Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward and simple techniques and training.
Michael Janich is one of the biggest names in this field. He teaches schools that lots of people pay a lot of money to attend. This book provides an introductory overview of his teaching. The methods shown in this book are straightforward and simple. There's not a lot of earth-shattering information in this book but the book does provide a solid and well rounded...
Published on Aug. 26 2003 by C. J Rives

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NEEDLESSLY COMPLEX
This was an okay book, but due to the esteemed Mister Janich's formidable reputation I expected more. He obviously put a lot of time and effort into compiling this book, and there are lots of photographs to illustrate his concepts, but the text was far too wordy and needlessly complicated. It was tiresome to read. Another thing that really got under my skin was his...
Published on April 9 2003 by Tyr Shadowblade (TM)


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward and simple techniques and training., Aug. 26 2003
By 
C. J Rives "pyrolyzer" (Amarillo, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knife Fighting: A Practical Course (Paperback)
Michael Janich is one of the biggest names in this field. He teaches schools that lots of people pay a lot of money to attend. This book provides an introductory overview of his teaching. The methods shown in this book are straightforward and simple. There's not a lot of earth-shattering information in this book but the book does provide a solid and well rounded overview of the topic. I've read several of the older books on knife fighting (W. Cassidy, M. Echanis, etc.) but none have been as useful as this book.
The photos are clear and provide a lot of information. The book is formatted well for training. The large 8.5x11 format can lay open so can have the book out for reference use during training. The print is large with lots of white space on each page for easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NEEDLESSLY COMPLEX, April 9 2003
This review is from: Knife Fighting: A Practical Course (Paperback)
This was an okay book, but due to the esteemed Mister Janich's formidable reputation I expected more. He obviously put a lot of time and effort into compiling this book, and there are lots of photographs to illustrate his concepts, but the text was far too wordy and needlessly complicated. It was tiresome to read. Another thing that really got under my skin was his repeated reference to "the comma cut." Basically, all this "move" entails is the time honored tradition of simply sticking the blade in and twisting it -- but to hear Janich go on, you'd think this was a new technique of his own invention! Some good concepts here, but overall it's as dry as an economics textbook! Like I said -- tiresome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, Jan. 28 2002
By 
Loren w Christensen (Portland, Oregon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knife Fighting: A Practical Course (Paperback)
Michael Janich knows knife fighting. I had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Janich recently and I was instantly impressed with his unassuming manner. But don't be fooled by it. He knows the fighting arts and he is a true master of the blade.
I am also a big fan of his Fighting Folder video series. Unlike many martial artists who use the video format to show off their skill, Mr. Janich refrains from such childish behavior and gives the viewer a solid presentation on how to choose a blade, carry it, and draw it as quickly as possible. I saw him draw his knife in person and I can tell you that his skill and his speed are incredible.

As an author of 13 books on the martial arts, I highly recommend anything by Michael Janich.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shows The Basics of Michael's Training Curriculum, Nov. 27 2002
By 
H. Row "in1ear" (Arvada, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knife Fighting: A Practical Course (Paperback)
I've had the pleasure of taking a beginners class in MBC taught by Mr Janich here in Colorado. This book and the videos fall a bit short of actual in person training, BUT NOT BY MUCH! And only for the reason that LIVE partner training is so much superior than just reading a book J anich has lot's of confirmable bona fides (a student / co developer of and with Col. Rex Applegate) among many other credits. I question some other knife fighting writers biographies.
There are a lot of books that are written that could get you killed, this one can give you the beginnings to saving your life. No BS, just technique written in a pretty mellow manner.
If you feel that at you may need to defend yourself using or against a knife then this book is a great starting point. I would suggest that you not stop here though. Read more and get the "LIVE" training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cold steel for the man on the street, Aug. 14 2002
This review is from: Knife Fighting: A Practical Course (Paperback)
I must preface this review with a recommendation: read the other reviews by people who have been there. Never been in a knife fight, but based on reading other knife fighting books and my martial arts training, I must say this is the best book I have read on the subject. Even if you never plan to carry a knife or use it, the techniques covered by Mr. Janich are invaluable. The other books I have read are incomplete, outdated, or are simply vehicles to get you to buy the authors' knives. The grips, stances, and tactics all seem to be logical and well thought out. One thing I have heard from experienced knife fighters: " expect to be cut ". A must have for the martial artist's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good basics, Nov. 26 2001
By 
Mark Barlow (Alabama Gulf Coast) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knife Fighting: A Practical Course (Paperback)
Janich does a very good job of covering the basics. Beginners would benefit greatly from this well written and well thought out book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rule #1 take a gun to a Knife Fight!, Aug. 23 2001
This review is from: Knife Fighting: A Practical Course (Paperback)
This is an excellent manual for the novice and a good manual for the intermediate student. It is full of practical and effective techniques. Janich maintains a healthy realistic view of knife encounters; especially one of his last photos in the book. RUN away from the knife attacker, that is your best defense. Janich demonstrates some practical and effective techniques.The book is based on effective concepts and principles of self-defense, unlike so many of the alleged knife fighting "masters" write about. My advice and what I teach my students about encounters against knife wielding assh-les is first, if your going to be involved in a situation in which you have the probability of facing a knife, carry a gun! If you can not avoid the circumstances of facing an edged weapon, and a true self-defense expert should be able to avoid that probablity, then be prepared to get cut and see your own blood. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In depth, complete., Jan. 24 2001
By 
This review is from: Knife Fighting: A Practical Course (Paperback)
I have rarely encountered such an in depth tome on the age old art of knife fighting. Before I digested this material, only two years ago, I had no idea with what novice inclinations I wielded the shiny blade. Now I hold a knife in each hand slicing through the air and at my sandbag target shaped in the effigy of a small tiger. Thank you Michael D. Janich for such an inspiration book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended!, Oct. 12 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Knife Fighting: A Practical Course (Paperback)
Janich's book is a solid, basic and straightforward introduction to proper use of the blade. While nowhere near as comprehensive as Hochheim's book on the subject, it never really attempts to be. This is a streamlined approach to the very basics:
Filipino saber grip, stance, footwork, zoning and angling, basic defense (Meet, Pass, Follow), use of your other tools and perhaps the most important skill...Nike-Do (trust me, check the back cover).
Instruction is sound and systematic, following a logical progression. An important touch; use of the blade is never glamourized. Diligently practicing the skills in this book will quickly make you proficient and better capable of looking after yourself and your loved ones. None of us ever want to find ourselves in a situation where these types of skills are needed, but if you do, Janich's instructions could save your tail. For those looking for more advanced instruction, this book is also a great lead in to Hochheim's Knife Fighting Encyclopedia. Also recommended: Get Tough, Kill or Get Killed, Real World Self Defense
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Basic, informative and effective, Sept. 27 2000
By 
Jason R. Clayton "JRC" (Takoma Park, Maryland USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knife Fighting: A Practical Course (Paperback)
I think that about sums it up. A good beginning book. Just the basics, no hype and no bull. Janich's best advice? Read the book. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc28eda08)

This product

Knife Fighting: A Practical Course
Knife Fighting: A Practical Course by Michael D. Janich (Paperback - Jan. 1 1993)
CDN$ 22.48 CDN$ 15.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews