Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real deal -- at last!, March 28 2008
This is work from a true master of story structure.
Truby's been teaching writers for more than two
decades. It's always been an in person class with
some people xeroxing notes for others. He's never
published before now.

Truby's work is invaluable if you want to write a
well structured story with realistic characters
possessing clear and logical motivations.

The book shows some of the vast array of writer's
tools available to create rich and compelling stories.

All of the book is invaluable. For me, the highlight is
the 22 steps, outlined in detail.

If you can't describe your hero's problem, need, desire and understand
how her desire changes over the life of the story, then stop reading
me and start reading John Truby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must !, June 27 2008
By 
Definitly, one... if not,THE best book I ever read on the subject. Take my word. I mostly read in french (not a lot of real writer) but this book is a must. I don't like to leave this kind of commentary but I do it to help you see over the load of books on the subject. I already read more than 20 books on the subject. This is one the best. Just...Try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best text on Story telling, May 7 2014
By 
M. Kleiber "Appreciator of quality" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The finest information on story telling that I have found. John Truby is a master, and he conveys his ideas succinctly and completely.
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Anatomy of Story by John Truby, March 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Anatomy of Story: 22 Steps to Becoming a Master Storyteller (Paperback)
If you only plan on buying one book (ha!) to help with your writing, let this be the one. I wish I could give it more than 5 stars. That being said, it is such a monumental undertaking to structure your story using his guidelines that it's pretty darn daunting. I have felt like an ant preparing to undertake a walk around the globe but, have a few less miles to go now.

Novice writers may find their eyes rolling around in their heads but don't feel bad - experienced writers feel the same way! If you want to write a multi-structured, textured, vastly engaging book, buy this one first. Think of it as a doctoral thesis for your novel or screenplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of...., Sept. 29 2013
By 
Roger M. Brown (Vancouver BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Having bought and read that other book....whose name now escapes me (it's about the same size and better known), I got very little from it.
Took a gamble on this one and it paid off handsomely. Excellent reference and well-presented information about how to structure and write a script. Yes, I've also had the paper-backs in writing, and this one trumps those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A writing bible!, Aug. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Anatomy of Story: 22 Steps to Becoming a Master Storyteller (Paperback)
This book is my writing bible! Honestly, this is one of the most thourough, complete and professionnal writing book I've ever read! If you want to write an organic story based on a character, this book will tell you how to create a solid, multi-layered character! The book also covers all the aspects of the story based on the character's progression. Just amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something different., Jan. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Anatomy of Story: 22 Steps to Becoming a Master Storyteller (Paperback)
Have all the other big books on this stuff (also highly recommend "The Art of Dramatic Writing" by Lajos Egri); Truby's book is another one that takes a different approach than the traditional 3-act structure.

If you go through each section and work on your story/script until you've made it bulletproof, this is really helpful. Had to shoot down my first 4 script attempts partway through the process, but now I've got something that is concise and solid, and each of the previous attempts helped make this much stronger. Taking some time, but I think much better to spend it early on rather than try to rewrite an entire script or book.

Overall a really solid approach--focuses on the relationships within the story rather than hitting certain structure points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a fantastic resource, and I highly recommend it to anyone ..., Sept. 15 2014
This review is from: The Anatomy of Story: 22 Steps to Becoming a Master Storyteller (Paperback)
This is a fantastic resource, and I highly recommend it to anyone interested in story structure. However, it's important for anyone considering the ebook to note that the ebook does not include the worksheets at the end of each chapter, which are a big part of the usefulness of the book. I highly recommend purchasing the physical book rather than the ebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, Aug. 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Anatomy of Story: 22 Steps to Becoming a Master Storyteller (Paperback)
Completely mindblowing and that's not an understatement. John Truby simply is the absolute screenwriting doctor and professor. The expression "must-have" applies a 100% to this book. I wish I could get its hardcover edition though. Treat this Bible with respect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book On Screenwriting, July 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Anatomy of Story: 22 Steps to Becoming a Master Storyteller (Paperback)
The only book you'll need to comprehend screenwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Anatomy of Story: 22 Steps to Becoming a Master Storyteller
CDN$ 19.00 CDN$ 13.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews