Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best figure drawing books
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:21 Mins
I never thought I would be able to see or own an actual copy of this book, ever.

Thanks to Titan Books, this book is finally getting reprinted. The wait is over.

The production quality of the book is excellent. It's a 208-page hardcover that's slightly larger than A4 size. The drawings are reproduced very clearly. If you've...
Published on June 7 2011 by Parka

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good additional reference book
This is a good book for a commercial artist, though very much a product of its time.
Poses reminded me of the old "Calendar Art"
The beginning chapters were useful to me, especially the illustrations on perspective.
. This latter part was worth the price of this book
Published 7 months ago by Brenda Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best figure drawing books, June 7 2011
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Figure Drawing (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:21 Mins

I never thought I would be able to see or own an actual copy of this book, ever.

Thanks to Titan Books, this book is finally getting reprinted. The wait is over.

The production quality of the book is excellent. It's a 208-page hardcover that's slightly larger than A4 size. The drawings are reproduced very clearly. If you've seen the PDF copies that are floating on the internet, this is exactly that except in physical copy, right down to the number of words per line.

I love the text of the book. The tone is very encouraging and the instructions are always clear. The examples are beautifully illustrated. It's easy to follow along and learn.

This is a highly recommended book on figure drawing, a classic that gets mentioned frequently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Reborn !, June 14 2011
This review is from: Figure Drawing (Hardcover)
Loomis' Figure Drawing is THE figure drawing book par excellence! The quality is much better than the scans you see on the internet and it's really nice not to have to read this on a computer screen.I've seen an older copy a long time ago and the quality of print in the Titan edition is there folks!.If I could only have one book on figure drawing -this would be it!This book is a steal at the price that Amazon sells it for.Get one you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Worth' the price and more!, April 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Figure Drawing (Hardcover)
First of all, the book is quality made. Tight bindings and very detailed images.

Much of the fundamentals of anatomy have not changed since this book was originally released over half a century ago, so this book still maintains a lot of value for the beginner and intermediate artist.

Loomis has lessons on learning how the anatomy moves and works the way it does, understanding the skeletal system and the muscles and how they interact.

There are great lessons on constructing the anatomy in varying positions including standing, sitting, reclining, kneeling, in motion, etc. Covers male, female and even children

Great topics on how to bring your drawing to life, tilted head, twist in the torso, bent arms and legs

Very nice lessons on perspective and how to put multiple characters in a scene in proper perspective

A great value to the aspiring artist or even a pro in the field who needs a handy reference for those troubling assignments!

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Feb. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Figure Drawing (Hardcover)
Great for drawing figures in perspective. Covers male and female figures also children. Would recommend to buy for art students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good additional reference book, March 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Figure Drawing (Hardcover)
This is a good book for a commercial artist, though very much a product of its time.
Poses reminded me of the old "Calendar Art"
The beginning chapters were useful to me, especially the illustrations on perspective.
. This latter part was worth the price of this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for learning or reference, Feb. 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Figure Drawing (Hardcover)
I have been drawing for most of my life and I was looking for a book on this subject as I wanted to improve my figure drawing. I had seen some books but they either had what I already knew or only provided a few chapters of knowledge. A few years ago, I took a life drawing class and the teacher used this book as the text. Loomis covers far more topics within this subject than any other book I have seen. There is a lot of information given and you cannot possibly take it all in on the first reading. Go through the book and practice, practice and practice. As you get comfortable with one area, focus on another. The mannekin is a wonderful starting point for drawing the figure properly. He then looks at the human skeleton and muscular system. (My teacher made us draw these as well!) After that, he talks about perspective, drawing at different angles (an easy way to do this), lighting / shading and then the smaller details that will make your drawing look realistic. The drawings in the book are amazing.

This book is an amazing resource for anyone interested in this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best figure drawing book there is?, Dec 3 2013
By 
Melanie Penner (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Figure Drawing (Hardcover)
I bought it for an artist friend of mine and she was delighted, she was using terrible scans from this book as a reference already (unbeknownst to me) so having a complete, high quality version is perfect for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yeeeee, Oct. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Figure Drawing (Hardcover)
Very helpful book for beginners and intermediate. Diagrams and explanations are easy to follow and very good reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 31 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Figure Drawing (Hardcover)
great book every aspiring artists must have......there is big difference of hard copy than on-line available copies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, Aug. 11 2014
This review is from: Figure Drawing (Hardcover)
Pretty dated book but basics were there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Figure Drawing
Figure Drawing by Andrew Loomis (Hardcover - May 31 2011)
CDN$ 46.00 CDN$ 28.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews