Enrique Torres "Rico" (San Diegotitlan, Califas) - See all my reviews
I've read all but The Indwelling in this series and found this one to be entertaining but a little drawn out. Besides the continuing saga of good vs. evil as portrayed by Buck, Rayford and other believers against Carpathia and his henchmen, the book continues to move along in its narrative of the end days. The specualtive interpretation, based on Biblical Phrophecy is full of God's message all be it not so suttle at times. If you've read the others in this series you probably will read this book no matter what is said. If you're new I suggest you start with the original to get a complete feel for Jenkin's and LaHaye's apacopalyptic vision. If you just want to jump into the series, don't do it here as this book is a bit drawn out. I found myself saying "OK kill him already"! I thought there would be much more to this installment than there was but nonetheless found it rewarding. For believers and non-believers alike this is a fun book that will at least make you think and hopefully be a better person. There are tons of reviews for this book but I told myself I would review all in the series, so, peace be with you, share the spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assassins: Assignment: Jerusalem, Target: Antichrist
Assassins: Assignment: Jerusalem, Target: Antichrist by Tim LaHaye (Paperback - Oct. 2 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews