Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage Personal Care Furniture Kindle Music Deals Store Cycling Tools minions

Customer Reviews

13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
The Reluctant Reformer
Format: Mass Market PaperbackChange
Price:$9.99+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews(5 star)show all reviews
on November 8, 2002
This tale is a delightful fresh gem....from the opening pages that finds the sensible, but somehow always in odd situations, Maggie dressed as the famous Madam X balanced precarious on the window ledge outside a Baudy House, she can little know her climbing back inside will be witnessed by her brother's friend, James.
See Maggie's brother died at the battle of Waterloo saving James' life, and as he lie dying in James' arms, he extracted a promise that James would protect and take care of Maggie.
Maggie has found herself in a difficult situation of the family money passing on to the heir, leaving her with a huge London townhouse and a large staff of servants she cannot turn away....so she is forced to moonlight to keep everyone fed and housed.
James is sure she is the famous Madam X, and woman of great allure and the current rage of the males of the Ton...and he is going to reform her and starts by kidnapping Maggie....for her own good, mind you!!
It is one mad comedy of errors and one delightful read.
WISE WRITERS AND READERS Book of the Month for February 2002
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on April 17, 2002
One thing you must say for Lynsay Sands - ANything she writes generally has outrageously funny dialog and this one scores a 10!
Talk about a comedy of errors - or should we say a breakdown of communication.
Since her brother Gerald died and left her property without the proper funds to maintain, Lady Margaret must find a way to support herself and old family retainers that she cannot let go of. She assumes her brothers pen name and begins to write articles for a local newspaper. Now everyone knows that a certain amount of research must go int these articles, so donning a plethora of disguises, Lady Margaret has gone into a number of places no 'Lady' should be seen in.
Enter, Lord James, who is alive because her brother took the bullet intended for him. On his deathbed, James promised Gerald to look after his sweet innocent sister. To find this sweet innocent sister in the bordello - dressed as Lady X - well he just had to save her!
This was one terrific read! I don't see where anyone who reads this will not absolutely burst out into gales of laughter! This is an outstanding book by an outstanding author. All her books are keepers - especially this one!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on March 17, 2002
Not much of a review writer, but I am the male half of the team that runs WISE Writers and Readers at MSN. And we picked this book at the Book of the Month for February 2002. And I must say it earns it.
I have been a fan of Lynsay Sands since reading Lady Pirate, and with each book only grow more an ardent admirer of her writings.
The book was simply a great read. Her characters are funny, but not stupid. I really hate when writers force their characters to do stupid things just to further the plot. Lynsay never resorts to this. Her characters often end up in really hysterical situations, but it because it happens in the natural flow. She never insults the reader with sappy,paperdoll characters, but gives you living breathing people that you truly 'See'. She is in a class by herself, and I note many writers trying to imitate her lately. There is only one Lynsay.
When I pick up her book I know I am going to smile, laugh out loud and come away knowing I enjoyed myself to the fullest!!
Thank you, Lynsay!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
This tale is a delightful fresh gem....from the opening pages that finds the sensible, but somehow always in odd situations, Maggie dressed as the famous Madam X balanced precarious on the window ledge outside a Baudy House, she can little know her climbing back inside will be witnessed by her brother's friend, James.
See Maggie's brother died at the battle of Waterloo saving James' life, and as he lie dying in James' arms, he extracted a promise that James would protect and take care of Maggie.
Maggie has found herself in a difficult situation of the family money passing on to the heir, leaving her with a huge London townhouse and a large staff of servants she cannot turn away....so she is forced to moonlight to keep everyone fed and housed.
James is sure she is the famous Madam X, and woman of great allure and the current rage of the males of the Ton...and he is going to reform her and starts by kidnapping Maggie....for her own good, mind you!!
It is one mad comedy of errors and one delightful read.
WISE WRITERS AND READERS Book of the Month for February 2002
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on February 16, 2002
Fans of The Switch and Lady Pirate are in for a treat! Lynsay Sands has delivered another wonderful regency comedy in The Reluctant Reformer.
The old proverb says that no good deed will go unpunished. Lord Ramsey and Maggie are just finding this out. Kidnapping, masquerades, hijinx in a notorious bordello-- Relucant Reformer has it all. It's just the ticket for driving off the winter gloom.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on April 9, 2002
I read everything Ms. Sands write. She is a must read for me. This book is one of her best. It was hilarious. I loved evey minute. I could not put it down. I recommend you read all her books. They all have good stories and a large amount of humor.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on March 7, 2002
I have read all of Lynsay Sands' books -- her humor is wonderful and her books just get better and better. The misunderstanding between the main characters was so funny -- and not aggravating like some authors do.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on April 1, 2002
This is the first book I read of Sands and it won't be my last, just enough charm, fun, romance. Great combination. I hope she writes Lord Mullins story next.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse