Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but has some flaws
Millitary Small Arms is an excellent reference work on the topic, perhaps among the best I have seen. However, it does have several significant flaws. The first is that many widely distributed guns are left out while some not so well known and well used guns are here (such as the single shot breach-loading 9mm Deer gun). Examples of these are the M40 and M24 sniping...
Published on Aug. 12 2000 by Malenkov

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reference for Gun Enthusiasts
For those with a passing interest or an obsession with guns, it may be wise to buy other books before this one. It contains well written write up that includes the history of the weapon, firearms efficiently cataloged by categories according to their countries with a well designed table of contents of an easier time of searching for the firearm and several photographs to...
Published on Jan. 18 2003 by Dino Rodriguez


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but has some flaws, Aug. 12 2000
By 
Malenkov (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Military Small Arms of the 20th Century (Paperback)
Millitary Small Arms is an excellent reference work on the topic, perhaps among the best I have seen. However, it does have several significant flaws. The first is that many widely distributed guns are left out while some not so well known and well used guns are here (such as the single shot breach-loading 9mm Deer gun). Examples of these are the M40 and M24 sniping rifles, and the M4 carbine (although its picture is prominantly displayed on the cover). The other significant flaw is that Ian Hogg or John Weeks evidently did not write or even closely examin the photo credits. This is obvious when you read the text, which is near perfect, and when you then read the photo captions, which have numerous mistakes. It talks of the SVS when it means the SKS, the "Walther" MP5 when HK made that gun, the "G77" when it means the G11, the "NK36" when it is a picture of the "HK36", the "Colt M733" when it means the XM177E3, "ArmaLite" instead of Armalite, and a half dozen more mistakes. However, returning to my original statement, this book is an excellent reference, IF you could overlook the photo captions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reference for Gun Enthusiasts, Jan. 18 2003
This review is from: Military Small Arms of the 20th Century (Paperback)
For those with a passing interest or an obsession with guns, it may be wise to buy other books before this one. It contains well written write up that includes the history of the weapon, firearms efficiently cataloged by categories according to their countries with a well designed table of contents of an easier time of searching for the firearm and several photographs to entertain the passive reader. I'd also like to add that the index at the back was a very effective way of finding a particular gun and the introductory articles were well turned-out. Although it could have been better with more detailed cutaway photographs of the weapons and the articles could have used some additions beyond the weapons history. It also could have included weapons manufactured by up and coming manufacturers like Arms Corporation of the Philippines that imports well made firearms to the States and other countries. Not a top priority buy in the long list of firearm reference but a must nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly Witty, April 15 2001
This review is from: Military Small Arms of the 20th Century (Paperback)
I've always enjoyed Mr. Hogg's books. His writing is informative and I find myself refering back to his books time and time again. Though I have a few small quibbles with this edition, some models are left out etc. , for the most part I found it to be a comprehensive and beautifully illustrated reference book. But what I especially like about Ian Hogg is that he's actually rather witty. Hardly what one would expect from a technical reference work, such as this. I've been wanting a copy of this book for many years and I don't regret having spent the money to buy this , the last edition of this series.Hopefully everyone agrees with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could be better, April 12 2000
By 
R. P. Firriolo (Hudson Valley, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Military Small Arms of the 20th Century (Paperback)
This book contains some very useful and interesting information. However, it falls far short of being comprehensive. Although the title is "Miltary Small Arms..." the work contains entries for firearms never adopted by any military, and omits significant military-issue firearms (e.g., the Canadian and British Inglis High Power, the US M4 and M4A1 Carbines, the Colt Model M General Officer's Pistols in .32 & .380, etc.).
The book is still a worthwhile purchase, though one is left wondering why certain obscure firearms were included while too many standard issue firearms were omitted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very imformative book, July 20 2003
By 
Lucas (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Military Small Arms of the 20th Century (Paperback)
When I purchased this book abut a year ago, I didnt know anything about firearms. I read the whole book and really enjoyed it. The reason i gave this book only 4 stars was because it does miss some firearms (Ian Hogg's health was deterioationg at the time of its writing). With the purchase of Jane's gun Recongnition Guide, written also by Hogg, I found that I was missing very little in my knowledge of military firearms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Military Small Arms of the 20th Century
Military Small Arms of the 20th Century by Ian Hogg (Paperback - Feb. 10 2000)
CDN$ 27.50 CDN$ 22.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews