Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly powerful occult horror
A friend of mine recommended this book to me and I'm glad she did. HEXES is one of my new all-time favorite books. This is a top-notch horror novel that will claw its way under your skin. There are some wonderfully chilling scenes in here, but there's also a light, playful air about much of the story as well. There's a real sense of poetry here as certain scenes just...
Published on Sept. 21 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars storytelling is hexed
First the good news-- Piccirilli has a unique writing style that gives an otherworldly feel to the events unfolding in the novel, a mixture of matter-of-factness mixed with a skewed view of reality that evokes a combination of vintage Bradbury and Ramsey Campbell. On the negative side, both the story and the characters are somewhat unfocused, the writer assumes the...
Published on April 17 2004 by David Group


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fine fantastic fun, Dec 22 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hexes (Mass Market Paperback)
I finished this novel in two sittings. It's a fast, bizarre, phantasmagorical read that has some truly creepy situations. A man with supernatural powers returns to his hometown that's being overrun with insanity, ghosts, and demons released years earlier. But there's plenty of emotional content here, with past hatreds and loves all turning the characters inside-out as they face up to their worst fears. A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible occult novel, Dec 20 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hexes (Mass Market Paperback)
This one is poetry in motion. HEXES is literate, stylish, powerful, and rises above most ordinary horror to claim its own niche as a dark fantasy masterpiece. Strong themes, terrifying implications, and emotionally affecting, HEXES deserves to be known as a classic of the genre. Highly recommended, definitely pick it up when and where you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent dark fantasy, Oct. 11 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hexes (Mass Market Paperback)
Leave it to somebody named "Butts" to get it all backwards. Hexes is a solid read full of intricate storytelling prowess and a wonderful use of language. This isn't just another horror novel filled with gratuitous gore and simplistic writing, this is a tale that tries to cross genres and bring something new to readers. I appreciated Mr. Piccirilli's efforts and loved his use of symbolism and bittersweet back story that adds a whole new poignancy to the novel. Flashbacks to a bitter and haunting childhood--hence the repeated "Debbi is dead" references--show how an emotionally distraught protagonist fearing for his life and soul can still rise to be a hero. A real winner. A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars HO HUM HEXES, Oct. 9 2001
By 
Michael Butts (Berkeley Springs, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hexes (Mass Market Paperback)
It's rare when I don't finish a book, but this particular novel is such a waste of time and paper. Piccirilli tries to write like William Faulkner or Ernest Hemingway, with all this florid language and imagery, but fails to deliver any type of cohesiveness and unity in the plot. I don't know how it ends up, but after reading almost half of it, I couldn't take anymore. Meandering and uninvolving; I thought if he wrote "Debbi's Dead" one more time, I would croak.
Thumbs down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Offbeat stylish occult terror, Aug. 11 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hexes (Mass Market Paperback)
This novel does more than simply give plenty of chilling scenes. It does so with a narrative style that works to draw you in on a number of levels. The author puzzle pieces this offbeat story together giving only hints at first to the horrors of the past. He slowly fashions his plot of a man forced to return to his hometown five years after a series of lethal supernatural events have killed his family and ruined his friends and splices it together with something of a noir mystery quality. Bleak, dark, driven, mysterious, and vivid, HEXES is one of my favorite horror novels of the past several years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dinner, but no dessert, May 26 2001
This review is from: Hexes (Mass Market Paperback)
So, the tale is a good one, if done before. The writing is passable with periodic bursts of true creepiness. I was actually interested in what was going to happen to the unfortunate characters in the story. Instead, I got an infuriating ani-climax which was stolen right out of Exorcist, but not executed as well. Based on this novel alone, I would say Piccirilli has potential but he hasn't quite realized it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A creepy winner, March 12 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hexes (Mass Market Paperback)
I've just finished both of Piccirilli's most recent horror efforts, The Deceased and Hexes. Piccirilli's brand of horror is a heady brew of style, the occult, and the surreal. He offers up levels of hell for the reader to traverse: the hell of the mind, of the soul, and the fiery place itself. He writes with a real passion, the heartache coming through as his characters battle their own weaknesses as well as the evil that's been loosed. This again shows why Tom Piccirilli is one of the best in the business: he doesn't simply tell a story of murder and mayhem and monsters chewing on livers. He writes of people forced to face the demons in themselves first before battling anything else. A creepy winner here, folks, full of some of the best atmospheric horror you've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Better the Devil..............., Feb. 10 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hexes (Mass Market Paperback)
Firstly, I like many other reviewers of this book, picked it up as I was convinced by the glowing reviews by critics and the public alike. Also, as understood from readers comments, many like myself are fans of the horror genre and thought it sounded like a fresh angle on an old familiar formula. Secondly let me explain why the King's and Rice's of this world are familiar house hold names and Piccirilli is not. Hexes for the most part has enough narrative power to guide you to the anticlimatic finale. However once at the end, a time when you recap over the book, you realise that not a great deal happened in terms of plot and the character development was non existent. His writing is not bad but can leave you confused at times as he has a habit of adding random sentences or comments (Debbie is dead) leaving you going, 'eh?'...'errrm what'....'rrrrrrigght???' etc throughout the tale. There are a couple scenes of gibbering horror that will knock the breath out of some readers but I refuse in my experience of this kind of writing to let this be an accalaid; I think any body with half an imagination can do that or if not just watch the news every day!! I am glad I read it in a way as I will now stick to what I know is good horror writing and leave this kind of 'try hard horror' to the small time critics/2nd rate horror writers who have peppered it with overblown praise in an attempt to get this failed colleage of thiers off the ground.
.....You Know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Better the Devil..............., Feb. 10 2001
This review is from: Hexes (Mass Market Paperback)
Firstly, I like many other reviewers of this book, picked it up as I was convinced by the glowing reviews by critics and the public alike. Also, as understood from readers comments, many like myself are fans of the horror genre and thought it sounded like a fresh angle on an old familiar formula. Secondly let me explain why the King's and Rice's of this world are familiar house hold names and Piccirilli is not. Hexes for the most part has enough narrative power to guide you to the anticlimatic finale. However once at the end, a time when you recap over the book, you realise that not a great deal happened in terms of plot and the character development was non existent. His writing is not bad but can leave you confused at times as he has a habit of adding random sentences or comments (Debbie is dead) leaving you going, 'eh?'...'errrm what'....'rrrrrrigght???' etc throughout the tale. There are a couple scenes of gibbering horror that will knock the breath out of some readers but I refuse in my experience of this kind of writing to let this be an accalaid; I think any body with half an imagination can do that or if not just watch the news every day!! I am glad I read it in a way as I will now stick to what I know is good horror writing and leave this kind of 'try hard horror' to the small time critics/2nd rate horror writers who have peppered it with overblown praise in an attempt to get this failed colleage of thiers off the ground.
.....You Know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A stylistic, unique inspection of evil, Dec 27 2000
By 
This review is from: Hexes (Mass Market Paperback)
Just a brief glance at all the previous reviews wills how you that Piccirilli's HEXES is a novel you'll either love or hate. For my tastes, I found it a winner. The author goes to extremes to make sure the story line is fresh and freaky. While his poetic language and frequent flashbacks might annoy readers more used to Koontz and King, for those looking for writing willing to break the envelope you'll find the language dazzling and the plot almost surreal at times. There's a pervasive sense of dread throughout the novel even while the author offers a good deal of humorour underpinnings. This is just a weird fusion of elements that you'll either find innovative or difficult. I say give HEXES a shot and you'll find it a rewarding piece of occult literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hexes
Hexes by Tom Piccirilli (Mass Market Paperback - 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews