Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource For Fathers
This book was a very valuable tool for me and my attorney. Along with Attorney Jeffery Leving's book Father's Rights I would put this book at the top of the list for any father involved in a custody dispute. This is a great guidebook and resource to help fathers navigate throught the bias court system.
Published on July 2 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mythological Bull written to destroy single-parent homes
As a systems integration developer who's worked on several Deadbeat Dads projects for various state's soc. services, I can tell you that it is NOT a 'myth' that it is the DIVORCED DADS who abandon their responsibility to their children! Why do you think they don't call it 'deadbeat MOMS'? This book was written by folks intending to subvert the best interests of the...
Published on Jan. 8 2000 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mythological Bull written to destroy single-parent homes, Jan. 8 2000
By 
Amazon Customer "The Truth shall Set Ye Free" (San Francisco - Atlanta - Honolulu - Chicago) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Divorced Dads (Paperback)
As a systems integration developer who's worked on several Deadbeat Dads projects for various state's soc. services, I can tell you that it is NOT a 'myth' that it is the DIVORCED DADS who abandon their responsibility to their children! Why do you think they don't call it 'deadbeat MOMS'? This book was written by folks intending to subvert the best interests of the children of divorce AND to help destroy single-parent families by ridiculing their need for the legislation currently in force to protect their needs. I think it was VERY shameful for John Stossl to give these irresponsible folks air-time on 20/20... disgusting! If Stossl wants to know what's REALLY going on, why doesn't he talk to the Deadbeat Dads social services folks or the police who enforce the child support laws, instead of listening to these nincompoops. Don't waste your money on THIS pile of manure!
Aunty-Violet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource For Fathers, July 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Divorced Dads (Paperback)
This book was a very valuable tool for me and my attorney. Along with Attorney Jeffery Leving's book Father's Rights I would put this book at the top of the list for any father involved in a custody dispute. This is a great guidebook and resource to help fathers navigate throught the bias court system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing when the FACTS speak for themselves!, Sept. 10 2002
By 
"cheetahftl" (Massabullchits) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Divorced Dads (Paperback)
When you listen to what most Womens and/or DV groups or organizations positions', tone and attitude say about Dads these days, and then compare their "politically-correct marketing spin" with the neutral, object facts, as presented in this book through Bravers' work, it is utterly amazing to see what the Agenda these afore mentioned ( Womens groups & DV orgs) have here really is. Sanford Braver & Diane O'Connell have done an excellent job and presenting the facts. This material is a MUST READ. It's too bad Public Policy folks in this country who comissioned Braver's work are not hard at work making serious changes in the poor public policies that have been established over the last 30 years or so, fueled by the Fear, Uncertainity, and Doubt factors and the factually incorrect & incomplete statistics used by the anti-father campaigns waged by so many womens groups and the DV indu$try against men/fathers. It is shameful and disgusting.
Children need and want both parents EQUALLY. Mom and Dad. Whether they are together or not. Simple & Basic.
Children's "Best Interest" is not served by sole physical custody being "awarded" to the mother and removing the father from the day to day picture of their children's lives. Time for the Adults to stop exploiting Children as a cash-cow "prize to be won" in a "winner-take-all" battle that drains and strains all involved; emotionally, physically, spiritually and financially. In case anyone hasn't noticed - this is a major INDU$TRY in our society these days, (separating fathers from their children and extorting exhorbitant $ from the Dad, providing it tax free to the Mom - who is not held accountable on how it is spent - and oh - BTW - The State gets Federal kickbacks based on how much $ they can extort), that is soley GREED & CONTROL based. It is a poison that needs to be addressed and resolved NOW all across our country. This whole current process is in and of itself ABUSIVE and wrong. Public Policy needs realistic common sense CHANGES to be made quickly & deeply into Public Reality if indeed we want a healthy & happy society moving forward. ABUSE of process and basic common sense for financial gain has got to go!
Parenting ones' children, regardless of your gender, is a basic human fundamental need/right supported by numerous, credible studies and reports, not to mention basic common sense. The Best Parent is BOTH Parents.
If you don't agree, after reading this book, then you must be part of the problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable resource, April 9 2002
By 
This review is from: Divorced Dads (Paperback)
As someone who spent several years working in a Texas courthouse, I had many experiences in dealing with child custody cases and the day-to-day child support procedures. I was so often subjected to face-to-face encounters with mothers desperate to get child support and fathers who felt they were being treated unfairly. There is a multitude of dysfunctional ex-couples and when they end up in court the judges often make the matter worse.
Divorced Dads: Shattering the Myths is the most clear-headed, objective work I have seen on the subject.
Sole possessory custody by the mother just does not work as it should. This type of custody should only be used where there is clear evidence that the father was abusive toward the children.
Wherever possible, joint custody, should be the norm and not the exception as it is today.
In so far as "Divorced Dads" spreads the word on the merits of joint custody, it is an invaluable resource. I highly recommend it as a primer on the child custody/child support controversey. It is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "I was so flabbergasted, I could think of no response ...", Jan. 9 2000
This review is from: Divorced Dads (Paperback)
Those are the words of Dr. Sandy Braver, recounting his experience at a moderated conference on child support collections, after the moderator stated:
"You know, I've heard about your (Dr. Braver's) findings. Our panel was discussing this very issue, of differences between mother's and father's answers, over lunch. And what we concluded was if the mother tells you one thing and the father tells you something else, then the father is a g--damned liar."
Dr. Braver's book should be in the hands of every legislator who purports to conduct an equitable review of the Divorce Industry.
Gerald L. Rowles, Ph.D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, Oct. 19 1999
By 
D. Ingram (NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Divorced Dads (Paperback)
Being a divorced parent of a now grown son, I was amazed at how many incorrect perceptions I personally had, due to media reports etc, that this book shows are factually incorrect.
Everyone, especially legislators should read this book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great works of the 20th Century., Sept. 15 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Divorced Dads (Paperback)
Sanford Braver and Diane O'Connell drop an h-bomb on the conspiracy cells involved in destroying the United States through attacking families, especially via fathers. He uses the most potent weapon of all -- the facts. Braver's accomplishment is one of the great works of the 20th Century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "A MUST READ" for Judges and Legislatures!!!, May 3 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Divorced Dads (Paperback)
With the exposure of myths and stereotypes surrounding fathers, maybe this decade's most rampant, blatant, and acceptable form of discrimination will get some attention. This book is a "must read" for Judges and Legislatures who are truly interested in the lives of our children and not maintaining the status quo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous insight into the negative stereotyping of dads, April 24 1999
This review is from: Divorced Dads (Paperback)
I am the founder of Fathers for Fair Visitation and I routinely distribute this book at no cost to decision makers in California. The information is very valuable. My only criticism is that Mr. Braver appears to apologize for the truth. Somehow feminists will be angry at him for showing that many of their statments about divorced dads are inaccurate.
Must reading for a divorced dad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Affirming... and Depressing., Feb. 15 1999
This review is from: Divorced Dads (Paperback)
Braver and O'Connell's Divorced Dads: Shattering the Myths, emerges as the first work on the subject to extend it's reach beyond mere hyperbole in either direction. Having put pen to paper expecting to verify current cultural wisdom about the attitudes and actions men who experience divorce have toward their children, the authors instead develop a credible body of research showing that most of what is thought of as true.... simply isn't. In the same vein as works like "Who Stole Feminism" by Christina Hoff Sommers, it dares to question many of the myths that have served to paint men into an anachronistic corner as we move into the twenty-first century.
While we live in a world that increasingly supports women in "nontraditional roles from the corporate boardroom to construction site, there are no such affirmative action programs for men who want to start daycare centers or be stay at home dads. Such is the paradoxical society that Divorced Dads writes about. My only criticism of the book is it's rather brief treatment at looking at the reasons behind the myths and prejudice described within. Without understanding the reasons behind them, they will be difficult to correct.
I found it affirming in its ability to describe the kind of prejudice I have personally experienced as a divorced dad, and depressing in its description of the despair and isolation such men frequently face when trying to stay involved in their children's lives.
Hopefully, this book will help stimulate disenfranchised fathers, open-minded politicians and policy makers into action intended to reverse the laws and attitudes preventing children from having loving relationships with both their parents.
Our children deserve no less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Divorced Dads
Divorced Dads by Sanford Braver (Paperback - Feb. 7 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews