Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars The Updated 3rd Edition of A Useful GI Joe Reference
This is the latest, 3rd Edition of the very popular "Encyclopedia" of GI Joe collecting. This 1" thick, 512 page book has more than 1,000 black and white photos, and a super 48 page large, sharp, full color picture section. It has a very useful, complete table of contents making item location easy. Values are provided. I found this volume most interesting and useful...
Published on Nov. 20 2001 by Irvin Goodman

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Vincent "San Repro"
Vincent "San Repro" is at it again. This book is filled with reproduction "prototypes" which the author fails to mention are complete fakes that he created. There is a tiny disclaimer toward the back of the book which claims there are reproductions. However, in the body of the book, the author misleads collectors by showing several pictures of...
Published on Nov. 16 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Vincent "San Repro", Nov. 16 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Complete Encyclopedia to GI Joe (Paperback)
Vincent "San Repro" is at it again. This book is filled with reproduction "prototypes" which the author fails to mention are complete fakes that he created. There is a tiny disclaimer toward the back of the book which claims there are reproductions. However, in the body of the book, the author misleads collectors by showing several pictures of reproduction items that are passed off as the original. This book is a complete sham and a disgrace. Any longtime vintage collector will see right through it.
If you are looking for a truly great book on the history of GI Joe, I suggest you read John Michlig's books. They have all authentic prototypes from the actual creators of GI Joe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Be Very, Very Careful!, Aug. 28 2002
By 
"fishbulbs" (New Lebanon, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Complete Encyclopedia to GI Joe (Paperback)
While Santelmo's book is valuable for all the interviews with early GI Joe creators, collectors who have not had experience handling rare items can be easily misled by the many photos of so-called "prototypes" which were "re-created" for the book. Because the "re-creations" are not clearly marked there is significant concern that when these surface in collecting circles they will be thought authentic because of their association with the book. The price guide is also virtually useless as it undervalues some very rare pieces and wildly overvalues some more common ones. Buyer Beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Why Another Edition?, Nov. 16 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Complete Encyclopedia to GI Joe (Paperback)
It seems very strange that Santelmo adds to an otherwise useful collector's guide a whole bunch of material taken from John Michlig's book, GI JOE: THE COMPLETE STORY OF AMERICA'S FAVORITE MAN OF ACTION. Why not do inexpensive updates to the collector information without all the poorly written "history" at the beginning? 592 pages? Under half of those pages are useful.
The collector book by Derryl DePriest is much better, leaner book for collector's, and the Michlig book is a better book for the history of the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Fun photos, some fakes, Oct. 10 2002
This review is from: Complete Encyclopedia to GI Joe (Paperback)
This book for some reason includes re-creations of proto-types. How do you recreate a prototype? Sounds like a dumb idea to me. ...I don't know, but I liked the book mostly because of the interesting photos of GI Joes, and the information that it added to what I already know. The parts of the book (like the value guide) which I thought were garbage I just skipped over. There are lots of entertaining photos in the book, and interesting information too. Is it some kind of Collector's Bible for GI Joe? No, I don't think so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Updated 3rd Edition of A Useful GI Joe Reference, Nov. 20 2001
By 
Irvin Goodman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Complete Encyclopedia to GI Joe (Paperback)
This is the latest, 3rd Edition of the very popular "Encyclopedia" of GI Joe collecting. This 1" thick, 512 page book has more than 1,000 black and white photos, and a super 48 page large, sharp, full color picture section. It has a very useful, complete table of contents making item location easy. Values are provided. I found this volume most interesting and useful. GI Joe fans will find it of value, just as the popular previous editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Standard Reference Guide, Dec 21 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Complete Encyclopedia to GI Joe (Paperback)
While some hardcore collectors and professional critics have found some small points to pick at in this book, most reasonable collectors will find it to be just what it purports to be: A very good standard reference guide to one of our all time favorite toys G.I. Joe. So find a comfortable chair, turn off the TV, flip open the book and get reacquainted with a old childhood friend G.I. Joe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Waste of Time, Nov. 26 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Complete Encyclopedia to GI Joe (Paperback)
This guy thinks collectors want to see his own creations of what rare prototypes are. What a complete waste of time. Collectors want to see the real thing. Most of the "rare" prototypes in this book are fakes that Santelmo forgets to tell the reader. This book would be useful if you are interested in conterfeit items!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Book!, Jan. 26 2004
By 
Larry Maher (Sherborn, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Complete Encyclopedia to GI Joe (Paperback)
At first, I only wanted to see the new figures. But then I looked at the 60s figures and wanted the 40th Anniversary sets. I agree, the "prototypes" were fake but the book was still good. It is the only book I read. A great edition to your collection. Buy and Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joemazing, March 22 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Complete Encyclopedia to GI Joe (Paperback)
This book rocks! I can't say enough good things about it. Very well put together and great pics. It makes me want to get my joes out of the attic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete Encyclopedia to GI Joe
Complete Encyclopedia to GI Joe by Vincent Santelmo (Paperback - Oct. 31 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 32.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews