Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read. Love it.
Nice small size, and this poem is absolutely amazing. The other poems are great as well. Any fan of poetry, especially beat poetry must have this.
Published 10 months ago by Jeanette

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag.
Ginsberg is perhaps an "important" poet, and I admit that "Howl" has a certain frothy energy. But aside from the oceanic rhetoric, there's not much in these poems; it's the kind of poetry that no doubt sounds great when recited before a crowd, but doesn't really bear much scrutiny. I was tired of hearing about the best minds of Allen Ginsberg's...
Published on April 16 2000 by elljay


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great read. Love it., Aug. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Howl and Other Poems (Paperback)
Nice small size, and this poem is absolutely amazing. The other poems are great as well. Any fan of poetry, especially beat poetry must have this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Complexe et fascinant, Dec 14 2012
By 
Matthieu Deborbe "Matthieu" (Montréal, Qc) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Howl and Other Poems (Paperback)
Pour ceux qui ont vu le film "Howl" et qui s'intéressent à la Beat Generation, cet ouvrage est un des classiques. En le lisant on comprend mieux pourquoi son auteur a été l'objet d'un procès.
"Howl" a participé d'un mouvement précurseur de l'affirmation de la communauté gaie aux États-Unis, à partir des années 1970. C'est donc à ne pas manquer si la question vous intéresse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and raw, Oct. 6 2006
This review is from: Howl and Other Poems (Paperback)
The poem "Howl" actually appeared in a college reader that was required of us---believe it or not. I was shocked but pleased to see that freedom of speech was still somewhat alive, given the unorthadox nature of the poem and the profanity that was used (quite creatively in it). Talk about ahead of your time! This is one of the most powerful poems (Howl) that you will ever run across. Ginsberg takes his cue from Whitman, only carries it much further--like Whitman in present day--on drugs. Of the three books I've recently read: McCrae's "Katzenjammer," and Jack K's "On the Road," Ginsberg's was the most powerful. Not for the faint of heart, it is nevertheless a great poem that will haunt you. Also recommended reading: "On the Road" and "Katzenjammer" by McCrae.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST-HAVE Book, May 23 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Howl and Other Poems (Paperback)
And as one of the most profound poem of the 20th century began...
"I saw the best minds of my generation
destroyed by madness,
while starving hysterically naked,
and roaming the streets with an angry fix..."
Allen Ginsberg, master poet and storyteller of the Beat Generation, became the omnipotent force of the newly formatted Beatnik movement that, through insanity, madness, and periods of solitude, rose from the depth of the west coast, specifically in the woefully sexy city of Berkeley, CA, to the cumulative vortex that remained in pieces on the seductive streets of NYC's Lower East Side community.
"Will we walk all night through solitary streets? The trees add shade to shade, lights out in houses, we'll both be lonely."
The poem-dense book, "Howl & Other Poems" not only includes both parts of "Howl" but includes other classical works such as "Kaddish" (a beautifully rendered tribute to Ginsberg's mother- a figure whom he continued to question the delicate balances of her love toward him and vice versa) and "A Supermarket in California" where he composes a rather brief poem, spanning from his powerful visions of him and Walt Whitman walking upon the solitary streets, wondering what has become of their things as he allows Whitman's "beard to point them in the right direction."
"The madman bum and angel beat in Time, unknown, yet putting down here what might be left to say in time, coming after death."
Overall this book is the equivalent of a historical text-book, in terms of the Beat Generation's poetry. It also contains several short poems that were written under the influence of... certain substances and poems related to Ginsberg's sexual experiences, as well.
The one interesting side to the book itself is that, in my opinion, not only it is a reflection of a singular man's views, experiences, desires, and emotions, but it is a mirror of the vastly unknown and abnormally tucked-away world, that the reader can reflect upon. This book is worth owning. Another Amazon quick pick I'd like to recommend is The Losers Club by Richard Perez
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., May 19 2010
This review is from: Howl and Other Poems (Paperback)
What a joy to read! Also look to the next generation (see ArtisanPacificPublishing Website)Beaver Tales and a Canada Goosing George and Condi: The Last Decayed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mystical visions and cosmic vibrations., May 2 2004
This review is from: Howl and Other Poems (Paperback)
The title for the main poem and susequently this collection was coined by Jack Kerouac. Howl was the word he used to describe a certain kind of poetry which Ginsberg was a master.
Howl is easy to understand if you know who it is about. It can be broken up by person, most of whom you may have heard of- Kerouac, Burroughs, Neal Cassady, Orlovsky, and other nameless people he met along his path. In writing Howl, he created them all equal, as they should be. Some people are great writers, poets, heros, but everyone, no matter how seemingly small, is a great person with incredible stories. Ginsberg captured this sentiment and created HOWL!
My other favorite poem in this collection is AMERICA. This poem is as true today as it was January 17, 1956 So true, it's eerie. Read the poem if you don't believe me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, Feb. 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Howl and Other Poems (Paperback)
In 'Howl and Other Poems' Allen Ginsburg plumbs the depths of primal human emotion from the perspective of the disenfranchised bohemians of 1950s urban America. With haunting phrases and cadences influenced by sources as disparate as Hebrew liturgy and ad copy, Ginsburg evokes the joy and despair of a affluent Post-World-War-II decade lived in the shadow of the Bomb and Eisenhower's grim military-industrial complex. 'Beat' writing is a unique, experimental genre which transcends the strictures of contemporary academic style and content, dealing forthrightly with drug abuse, homosexuality, and other taboo subjects of the time. Allen Ginsburg and his creative associates were the stellar grass-roots poets of their generation, and deserve a careful reading both for enjoyment and understanding of an important time of transition in American society. Buy this book! I'd also like to thank the reviewer who mentioned The Losers Club by Richard Perez, about a poet in New York's East Village. Another great Amazon pick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read and Understand, Dec 3 2003
By 
David N. Reiss (Haymarket, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Howl and Other Poems (Paperback)
I used to think that people didn't read things like "Howl" because they didn't understand. But as I have grown older I've come to the realization that is has much more to do with their NOT wanting to understand. It is easy to read, but not easy to understand. It causes one to think -- no, to have to think. One has to think about "Howl" if one reads it. It is one of those weird things you still think about years later on some lame Tuesday afternoon while paying bills. So, most people avoid it so they don't have to try and come to grips with the affects it can have on their minds. Football and movies are easier for people to deal with most of the time.
I don't know if this is a bad thing anymore. People want to live comfortable lives, and if one thinks uncomfortable thoughts, then life can become uncomfortable. One is forced into action to try and help right the wrongs of this world, and that is not easy. Wrongs stay in place in large measure because people don't know how to fix them. Sure, we can quote RFK and say, "some see things that never were and ask why not", but saying things like that is the easy part.
Reading, "Howl" changes a person. Makes them uncomfortable, but it means to do that. It is a great piece of writing. It is probably the best piece of poetry written in the last half of the 20th century in the United States.
But beware; because it causes one of think of change. Change can be good, and it can be bad. I like to think "Howl" is good because it opened my eyes to ugly thoughts. True, ugly can be beautiful. But remember the hardest thing about change -- it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All You Need to Know, Nov. 27 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Howl and Other Poems (Paperback)
This book changed my life.
In my sophmore year of high school, my English teacher read "America," a vicious commentary on tha views of the majority in this country contained in this book, to my class.
I didn't think about this peom again until senior year (though it had stunned my fellow classmates and I). Picking this great pocket edition up at my local bookstore, I had no way of realizing what kind of effect it would have on me.
This book is full of some of Ginsberg's most classic works. His unorthodox style bleeds through the poems whether they are shorter, narrative odes to important figures in his life or sprawling, staggering, frenetic pieces which pull the extremes of life itself into the lines.
Because of this book I am now persuing poetry in college.
This should be required reading for Life in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic beat poetry..., Sept. 11 2003
This review is from: Howl and Other Poems (Paperback)
Kerouac believed that language in a novel (or poem, in this instance) should place the reader in the same frenzy as the author was in when it was composed. This philosophy is manifested in all the great works of the Beat Generation; Ginsberg, in "Howl," does it the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Howl and Other Poems
Howl and Other Poems by Allen Ginsberg (Paperback - Jan. 1 2001)
CDN$ 8.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews