Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indigestion is most often caused by too little acid!, July 5 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Why Stomach Acid Is Good for You: Natural Relief from Heartburn, Indigestion, Reflux and GERD (Paperback)
Hard to believe, but true - at least in my particular case and, in the authors' opinion, about 90% presenting with indigestion.
After being warned by a pediatrician about the high incidence of stomach cancer among patients taking acid suppressors, I scoured the health food stores and web looking for alternative therapies until finally finding Dr. Wright's & Lenard's book.
They explained in detail how the stomach and, by extension, the whole body, are severely compromised by low stomach acid. The doctors expose the drug companies - who have known since the 1800s that the symptoms of low stomach acid mimic and are much more common than those attributed to too much acid - for the greedy pushers that they are.
The doctors warn of an impending stomach cancer epidemic and other related health problems if the drugs that are currently dispensed like candy (and are amazingly available over the counter) continue unfettered.
In my own personal experience, I have been under treatment for GERD and heartburn for over 10 years with typical emphasis on acid reduction, e.g., Prilosec, Nexium, and a lot of Rolaids. I was off drugs the same day I received this book and feel much better by taking over-the-counter supplemental acid and pepsin.
No doubt the drug companies will attack the truth here. There is a lot of money to be made by selling expensive products that at once reduce and yet sustain the indigestion symptoms daily until the patient eventually dies.
This information is a lot like that of Australian medical researcher Dr. Barry Marshall, the man who was ridiculed but later vindicated for discovering that the cause of many ulcers is a helicobacter pylori bacterial infection. While initially controversial, this book will hopefully similarly end up changing the dependence on dangerous acid-reducing drugs and save lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartburn Cure on the Horizon, Dec 11 2002
This review is from: Why Stomach Acid Is Good for You: Natural Relief from Heartburn, Indigestion, Reflux and GERD (Paperback)
I'm 32 and have had heartburn since I was a teenager. I controlled it with TUMS. A year ago I finally went to a GI doctor and he immediately prescribed Prevacid. It worked great. I could eat anything, even my favorite pepperoni pizza. After a year on the drug I decided to quit cold turkey. I didn't want to have to take this drug the rest of my life especially after hearing some of the possible long term side effects (stomach tumors). I had horrendous heartburn non stop for 2 weeks. I stuck with only Tums to help ease the pain. I got to thinking that something else might be going on. I called my sister who worked at an allergy clinic. She had me come in to speak with the doctor. He ordered Food Allergy tests. Sure enough... Dairy, Tomatoes, Corn, Peanuts. At about the same time, I found this book. This book explains why that it is very probable that I got these food allergies from STOMACH ACID SUPPRESSION. It also explains why I could have low stomach acid which might be the cause of my GERD. It could also explain why I have had acne since I was a teenager. It's all exposed in this wonderful book. This is no joke... I now believe I will find out soon when I get my allergies under control that STOMACH ACID IS GOOD FOR YOU!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read health book, Oct. 22 2003
This review is from: Why Stomach Acid Is Good for You: Natural Relief from Heartburn, Indigestion, Reflux and GERD (Paperback)
The title of this book is a bit deceptive. The authors use a combination of exisiting medical literature, clinical experience, and common sense to make the point that a stomach that is not functioning properly is associated not just with stomach problems, but with many other medical problems as well (e.g., depression, autoimmune diseases, asthma). If you only read one book about health or nutrition in your life, this should be the book you read. My only criticism of this book is that although they provide links to organizations with doctors who might test your stomach function, there is no link to any list of doctors who definitely will do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read if you care about your health, May 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Stomach Acid Is Good for You: Natural Relief from Heartburn, Indigestion, Reflux and GERD (Paperback)
Everyone should read this book. We are so misinformed about our health care. The drugs recommended to lower gastric acid are harmful and in most cases unnecessary. We need to try to cure ourselves, not mask the symptoms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works!, Oct. 6 2002
By 
Phil Reda (Woodinville, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Why Stomach Acid Is Good for You: Natural Relief from Heartburn, Indigestion, Reflux and GERD (Paperback)
I am a current patent of Dr. Wright and have read his book after my stomach acid was tested ,as outlined in the book, and showed to be extremly low. I have been following the guidance outlined and under Dr Wrights guidance and feel better. No more bloating after a meal and more stable energy through the day. It is too bad most doctors do not check their patents stomach acid level before prescribing medication. As outlined in this book, digestion is not the only problem associated with low stomach acid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Made a lot of sense and has helped me with my stomach problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Dec 4 2001
This review is from: Why Stomach Acid Is Good for You: Natural Relief from Heartburn, Indigestion, Reflux and GERD (Paperback)
Bad experiences with heartburn and indigestion might make you think that stomach acid is a bad thing. Wrong. I read this book and now drink over a pint of it a day, if I can keep the stuff down, and my insides are feeling tip-top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Why Stomach Acid Is Good for You: Natural Relief from Heartburn, Indigestion, Reflux and GERD
CDN$ 17.95 CDN$ 12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews