Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A steal at this price
2 main reasons you just cant give this book less than 5 stars.

1. Its packed full of artwork and has text to accompany, not overwhelm it. Outlay is good and its very big sized book which stands well for printing artwork on.
2. The price vs build quality (solid), book size (its pretty big) and lastly content (which as i said does not lack) is of great...
Published on Nov. 3 2011 by Lucian B. Boicu

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather Disappointing
Getting my hands on this after enjoying absolutely incredible art archives such as Valkyria Chronicles Design Archive and all of the Udon published megaman artbooks only led to disappointment.

This is a book full of pretty pictures completely out of context with little, if any text accompanying them. Not necessarily bad, but definitely not what I was hoping I'd...
Published 14 months ago by DKD


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A steal at this price, Nov. 3 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halo: The Art of Building Worlds (Hardcover)
2 main reasons you just cant give this book less than 5 stars.

1. Its packed full of artwork and has text to accompany, not overwhelm it. Outlay is good and its very big sized book which stands well for printing artwork on.
2. The price vs build quality (solid), book size (its pretty big) and lastly content (which as i said does not lack) is of great value.

If you like scifi artwork type stuff with environments buy this book. If you're a halo fan even better; personally i never played the games but you dont have to in order to enjoy this. Nice book to skim over and add to one's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scope of Halo is too much for just one book, Nov. 1 2011
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Halo: The Art of Building Worlds (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:22 Mins

When I first realise that another Halo art book is coming out, I was wondering what they are going to put inside.

Turns out this art book is sort of a look back at Halo from the art. That's looking back at 10 years of Halo, which really needs a few books to be comprehensive. So this book tries to cover in its 192 pages, Halo: Combat Evolved, Halo 2, Halo 3, Halo: ODST, Halo: Wars, Halo: Legends and Halo: Reach. Seven titles if you're counting.

The art is grouped in chapters that look at the environment, the enemies, vehicles, alien beings, the good guys, Master Chief and homeworlds.

The art is beautiful. There are sketches and also huge paintings. Some are development art, some made it to final. Selected bits are featured so you only get snippets of information, bits and pieces of the whole Halo story. There isn't much duplication compared to other art books because the book shows new art and is made up of stuff that were left out in other books.

Because of the immense scope of Halo, this book is a bit underwhelming even though the art is spectacular. Something in my mind keeps telling me there's more. If you've seen Halo Encyclopedia, you know that there's a whole lot more.

If you want to check out more Halo art, you can look for The Art of Halo: Creating A Virtual World, The Art of Halo 3: Prima Official Art Book (incredibly rare), Halo: Reach Legendary Edition Guide (Brady Games Cover image may Vary) (art section at the back) and Halo Encyclopedia (the ultimate reference).

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, June 16 2014
This review is from: Halo: The Art of Building Worlds (Hardcover)
When I rediscovered illustrating after a long absence, and wanted to get into concept art development for my screenplay, this happened to be the first book I picked up. I was positively blown away by the quality of the images presented, and the some of process that went into their development.

Now, the book is a little short - given the number of Halo games available, for them to have crammed all that into this book means there are some pretty hefty omissions. But, they're not enough for me to dock any stars.

If you have an interest in the visual background of the franchise's development, this book is a great place to start. Character design, environmental concept art. Some fantastic action shots.

Hopefully somewhere in the pipeline is Halo: The Art of Building (More) Worlds...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, Jan. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halo: The Art of Building Worlds (Hardcover)
I am a huge Halo fan and to see behind the scenes of the making of Halo is awesome! Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather Disappointing, June 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halo: The Art of Building Worlds (Hardcover)
Getting my hands on this after enjoying absolutely incredible art archives such as Valkyria Chronicles Design Archive and all of the Udon published megaman artbooks only led to disappointment.

This is a book full of pretty pictures completely out of context with little, if any text accompanying them. Not necessarily bad, but definitely not what I was hoping I'd get for the price tag.

You'd think that with a title like "The Art of Building Worlds" the book would offer more insight into the creative processes of Bungie and 343's incredible artists as they create and design the stunning worlds of the Halo universe, but it ends up little more than a picture book.

Great if you want a collection of pretty pictures, but not so much if you want a little more out of your art books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo: The Art of Building Worlds
Halo: The Art of Building Worlds by Titan Books (Hardcover - Oct. 18 2011)
CDN$ 34.00 CDN$ 27.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews