Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!
This is the first book by Clark that I've read. I'm very impressed with his style of writing. I do plan to get more of Clark's books.
What would happen if you woke up one day and one of two things happened. You're over 19, and you killed your kids and are after other kids. You are infact a zombie. Or on the otherside, you're under 19, and you were lucky enough to...
Published on Aug. 12 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Another end of the world as we know it horror novel
Leisure has done it again: found another diamond in the rough writer, this time a writer from England in Simon Clark. Most of Clark's novels released through Leisure wre written in the mid 90's and this is easily his "worst" of the five. The only novels I haven't read are Vampyhric and Darker, both of which look awesome!

The plot centers around parents going...
Published on Aug. 19 2002 by Darren Jacks


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Not a YA novel, as marketed., Jan. 21 2004
This review is from: Blood Crazy (Mass Market Paperback)
Simon Clark, Blood Crazy (Leisure, 1995)
How this book gets characterized as a young adult novel is completely beyond me. Hey, folks: just because a novel's protagonist is under twenty-one years of age does not make a novel aimed at the young adult market.
Nick Aten ("rhymes with Satan") goes to bed one night convinced that all is right with the world. He wakes up the next morning and finds out how terribly wrong he is; something has caused all of the world's adults to go crazy and start killing their children. Those who have no children just go after everyone under a certain age (undetermined at the beginning of the book). Needless to say, the children are not altogether happy with this. Nick escapes and heads out of town, banding together with various other survivors against millions of people whose whole goal is their destruction.
In other words, it's your basic post-apocalyptic novel. And from that perspective, it's a good enough read. It's hard to review this objectively, since I had it marketed to me as a young adult novel; it reads like an adult novel, and so I'm concerned my ideas about it are going to cross one line or the other, since the two are often entirely different animals. Thankfully, it's a decent book as both, though a little on the adult side for being a YA read.
Simon Clark has a good sense of the dramatic, and the book is paced and plotted well. Granted, postapocalyptic lit is fast becoming its own subgenre, and it's not too hard to plot these days (a reading of The Stand, a reading of Swan Song, and a screening of The Omega Man, and you're pretty much set; elements of all three show up here, of course). His characters are for the most part solid and well-built, with a few cardboard-esque exceptions. The main reason, I'm guessing, this was thought to be a YA novel is the Nick Aten's narrative voice, which is naïve; too much so at times. (One wonders why that's still considered a YA trait, given the popularity of the romance genre.)
Readable, fast-paced, and worthwhile for horror fans. *** 
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another end of the world as we know it horror novel, Aug. 19 2002
By 
Darren Jacks (North Hollywood, Ca) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Crazy (Mass Market Paperback)
Leisure has done it again: found another diamond in the rough writer, this time a writer from England in Simon Clark. Most of Clark's novels released through Leisure wre written in the mid 90's and this is easily his "worst" of the five. The only novels I haven't read are Vampyhric and Darker, both of which look awesome!

The plot centers around parents going crazy over night and out for the blood of their offspring. Think of an English Night of the Living Dead; just a horrible premise, but Clark turns it into a "decent" novel, which for him is subpar. This guy is the next Clive Barker of England.
Actually, the plot is a little deeper than I mentioned, but it is pretty Jungian (he was a thinker like Freud). The novel is good, but not Clark's best. Clark is so talented he was able to save this from being trash, but not his best.
Clark's writing is clear, crisp, and chilling. He writes with the power to thrill and chill, to shock and rock, to frighten and make your stomach tighten. He is a wordsmith of the highest order and he is one of the new king's of horror.
Like I said, Leisure has found another great young voice in the horror field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, Aug. 12 2002
This review is from: Blood Crazy (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first book by Clark that I've read. I'm very impressed with his style of writing. I do plan to get more of Clark's books.
What would happen if you woke up one day and one of two things happened. You're over 19, and you killed your kids and are after other kids. You are infact a zombie. Or on the otherside, you're under 19, and you were lucky enough to live the mass murder, and you have to fight the army of zombies.
Meet Steve Aten (and that rimes with Satan). He comes back home ond day and his world has changed. His parents missing, and his brother dead. Soon he finds himself in the middle of an apocalyptic nightmare. He and a band of survivors must fight the zobmies. They have to put aside their differences (and that's not easy) and make a stand agasnit the zombies.
That's all I want to say about the plot. I don't want to give more away. If you like horror filled with blood, gore, and more blood, then this is a books for you. If you start Blood Crazy, you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A suspenseful, smart horror novel, April 4 2002
By 
FloozyFlapper1926 (Somewhere in the 20's) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Crazy (Mass Market Paperback)
This is one of those books it takes a day or two to read because you can't put it down. Its narrated by Nick Aten, a seventeen year old who hangs out in clubs and generally gets in trouble most of the time. He is thrust into a nightmare when parents begin to kill their children out of the blue and he comes home to find his brother dead. From that point on, the story begins and he is soon on the run for his life, picking up kids along the way who get caught in his town. But as our protoganist soon finds out, its not just parents who want to kill their children; all adults are out to kill anyone under the age of nineteen and this is a world-wide phenonmenon.
Blood Crazy is very different than anything I've ever read. From the chase by the "Creosotes" (afflicted adults) to the formation of colonies of kids fighting them, this one never bores. Its different from the traditional horror novel because its not a supernatural thriller, but its based on nature. Simon Clark is very unique in that he is able to write nature-based horror that doesn't rely on ghosts or traditional monsters. This makes him kind of unique in the field. Usually that sort of thing bores me, but not the way he writes it.
If you want a totally different type of horror novel, this one is for you. Its very smart, the characters are three-dimensional, and its well-written. A great book from one of my new favorite authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reluctant hero / Epic novel, Feb. 11 2002
By 
coachtim (Indiana, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Crazy (Mass Market Paperback)
As many have already reported in their reviews of "Blood Crazy", this is a book that contains elements of many earlier literary works. It's part "Lord of the Flies", part "Earth Abides" and part "Dawn of the Living Dead". If you enjoyed any or all of those books, then this novel is for you!
Simon Clark has created an epic work in less than 400 pages. This is an extremely fast "read" and you'll find yourself wanting more at the conclusion. Evidently Clark, himself, realized that when he finished "Blood Crazy" because the door is certainly open for a sequel.
The characterization in the book is terrific and the story grabs you by the throat in the first few pages and refuses to let go until the very end. Vividly graphic word pictures are woven throughout the novel and some of the sections are not for the faint of heart. If you can get over that little "hurdle" then by all means find a copy of this book.
While the premise of this book is about parents attempt to systematically eliminate all the children from the earth, much of it is about the growth of a young man named Nick who is forced to assume a leadership role even though he is reluctant to do so. He finds that the "doubt demons" in his mind are almost as dangerous to his development as his parents.
This is the 2nd of many Simon Clark books that will be published in the US because I predict that his fans will be legion. Good work, Mr. Clark, I can't wait for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy, man!, Nov. 17 2001
By 
Alan Robson (Wellington, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Crazy (Hardcover)
Blood Crazy isn't a supernatural novel but it is a horror story. One day (for reasons that remain mostly mysterious) the entire adult population of the world starts killing all its children. Nick Aten is a survivor of this carnage, (though his brother is brutally murdered by their parents), and the book details his struggles to survive in the post-apocalyptic world. In many ways this is the archetypal apocalyptic novel that has been the bread and butter of SF fare ever since H. G. Wells invented it. It was great a century ago, and it is just as great now - there is an eternal fascination about the theme and Simon Clark does it proud.
Towards the end of the book, there is a half-baked attempt at an explanation as to why the adults acted the way they did. It's all rather mystical and fey and Clark really does nothing with it. It feels like an afterthought, an attempt to try and pin a logical structure on the plot. It's best to pay no attention to it and simply to groove on the violence, the pain and the sheer terror of this very dangerous post-apocalyptic world. Approached on that level, this is a superb example of the genre. It isn't quite up there with the masters (George Stewart's Earth Abides or John Wyndham's The Day of the Triffids) but it is still pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Truly Spooky!!! Not for the faint hearted...., Sept. 8 2001
By 
Rafik "RafikNY" (New York, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Crazy (Mass Market Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed it! Blood Crazy is Lord of the Flies meets the Stand. From the opening pages to the end you felt involved in the story. As you're reading wondering, what caused the adult "mind crunch" to make the population murderously insane? Our young hero Nick Aten (rhymes with Satan), starts off as a typical youngster but ends the story a true hero. Perfect for the teeange crowd and for adults. Mr. Clark did a fantastic job of keeping the story moving along at a good pace. It also felt like a story of the Odyssey versus the Nite of the Living Dead. Lots of action. Some readers may have felt that the story was at times too violent. The truth be told, the end of the world is indeed unponderable and quite frightening. We as a rational people must be aware of those possibilities and learn to avoid them (i.e., man's terrible proclivity to self destruct). The story ending, which is interesing in and of it self, gives way to more possiblities of sequels and future conquest of the "creosotes".... HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Thank you Mr. Clark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very refreshing, July 18 2001
This review is from: Blood Crazy (Mass Market Paperback)
I must say that it was a real refreshement to read this book. It isn't a book about a town which slowly decades, or a haunted family with a cute pet. No, it's something completely different!
I am not someone who reads one or two chapter before he reads the book, so I was a little shocked to notice that it was written in first person when I got home. But I soon found out that didn't matter at all!
It is about Nick, who finds out that the adults in town have changed into killing monsters over one night, and soon finds out his town is not the only one... Then starts a story about a teenager and a group of other teenagers, through whoms eyes we follow the story and how he finds out the how's and why's about the changing of the adults, when in the meantime they must survive from the adults who keep attacking them.
Some of the introducing scenes were really shocking and reminded me of the feeling I had when I started reading horror years ago. Especcialy 'how' the mother kisses the kid goodby for school brough me the shivers. And, as mentioned in almost every preceding review, the game "carring the can" is very inhuman.
However... this "game" is something between humans. There is also a scene which reminded me of the theme which Clive Barker creates in his book "Cabal (or NightBreed)": the humans are more evil than the monsters. It is the scene with the trucks and the cable, and the people who read it will certainly know what I'm talking about!
I must admit I'm not into psychological stuff at all, so I have no idea how far the plot touches reality, but it was quit impressive.
So, concluding, it was a great book, and far more that I could have expected!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Embarrassingly Awful--One star is being way too kind, May 13 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Blood Crazy (Mass Market Paperback)
Frankly, BLOOD CRAZY is a lousy book. Clark stretches a threadbare idea far beyond its breaking point in the service of one of the skimpiest excuses for a plot this side of Itchy & Scratchy. After an only mildly interesting beginning, the story boils down to the aimless wandering of its 1-dimensional protagonist around a supposedly decimated English countryside, nevertheless resulting in an endless number of forgettable encounters with almost identical groups of equally badly sketched and 1-dimensional "Super Kids" who've set up thriving communities here and there. There's also the irritating cardboard cut-out bully--and it doesn't take a psychic or a brain surgeon to see what's gonna happen with this guy about 200 pages early--who constantly reappears from out of nowhere to harass the hero when things get slow, which is frequent, and in fact most of the book is dreadfully slow and inconsequential. The sense of threat from the monsters, the "Creosotes" (well, at least they've got one of the stupidest names in monster history), fades quite early in the book after one too many lucky escapes for our hero makes them look about as menacing as the bumbling Nazis from your average Indiana Jones flick.
A thorough critique of this book would take much more time and space than dreck like BLOOD CRAZY deserves. It's cheap and nasty books like this that have caused Horror Fiction to be perceived as Literature's equivalent to the immature kid in the pointy hat standing in the corner of the room, facing the wall. All the criticism a book like BLOOD CRAZY earns is the same terse appraisal famously afforded to Spinal Tap's fictitious opus "Shark Sandwich" (anyone not familiar with that review is recommended to view "This Is Spinal Tap").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bloody fun, chilling read, March 27 2001
By 
mellion108 (Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Crazy (Mass Market Paperback)
I started this book yesterday and finished it this morning. I couldn't put it down. Why? The good parts were good enough to pull me through the slow parts.
If you've read the above book description, you know that Clark has created a world in which anyone over the age of 19 suddenly and with no apparant reason is compelled to kill anyone under the age of 19. Make no mistake, this is a gritty, gory story narrated by the 17-year-old protagonist, Nick Aten ("yeah, yeah, it rhymes with Satan"). Nick is content to live a life of partying with no higher ambition; then he drags himself home one beautiful Sunday morning to find his brother's hideously mangled corpse. His parents are gone, and all the adults in town have gone crazy. The attacks on children and teens are vicious, the adults are without mercy. However, what unravels is a sort of apocalyptic coming-of-age story in which Nick finds himself playing a more important role than he could ever have imagined. He sets out trying to find help and stumbles upon group after group of youthful survivors. Along the way he also meets up with someone who puts him in touch with the root cause of the madness of the adults. Can Nick and the others battle through wave after wave of adult attacks to create a new society?
This is an entertaining book. Yes, the writing could be a bit better, but I actually found myself chuckling along with Clark's descriptions. Keep in mind that the narrator is a 17-year-old boy....this is a testosterone-filled story straight from an adolescent who watches too many action movies. Reading this, you might think I didn't like the book. Far from it. Nick is ultimately sweet and good-hearted, and even if the kids talk far more calmly and maturely than in my own experience, the characters are interesting and likeable. I give this novel 4 stars because it is entertaining; I was riveted to my seat racing through the pages to get to the outcome of the horrific attacks. Clark takes far too many pages (in my opinion) to explain the cause of the insanity, but as I wrote above, the good parts sustained the slow parts. I read for entertainment, and sometimes a bit of mind candy such as BLOOD CRAZY is just what the doctor ordered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood Crazy
Blood Crazy by Simon Clark (Mass Market Paperback - 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews