Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference!
Excellent reference!
This is an excellent security reference!
If you are looking for a pure CISSP prep book, this is not the best. But for general info sec, this is an awesome book.
Published on Sept. 4 2003 by Eric Kent

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Passing the CISSP Exam
I have read this book, and while it is no doubt a good book, it is VERY dry and boring. I feel somewhat confident after reading this, but I will be buying the practice exam for this exam from boson.com before I step foot into that exam room (as well as some late night cramming). This book does seem to cover the various domains despite you will constantly have to pinch...
Published on Nov. 18 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference!, Sept. 4 2003
This review is from: Information Security Management Handbook, Fourth Edition, Volume II (Hardcover)
Excellent reference!
This is an excellent security reference!
If you are looking for a pure CISSP prep book, this is not the best. But for general info sec, this is an awesome book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not a practical technical book, Jan. 6 2002
By 
D. Dunn "X" (Optional) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Information Security Management Handbook, Fourth Edition, Volume II (Hardcover)
This is not a practical technical book. It is a theoretical technical book that is hard to read, even if you are technical. If you are reading it to pass the CISSP test, you will also need ISBN: 0849308003 green book.
I have my CISSP now. I have serious concerns about the legitimacy of the other reviewers who gave this book 1 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This book was useless for the CISSP, Nov. 27 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Information Security Management Handbook, Fourth Edition, Volume II (Hardcover)
This book was useless for the CISSP Exam. Half of the chapters aren't even covered on the exam, and the remainder doesn't prepare you for the content covered in the exam. Spend your hard earned money on the CISSP Prep Guide instead. If you don't believe me, compare the reviews. Also checkout the SRVBooks as well. Both of these books helped me to prepare for the exam. The Boson tests were only so-so. And yes, I passed my CISSP exam on the first try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Did I get a bad copy?, Sept. 4 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Information Security Management Handbook, Fourth Edition, Volume II (Hardcover)
I have read the 1st 150 pages. The references to exhibits are all messed up - the discussion of radius, diameter and tacacs servers is brutal. They seem to keep replacing the three interchangebly clearly making mistakes. And to top it off only 9 domains are included? I think something must be wrong with the copy I received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not what you expect, June 30 2001
By 
jack koziol (s. barrington, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Information Security Management Handbook, Fourth Edition, Volume II (Hardcover)
I bought this book hoping it would give a good outline to what would be on the cissp exam. It really isnt. The authors collected a bunch of articles they didnt write, and threw them into the 10 CBK categories. The articles themselves are interesting and good, but it wont really prep you for the exam. It is obvious that they wanted to take advantage of persons wishing to pass the CISSP, and threw together a bunch of [junk]. Im sure you could find every article in this book on the internet somewhere. I would recommed getting the free open study guides at cccure.org instead of this. Dont listen to the other reviewers, they are obviously authors or authors friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indepth info. and written in understandable English, May 22 2001
By 
This review is from: Information Security Management Handbook, Fourth Edition, Volume II (Hardcover)
First, realize that this is Volume 2, Volume 1 is also essential and about $30 more. This book is written in everyday English, which makes it infinitely more understandable than the texts written for high-level techs. A degree of knowledge about information security and computer technology would be useful before starting in on this book as it is indepth and covers a lot of ground. This is a book you will want to keep close for reference and studying for the CISSP.
I've seen Tipton speak on several occasions and he's definitely a leader in the industry. Any books he authors or edits are probably worth having if you're serious about working in or understanding the information security industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Senior Consultant EDS - mhicks0923@netzero.net, Dec 7 2000
By 
M. Hicks (BURKE, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Information Security Management Handbook, Fourth Edition, Volume II (Hardcover)
An excellent book for future CISSPs. The authors cover the material with great detail and an informative way. A must have for all in Information Security.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CISSP Study Guide, Nov. 19 2000
This review is from: Information Security Management Handbook, Fourth Edition, Volume II (Hardcover)
This 2nd volume is an excellent study guide for CISSP or simply a desk reference for any security professional. Each chapter has excellent focus and technical detail.
I highly recommend this book as an excellent security guild.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Passing the CISSP Exam, Nov. 18 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Information Security Management Handbook, Fourth Edition, Volume II (Hardcover)
I have read this book, and while it is no doubt a good book, it is VERY dry and boring. I feel somewhat confident after reading this, but I will be buying the practice exam for this exam from boson.com before I step foot into that exam room (as well as some late night cramming). This book does seem to cover the various domains despite you will constantly have to pinch yourself while reading ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Information Security Management Handbook, Fourth Edition, Volume II
Information Security Management Handbook, Fourth Edition, Volume II by Harold F. Tipton (Hardcover - Oct. 20 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 4.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews