Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful new way of gardening, Jan. 10 2012
By 
Hélène (Montréal, QC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Aquaponic Gardening, A Step-By-Step Guide To Raising Vegetables And Fish Together (Paperback)
Hydroponics + Aquaculture = Aquaponics. Already, visions of fish tanks supporting planting beds (and vice versa) swims in the imagination. It may be a way to save our oceans from over fishing and provide local foods (fishes and plants). And here starts this book, explaining all the reasons why you should too be at least curious about this way of gardening. The book in itself is superb, gives enough information to start the system successfully and is well structured (divided by chapters tackling each aspects of the system like water, fish, plumbing, media, plants, bacteria and worms, and more). The only things that nocked a star out of the review :

First, the beginning of the book is a lot (a lot!) of pages that keep repeating why you should engage in this and some reasons came back multiple times.

Second, a point you have to be warned about before getting involved in this kind of system, it's a very complex system that requires a lot of "measurements" for lack of a better term. Example : A fish tank this size will acommodate X pounds of fish (it gets more complex since fishes do start small and grow up) and provide for X size of planting beds, with adequate light, with plumbing pipes of X inches, with a pump of X force... It gets a bit discouraging at some point (maybe it explains why the introduction is trying so hard to convince the reader).

Is it worth it? Yes! With this book you will have all the information required to get your own aquaponic system started. It is a good, thorough book. But if you are inexperienced in either fishes or gardening (without mentionning DIY projects), this might be too much to successfully pull it off at first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great info in a lot of Chaff, May 5 2014
By 
Earmotion - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Aquaponic Gardening, A Step-By-Step Guide To Raising Vegetables And Fish Together (Paperback)
There is a lot of great information here. For me, however, the information is buried in a lot of unnecessary verbiage. There are stories from other Aquaponics growers and the beginning of each section has statements of what Aquaponics means to different people. All of that for me was not needed. I do not normally skim any book but this was just plain tiresome, until you get to the last few chapters. The book is excellent there, were it goes into methods, pipe, tank and growing bed sizing, types of growing media, and fish to plant ratios, etc. I guess I wanted a purely technical manual. If you can wade through the fluff it's all in here though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic resource book!, Jan. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Aquaponic Gardening, A Step-By-Step Guide To Raising Vegetables And Fish Together (Paperback)
Sylvia has done an absolutely amazing job breaking down how to build an aquaponics system for home use. I've been trying for months to figure it all out from posted videos, forums, etc. I wish I had ordered her book on day one! Everything else makes so much more sense. I started gathering supplies today!

Aquaponics truly has the potential to change the world; if nothing else, it will change your own little corner!

Thank you, Sylvia, for writing such an amazing book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, June 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Aquaponic Gardening, A Step-By-Step Guide To Raising Vegetables And Fish Together (Paperback)
Good book well written and worth a read , If you are interested in seting up an aquaponic system this is a good book to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book to Aquaponics, April 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Aquaponic Gardening, A Step-By-Step Guide To Raising Vegetables And Fish Together (Paperback)
I have read this book loaned from the local Library before. I was so enthusiastic about the huge amount of information delivered in this book, that I decided to buy it, to have it on hand when I start building my system. Because there is so much information in it, it will be my look up bible for the years to come.
This is the best book to the Topic of Aquaponics I have come across so far. Precise and comprehensive with clear instructions and comments of what to do an what better not to do. It gives also clear warnings which is very important to avoid costly mistakes.
This book is clearly structured and can be used down the road to look up for solutions in the process of practicing Aquaponics.
it won't be placed far from my Greenhouse.
all thumbs up for this book I can only recommend it to everybody seriously looking into this interesting topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars !!!, April 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Aquaponic Gardening, A Step-By-Step Guide To Raising Vegetables And Fish Together (Paperback)
Provides you with everything you need to get your own aquaponics set-up going. Great read! Aquaponics is the way of the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Jan. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Aquaponic Gardening, A Step-By-Step Guide To Raising Vegetables And Fish Together (Paperback)
This book will give you a very good understanding of how aquaponics work and will be very helpful to maintain your system, fix and prevent potential mistake you will made. Overall, the books has everything in it except the DIY part and a lack of "where to buy" reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aquaponic Gardening, A Step-By-Step Guide To Raising Vegetables And Fish Together, May 21 2012
By 
Linda Ames (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Aquaponic Gardening, A Step-By-Step Guide To Raising Vegetables And Fish Together (Paperback)
Aquaponic Gardening, A Step-By-Step Guide To Raising Vegetables And Fish TogetherGreat book that is both easy to read and logically set out. I finished it with a GREAT deal of enthusiasm and desire to begin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aquaponic Gardening, A Step-By-Step Guide To Raising Vegetables And Fish Together
CDN$ 29.95 CDN$ 23.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews