Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Factual Examination of Fantasy: Its Benefits and Its Power
With a professional, well-researched,and objective approach
Mr. Abanes examines the world of fantasy. He expertly documents each explored aspect with solid research.
This text is considered as the "Consumer Report on Fantasy."
Published on Sept. 28 2003

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars interesting, but ...
This book is interesting but takes the alleged occultism in Harry Potter far too seriously. There are far greater instances of superstitious ignorance to worry about. I recommed for a balanced and informative examination of the whole Harry Potter phenonemon, Return of the Heroes: The Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Harry Potter and social Conflict, but Hal GP Colebatch
Published on Oct. 11 2003 by Susan Norton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars interesting, but ..., Oct. 11 2003
This review is from: Fantasy and Your Family: Exploring the Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, and Modern Magick (Paperback)
This book is interesting but takes the alleged occultism in Harry Potter far too seriously. There are far greater instances of superstitious ignorance to worry about. I recommed for a balanced and informative examination of the whole Harry Potter phenonemon, Return of the Heroes: The Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Harry Potter and social Conflict, but Hal GP Colebatch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Factual Examination of Fantasy: Its Benefits and Its Power, Sept. 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fantasy and Your Family: Exploring the Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, and Modern Magick (Paperback)
With a professional, well-researched,and objective approach
Mr. Abanes examines the world of fantasy. He expertly documents each explored aspect with solid research.
This text is considered as the "Consumer Report on Fantasy."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Time to Read., April 21 2003
By 
tvtv3 "tvtv3" (Sorento, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fantasy and Your Family: Exploring the Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, and Modern Magick (Paperback)
As a Christian artist who enjoys reading fantasy literature, I was a bit skeptical of FANTASY AND YOUR FAMILY before I read it. I had listened to arguments against the THE LORD OF THE RINGS and HARRY POTTER and quite frankly, none of them impressed me or caused me to think. However, I was rather surprised with Richard Abanes book. The book is well researched, documented, and supported.
The book is divided into four parts. The first section examines fantasy literature in general. The second section discusses J.R.R. Tolkien and THE LORD OF THE RINGS. The third part deals with Harry Potter and the fourth section deconstructs the arguments both for and against Harry Potter.
As mentioned earlier, I was surprised at how well documented and supported this book is. Even though I have enjoyed reading the Harry Potter novels and will probably continue to do so, FANTASY AND YOUR FAMILY helped make me aware of just how large the occult has influenced the writings of J.K. Rowling. For example, I had no idea that many of the characters refered to in the Harry Potter books (not main characters, but people mentioned in history, etc.) were actual occult leaders.
This is a great book for any thinking Christian or any parent to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Predictable Hysterical Foolishness for the Gullible, March 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fantasy and Your Family: Exploring the Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, and Modern Magick (Paperback)
These are the same arguments that have been around to demonize anything from the Wizard of Oz to Superman cartoon. As the argument goes, the kids can't tell the difference between kids who drive and crash flying cars and reality. So, you have to protect them from anything with that wicked imagination in it.
Given that the classical stories of Ali Baba and the Seven Thieves, Wizard of Oz, or Sinbad, or Cinderella have the exact same wonderful "what if" imaginative world of make believe principles; why not ban all children's books except those that are bible stories? Would such a sterile harsh world be happy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Fantasy vs. the Harry Potter Propaganda Machine, Dec 29 2002
By 
Ruby Deep (Mid-Atlantic Region, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fantasy and Your Family: Exploring the Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, and Modern Magick (Paperback)
This book is an essential tool for parents and teachers who would like a better understanding of children's fantasy and see comparisons between various popular books labeled as fantasy. Despite the fact that Tolkien did not write for children and the Harry Potter books are marketed to ages 9-12, comparisons between the Harry Potter books and Tolkien's books inevitably come up. This book thoroughly reviews Harry Potter and Tolkien and shows the vast differences between them. The book also delineates the parallels between some of the occult practices Harry learns and real occultism, such as astrology, divination, numerology, and others. As a former professional astrologer and teacher of astrology who also practiced other forms of divination as well as spirit contact, I certainly have recognized in Harry Potter an endorsement of the practice of the occult and magick, even if it is presented in a make-believe context. In the back of the book, Abanes answers every objection made to the valid criticisms of the Harry Potter books and shows the flaws of the most popular defenses of the Harry Potter series, as well as responding to statements made by people such as author Connie Neal. This section reveals that arguments made against the critics of Harry Potter are usually sraw men arguments or are based on faulty reasoning and assumptions, not on the facts. This book is a great handbook for responding to the Harry Potter propaganda machine which has ignored scholarly and knowledgeable criticism of the Harry Potter books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful and Fearless, Dec 28 2002
This review is from: Fantasy and Your Family: Exploring the Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, and Modern Magick (Paperback)
This book is a well-written and well-reasoned one that does not conveniently overlook opposing arguements, but fearlessly accepts their challenge and incorporates them into the discussion. Even if you disagree with Mr. Abanes' conclusions, any thoughtful and well-informed reader can appreciate the arguments he uses to reach them. I would recommend this book to anyone who is uncertain about the fantasy question, as well as anyone who has already made up their mind one way or the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fantasy and Your Family: Exploring the Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, and Modern Magick
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews